We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST-GO LODGE !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phidjie Lodge

Save Saved
You added Phidjie Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phidjie Lodge
200 M north school, Ojochal 8153, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ojochal B&B and Inns
roquefort les pins france
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A MUST-GO LODGE !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A big thank you to Olivier and Isabelle for welcoming us into their little corner of paradise.
You will be surprised by the beautiful landscaped garden, very nicely decorated and comfortable bungalows. The kitchens are well equiped but there are also some very nice restaurants in town that Olivier and Isabelle recommended to us as we did not really want to cook on our holidays. We appreciated the hot water at all time which is not everywhere in the country, all the windows are well screened so no mosquitoes inside unless you leave the door opened !
Ojochal is a cute village and an ideal base for a lot of day trips and tours and Olivier and Isabelle have been there long enough to advise you and help you plan your tours. I would recommend to stay at least a week as there is plenty to do in the area but you have to have your own transportation as we did.
Travelling is also about meeting people, we will always remember Olivier and Isabelle, lovely people who pay a lot of attention to their guests.
Take time to chill out by the pool and to take a walk around the garden to see all differents sorts of birds, you might be lucky to find an iguana in the pool, if not ask Olivier to show you the photos !
We are already dreaming about coming back, guys me miss you !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    11
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
111
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A wonderful find! Olivier and Isabelle are great hosts, they shared their knowledge of the region to make our trip more enjoyable and run their lodge very efficiently. I really liked the self catering option of the cottage, it's kitchen is well equipped. The pool and gardens are amazing, the peace and quiet makes for an intimate stay here. All in all excellent value, for those who want to get away from the crowds in the idyllic location of ojochal...this is it.
Thank you both for making our stay a pleasure

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved it here! This was our favorite part of our trip. Upon arrival, our senses were stunned by all of the beautiful landscaping, cozy bungalows and restful space by the pool. My fiance proposed to me here, I couldn’t have asked for a better more romantic, positive place to do so. Olivier and Isabelle happily helped him coordinate the evening, it was perfect!

Isabelle and Olivier know the area at large very well, and were able to recommend excellent tours and great beach locations for us to visit. It is not more than roughly a 30 minute drive to Sierpe, where you can catch a large variety of tours from mangroves (where we found the best place to catch great views of so many birds, considering our many other international vacations and tours), or snorkeling on an unpopulated island off the coast. If you want a beach, it is no more than a 5 minute drive to a beautiful spot where you can relax on some sand, take a stroll, or play in the waves.

Phidjie Lodge is remote enough you are not pestered by tourists and heavy traffic, but populated enough to have great classy restaurants and a bakery to enjoy as well. If you would rather cook, the bungalows are properly equipped with dishes and cookware so that you can make your own meal, or enjoy your beverage cooled in the fridge. There is also a good sized variety market to buy your food near by.

We originally planned to stay 3 nights, but really benefited by staying a fourth night. Isabelle and Olivier are excellent hosts and were always readily available to help us with suggestions and book a tour or restaurant.

We highly recommend Phidjie Lodge, for I couldn't imagine Costa Rica without this experience!

Thank you Isabelle & Olivier!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an amazing 4 nights at Phidjie Lodge. We enjoyed every day our breakfast next to the pool watching and listening to the birds and being surrounded by lots of flowers. Oliver and Isabelle took time to explain us all the different plants and advising us when there were other animals in the garden. Like the big iguana that was eating away on bush, we got some amazing photo's and videos of it. We couldn't wait every evening to get back to our bungalow and prepare some sun-downers that we had next to the pool while it got slowly dark. Isabelle and Oliver recommended us very good restaurant in the area for dinner. It was a great place to take my parents too and we all decided it could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travel to Ojochal, with nice references of the town, but, what a good surprise, the people, the food, the feeling...

This little lodge is well equiped, more than a description could tell. An the attention of the owners is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are equals, furniture hand made (wood)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

You wake up with the birds in this paradise !

We spent a week in this eden. what a beautiful place, full of colors and scents. Olivier and Isabelle are two adorable creatures, very helpful and always available. It was a pain to leave this place and to come back to Quebec during winter...

I strongly suggest this place for those seeking a peaceful and beautiful place. More than a bed and Breakfast, Phidjie Lodge is a home in nature.

Thomas and Charlene.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spend a perfect night in a beautiful, confortable and peaceful bungalow. Surrounded of nature and every little place where full of amazing handmade details. You feel like you are part of the place. The bungalow was equipped with everything that you need we find everything clean and confortable to cook and to spend time in side. The pool was great at every time of the day hidden by nice gardens that make it very private. Near you can have good restaurants , beach, waterfalls, whales watching, bird watching, walking trips very accesible. Whe definitively feel the love that this couple put into this place and how they enjoy to make you have the best time in this piece of Paradise they make.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phidjie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidjie Lodge

Address: 200 M north school, Ojochal 8153, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Phidjie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phidjie Lodge Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phidjie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.