We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelante Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adelante Hotel to your Saves list
Adelante Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adelante Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanera Sur | 100 m before/after a turn to Ojochal, Ojochal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“100% recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Inexpensive, pool, restaurant and friday electro parties

Just lovely

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

If I ever get a chance to visit Costa Rica again I would definitely stay in Adelante. The staff there was friendly and welcoming. In the hotel bar there was always somebody to talk to. And the design of the hotel and the bar is so unique and awesome that you have to go there for only that. The Hotel was built and designed by this very cool Estonian couple who built the hotel from scratch. It is there little fantasy land! They are very helpful and to everything to make sure that you have a nice stay in Costa Rica. They help you with your trips and recommend which beaches to visit. And if you want to learn how to surf it is the place to go. They have very experienced teachers there who will get you standing on a board after a day!
The breakfast is included in the price and the foods there are super! The breakfasts are so big and delicious that you don't have to eat anything else for the hole day. But if you do get hungry you can always order something from the bar.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to everyone! There is something for everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The place is hosted by nice couple and the staff includes a lots of European young and happy people with easygoing mind set. During our visit in Adelante we had probably the best food in Costa Rica. And the party we took part of was one of the kind:)
They organized us romantic dinner with delicious food on the coast of Pacific, looking at the sunset. The place they took us, was very private. There were only endless beach, the jungle and no people except us. Amazing! They organized us also a great 3-day hike in Osa, through the heart of Corcovado National Park. We would suggest Adelante to everybody who love to really travel and see the world as it is, not to just sit inside 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Estonians Mart and Jana and their adult children run a very friendly and welcoming hotel that also serves good food and drinks. Our basic but reasonably comfortable room was $50 per night, cash only. It had a hot water shower, which is not always the case in Costa Rica. The price included breakfast for 2. (They do not charge per person but per room. The screwy per person thing is quite common in certain regions of Costa Rica like Osa.) There was no TV, but plenty to read and talk about, and they generously let us use their computers. They also had a pool.

Adelante is very close to the beach. The location is ideal for tourists planning to whale watch in Ballena or Uvita. It is a great choice for surfers and beach lovers. Many beaches in Costa Rica are not suitable for anyone but strong swimmers, but the variety of beaches in this area are great for everyone from families to beginning swimmers to experienced surfers.

This friendly family does sometimes have big parties on weekends, sometimes hundreds of people! They love music, fashion, and art.

Mart is very personable and we had many interesting conversations. He set us up with a great whale watching tour where we saw 4 whales and approx 25 dolphins up close. His family is flexible about serving breakfast at a convenient time for each person. We felt warmly welcomed. These people are very cool! Mart showed us where to find crocadiles and other animals.

The hotel itself is attractively decorated and has a hip, cool feel to it.

There are many great restaurants in the area.

There were also many signs on both side of the road, a rare plus in Costa Rica, which made it easy to find.

This is a good choice for friendly and personable service and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Adelante is the kind of a hotel where you can see true personal approach of the owners and staff being mixed with excellent quality. We stayed in Adelante for three nights and that time really stood positively out from the rest of our Central-American travels.

Even though we traveled as a couple, Adelante seemed to be the kind of a place whith satisfying accomodation for anyone - for group of friends or families they also have those bigger ’private cabinas’. And it is not too expensive for backpackers either, I’d really recommend you to take a rest from those usual shabby backpacker hostels and enjoy yourself for a couple of days in Adelante(As the prices for the budget rooms with the supergood breakfasts are of a really good value). Also Adelante is in a really good location to get to, even when using public buses or hitching- just jump off on the road, march up the stairs and already you’ll be in the bar, greeted by friendly staff and the owners Jana and Mart.

When it comes to the personal approach that I mentioned earlier, I was really positively surprised about the small details that you can find all around the place (cool paintings, beautiful handmade crochet curtains, soap wrapped into fresh bamboo leaves etc.). But when sometimes the ’do-it-yourself’ moto results in a bit of a hippy-unprofessional outcome, then I’d say that in Adelante’s case the result is professional, airy and luxorious with a unique touch. And we overall loved how the whole hotel complex was built up: the white houses scattered around on a hillside so you have a gorgeous ocean view from the second floor balconies; the beautiful wild-looking(but actually well-maintained) garden leaving a lot of privacy for each house; nice pool in the middle if you don’t feel like walking a bit to the beaches; and finally the restaurant-bar-relax area to bring it all together.

The bar actually brings together the whole neighbourhood during their regular events and parties. On our first night there they happened to have their „Jungle Fever“ party and it was a great chance to have a fun night without having to travel a long distance to any of the shoddy local nightclubs, meet locals and also other foreigners living in the area (as Adelante’s parties and other events really seem to be the „thing“ around there).

Anyway- to tie together the long description I’ve written. I wholeheartedly recommend Adelante to any kind of traveler to either have a longer holiday or even just stop for couple of nights. It is a place of good value, but even more of good time and relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed with a couple of friends at the Adelante. The rooms are very nicely decorated and we enjoyed the nice garden. Unfortunately we stayed there at the beginning of the rainy season there and we got bitten by tons of little moskitos.
You can see that the whole hotel was home-built with a lot of attention to pretty details such as the paintings in the rooms. But at the same time, it seemed to be unfinished. The pool did not seemed to be cleaned during our three night stay.
Also we did not like that the hotel is next to the main road a little outside Ojochal. Many trucks drove by during the night and they used their airbreaks a lot. For the next stay, we would take some cabinas inside the village which is much nicer inside the rain forest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed every minute.nothing was tooo much trouble for the owners or staff.the shower was the best i have ever used in all my years of travelling.would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for value for money

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelante Hotel

Address: Costanera Sur | 100 m before/after a turn to Ojochal, Ojochal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelante Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelante Hotel is a happy and friendly place, where you will experience new emotions and get the best service! In connection with the hotel there is also a stylish restaurant/lounge named Restaurante Adelante. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Adelante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelante Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelante Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.