We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spa day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel to your Saves list
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent spa day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited the westerwood hotel on 10-11-2013 for a spa package along with 4 other people for my sisters hen weekend.
We arrived and were greeted at the spa reception and we were well informed of what to expect and provided with our robes,slipper and towels.
We had lunch as part of our package and we had the Bento box, this was great had a bit of everything and was nicely presented. We where looked after by Laura and Shirley who made sure everything was ok and we had plenty sauces and drinks throughout our meal.
The treatments we got where a back,neck and shoulder massage and a facial. Both of these we're fab and we all were relaxed afterwards. The relaxation room within the spa was amazing. Had mood lighting and very cosy chairs. If I didn't have to head home I could have easily fell asleep.
Overall we all had an amazing day and it was just what we where needing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your 5-star review! It means a lot to us that you had enjoyed your spa day and the facilities.

I have passed your comments on to Shirley and Laura and their teams, and I am glad that you have recognised them as going the extra mile for you.

Take care in 2014, and we hope to see you again soon!

Paul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    292
    138
    64
    29
See reviews for
168
291
34
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Westerwood Hotel is very comfortable and welcoming. I have stayed in other hotels in the region and have not found one that offers the same quality as the Westerwood. The rooms are very comfortable and due to travelling alone used room service, the menu was varied and the service prompt and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello Caroline!

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay, I am very glad that you had enjoyed your business stay and really appreciate your 5 star review.

If you are a regular visitor to QHotels you can join our Blissness business memebership for free and collect points everytime you visit us.

We hope to see you back in the hotel soon,

Regards, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A super hotel for a family or a couple. Comfy bedrooms with a range of facilities. The swimming pool and sauna can be used during your visit and if you have the time use the spa facilities or play a round or two of golf. The breakfast is tremendous value for money and includes haggis and porridge amongst the usual full English, croissants, fruits, salmon, cold meats and cheeses. The hotel itself is set high up on a hill with wonderful views and is within an easy commute to Glasgow.
The staff are friendly in both the restaurant and at the front desk.

Room Tip: Use the internet to get the best offers ahead of time. Try to upgrade to a Q room with additional b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Paula,

Thank you for awarding us with a 5 star review! We really appreciate the time you took to do so, it means a lot to us.

I am so glad we have looked after you well, and hope to welcome you back for a visit soon. If you are a regular tweeter, you can catch up with us on @THeWesterwoodQ

All the best for 2014,

Paul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK North West
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Not really a bad word whatsoever for this hotel. Room was great (just a standard room) with loads of space. It's a large hotel but the plenty of space theme can be seen throught. The lounge bar and dining areas are very relaxing.

Breakfast was an excellent buffet style with plenty of choice and the food was kept nice and hot.

The grill-restaurant is superb with good food and extremely friendly and efficient staff.

Top stuff and I would highly recommend for a weekend out of the way.

Room Tip: It's a large hotel so if you don't like walking far request a room close to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for awarding us with a 5 star status, we really do appreciate your comments.

I am so pleased that we have looked after you well, and look forward to seeing you back in the hotel soon. Our Sous Chef Ian has upgraded our Grill menu since your last stay, so you can let us know your thoughts next time!

Haste ye back!

Paul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights either end of our holiday week in Scotland, room was very nice and spacious, clean and had a safe and tea and coffee tray, high level of decor and comfortable bed.
The food in the restaurant was very good and the breakfast was superb, staff were pleasant and helpful.
Big down side was the health club, to get to it you have go go though the main restaurant. The swimming pool was poorly lit, it was dismal and in desperate need of a refurbishment, with cracked and missing tiles.
Some supervision in the pool would be welcome, despite the sign saying no running and jumping, children were doing just that.
I would stay again

Room Tip: try the new wing, rooms much better, although further from the bar etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay. I was really pleased to hear that your stay was overall positive, but was concerned at not meeting your expectations in regards to the leisure club.

We have recently invested £20,000 in our poolside, which includes tilework, a new jacuzzi and sauna, in an effort to continue to our high-standard through the hotel. We do not have any live supervision on poolside, and therefore must provide the sign that you had refered to. Our leisure team do regular checks of all of the leisure areas including the pool, but hope that guests can stick to the guideliness and ettiquette that we have promoted throughout the club while ou team are not present.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is in a great location just off the M80. It's a relatively new hotel so is a bit anti sceptic. Don't expect cosy charm. However it is clean and comfortable. A little bit of sprucing up in the decor would help but it wasn't terrible. Didn't use the restaurant but the menu looked varied. Breakfast was ok but some of the ingredients such as the sausage could have been better, but there was plenty of choice. If you don't know Scotland the position of the hotel is brilliant allowing easy access by road to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling and beyond. However if you don't fancy driving Croy railway station is 3 miles away with ample free parking and regular trains to the above and elsewhere. Overall another great Q Hotel. Well located and good value although bar drinks were a tad expensive.

Room Tip: Corner rooms appear to be bigger. We had one on the oblique bend on a corridor and was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi!

FIrstly thank you for providing us with your feedback from your stay. We take all comments seriously and appreciate the time it takes to do so.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast experience, and it is a shame that you hadn't managed to utilise the complimentary leisure facilities as we had installed a new jacuzzi and steam room!

We hope to welcome you back in the future, and thank you for your loyalty to Q.

Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Greeted promptly on arrival and checked into our room. The rooms are spacious and clean, only fault is that they are quite far from the bar and restaurant(this was fine with us since it was Halloween and there was a large party on in the hotel). Dinner in the grill was good, however, Service was a little slow and lacking. We moved to the lounge afterwords where The barmaid, Rebecca was chatty, attentive and very knowledgeable. Breakfast was undoubtedly the best cooked hotel breakfast. We unfortunately didn't have the chance to use the leisure facilities. Overall a great stay once again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank your for your review, it is great to be awarded 5 stars from a regular guest, and I am very pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

I have passed your service comments to our Food Services Manager, and also passed my thanks to Rebecca for keeping you entertained!

We hope to see you again soon, and if you are on twitter you can keep up with us on @TheWesterwoodQ

Thanks,

Paul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Address: 1 St Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.