We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica through Phidjie Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phidjie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phidjie Lodge to your Saves list
Phidjie Lodge
200 M north school, Ojochal 8153, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Costa Rica through Phidjie Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

What an experience! At Phidjie Lodge you will feel at home far from home. It was so hard to leave this place after just 4 nights of lodging here. The parental care we enjoyed and the feedback given on local community was priceless on top of the Fodor’s book that covered the basic attractions. For example, instead of using mysticdivecenter (Fodor’s choice) for a snorkel trip to Cano Island, Olivier reserved us a boat through a local restaurant in Sierpe. So instead of boating with a large group of 20 -30 people we ended up paying the same but enjoying a private snorkeling trip with just one more tourist on a small boat. We went through a mangrove forest chased dolphins along the way and check several snorkeling spots. On our way back on Sierpe River the local guide from the village anchored on a small empty beech similar to a blue lagoon where we were able for taste for the first time some of the wild delicious fruits that only grow in this area; a unique experience.
Enough was said about the bungalows, their hand crafted decorations and their unique art and style. How about waking up every morning in your personal botanical garden with a mesmerizing view, a slick shaped pool in the middle of it and enjoying a copious fruity breakfast beyond organic? Exotic birds and animal encounters are typical in this garden.
You are a short distance away from the top choices of local and French cuisine available in the area. What mostly mattered for us was to experience the traditional life style in Costa Rica through the “local eye” and concentrate as many activities as possible in 4 days. Isabelle and Olivier were the answer we were looking for. Nous vous remercions de tout cœur et à la prochaine. Cristian & Kasia, Chicago.

Room Tip: Although the place is well lit a good flashlight help you spot nocturnal nightlife around the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    12
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
127
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in Phidjie Lodge for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The bungalows are delightfully decorated and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. We found the properties very clean, neat and well equipped. The owners are wonderful people: really friendly and very helpful - they will do anything to help and make you feel comfortable but leave you alone as well if you prefer solitude. The pool was nice and deep and the location is wonderful as in the village there are loads of nice little cafes and some good restaurants. Can’t say too many positive things about this place ! We loved it and would definitely recommend it ...... You will not be disappointed ! Merci Olivier et Isabelle !!

Room Tip: Both bungalows are beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halsnaes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just stayed 4 days in the beautiful Phidjie Lodge. Absolute wonderful and charming hosts Isabelle and Olivier. Thanks for your help and hospitalily.
Gerner and Kirsten from Denmark

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, vers clean and nice. You definately need a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Thank you,Oliver and Isabelle, for your wonderful hospitelity and comfortable accomidations. Very clean and beautiful cabin and gardens....the pool, so private and clean. Convieniently located close to every thing (grocery,resteraunts,etc.) Two of the friendliest caring people we met on our stay.If you are looking for a clean and relaxing place, with a kitchen and nice people....THIS IS IT!.......Dena & Mick (Illinois)

Room Tip: Both cabins are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Loved this place. The place is very simple. It's not a huge international resort. Just clean rooms and a great little pool (that you most likely have all to your self). Pretty tropical grounds. Something we really liked was the fact that the rooms were so close to the pool. The rooms have a nice fridge so you can make pool drinks or beers and enjoy them without paying exorbitant prices. This also helps if you want to make a snack if you have a child like we did. Pool is good for children- with a little shallow area for entry.

Breakfast by pool was great- like others have reported.

Olivier and Isabelle couldn't be nicer people. Olivier has tons of personality and goes out of his way to help with anything really.

Would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Have just left the lovely Oliver and isabelle after spending 2 nights there over new years and wish we could have stayed longer. this place really is a special place. The effort these 2 guys put in is incredible and it shows, everything is beautifully made and maintained. The gardens are stunning and from when you first walk into this place you know you are somewhere loved and special! There are only 2 cute little bungalows so you feel like you are somewhere private and secluded. They are so beautifully decorated and so so clean and tidy, it all looks brand new. There is a fully stocked kitchen with everything you need, and unlike a lot of places with a kitchen, all the equipment,pots,pans and plates are lovely and look new and well kept. The sitting area is great, a nice comfy single bed with cushions and a couple of chairs and fold down table! The bedroom is small but beautiful decor and very comfy bed and pillows. The bathroom is well lit and decorated with a lovely hot shower. Nice little veranda with a bench to sit out and watch all the birds,iguanas,squirrels and lizards in the garden. the pool just in front is lovely and warm with a few sun chairs and a lovely shaded table and chair area which is great place for breakfast lunch, or even dinner as it is all lit up at night. We did not have a car but it was no a problem as we wanted to chill out around the place for a couple of days, is you want to explore the area or go to the beach you will need a car. There is a supermarket, sodas and world class restaurants all within walking distance. the locals are all so so friendly, even got picked up walking back from Citrus so even better!!! This place is more than we would normally spend but it was new year and we wanted to be alone in a quiet place and treat ourselves and this was well well worth it. I can not reccommend this place enough, it is just fabulous. You cant help but love Oliver and Isabelle, they are just so so sweet and lovely, always smiling always laughing, and always working. They have a special place here and should be proud of it. Please please stay there, you will not regret it!!

Room Tip: Only two bungalows and they are the same, perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a tropical garden with awesome breakfasts, BUT...it is so remote down a long pot holed road, tons of ants in the room, no room make up for $85/night!, lots of bugs, no AC, a very hard bed....and the owner says there's a asp in the garden somewhere that can kill you. We tried to check out the very first night as we were very unhappy with the bed and theH remoteness...but he held us to our three day booking. That's not the way unhappy customers should be handled, it makes it worse. Also, they advertise Wi-Fi, which there is if you walk down to the owners house. They tried to reposition the router but Wi-Fi in the room is spotty at best. This is our first stay in Costa Rica where they don't clean/make up rooms. Be warned, this is very remote!

Room Tip: There are only two room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIDJIE, Propriétaire at Phidjie Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Hello,
First of all, thank you for your visit.
When we received your review, it was the first time that someone did it only 3 hours after leave us.
None of our hosts made it so quickly
But let’s go back on the criticism whom made us:
During your whole stay, you used to say :
"Olivier and Isabelle, thank you for your hospitality. It's a great time. We love the breakfast, setting and pool, a very pretty place." that's your own words!
Then why on that review, write the opposite, if it is not with the aim of destroying.

We were considered as your staff and your first interest was your bronzing, it is your choice and we respect it. But why then to say that our lodge is far from everything and without charm! Although having proposed you diverse close activities, nothing interested you.
When you left very early in the morning not to have to cross us, we discovered the state of the bungalow after your stay: tomato sauce on walls, on stone floor, on ventilator, dishes not washed in the kitchen sink, the stoves and the not washed pans. Never a bungalow was restored to us so dirty. The general state of cleanliness was more than pitiful.
Our establishment proposes you the rent of completely equipped bungalow, but as all B&B, there is no maid service, you knew it before booking. Nothing was hidden.
You looked for only luxury hotels with staff, and during all your stay, everything you told us that you found everything expensive, restaurants, access beaches, etc.
About tons of cockroaches and ants, they left at the same time as you!
You even allowed to judge the quality of our work, concerning the cleanliness. For answer, we invite all our other prospective customers to read the opinions concerning the cleanliness.
Finally and to clear up a last point on which we join, from your arrival and only after a few hours, you wanted to leave without paying. Just for the 1st night.
I then reminded you the terms of our establishment, as all the others moreover: any stay is due in its totality in case of cancellation on the simple will of our hosts. It is registered on our site, as each one can check it. It was then inconceivable for you to pay another hotel and you decided to stay, repeating every day that we had a magnificent place and that everything was completed!
Idem for the WiFi which works perfectly to bungalow. We tested the access with the other customers who had no problem.
In fact, and to summarize the situation, you looked for only luxury hotels with a devoted staff and ready to give in to your slightest whims. Our establishment is a quiet, welcoming place, and the hosts who come home look for this atmosphere. Costa Rica is an authentic country and real!
I shall remit to our readers of the personal, unrefined and racist e-mail which you sent us only 3 hours after your departure on our private email.
May I suggest you next time to target better the establishments which correspond to your real wishes, it will avoid you meeting " poor persons " as us, according to your own words.
Olivier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Phidjie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidjie Lodge

Address: 200 M north school, Ojochal 8153, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Phidjie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phidjie Lodge Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phidjie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.