We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Crap cabaret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Dreams

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Dreams
35 South Carbrain Road, Cumbernauld, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 restaurants in Cumbernauld
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food - Crap cabaret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This has alwaysalways been one of our favourite Indian restaurants, and is by far the best in Cumbernauld and district, however, I must totally agree with some other comments here about the two waiter brothers who seem to think that they are "comedians", and whose constant interruptions, and highly inappropriate patter has almost stopped us going back there

I dropped hints, and eventually had to be rather forthright in telling them to leave us alone, but to no avail

It came to a head on the night we received the sad news of the death of my wife's brother

We went for a meal, and even though I asked, in particular, to be left alone, they continulaly interrupted our meal, with juvenile jokes and stupid inaneties

I eventually had to be quite rude about it, and they now give us a relative wide berth, leaving us to be attended by the other members of staff who are polite, friendly, and efficient

It's a pity that such a good restaurant is getting spoiled by this pair's behaviour, and laughing stories of marital infidelity are hardly appropriate to tell any man in front of his wife!!

Get it sorted Bombay Dreams

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    33
    12
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Simply Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wow, what an amazing restaurant. This was one of the best Indian meals that we have eaten in. The vegetable pakora is a definite must, be warned the portions are a good size. The tandoori chicken was cooked to perfection and the chicken madras was fabulous. I would recommend booking as it was quite busy, but the service was still good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best Indian in cumbernauld”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant never let's you down . Service is first class and foot choice is excellent , you won't leave this reastaurant hungry but you will come back for more

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dreams fulfilled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Don't be fooled by the appearance on the outside ,( I think this used to be some kind of industrial unit ) when you taste the food on offer you won't be disappointed . My daughter and I went there recently when she was home from university and our meal was a delight , from mixed pakora and spiced onions starter to her chicken chasni and my succulent lamb punjabi mussala that were accompanied by a paratha that looked like it had been lifted from a photo shoot :))the visual extravaganza was matched by taste of our meal which was superb.add to this the very friendly and helpful staff and it was an evening to remember , thank you to the chef he probably doesn't here the praise heaped on him most of the time well done and thank you .Even if you need to travel for half an hour to get there don't be put of you won't be disappointed ,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“restaurant many years back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I Was in this restaurant many years back.
it was very good then i must go back soon as i get a money off voucher.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Dreams also viewed

Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to Bombay Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Dreams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.