We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, poor choices on menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dovecote Beefeater

The Dovecote Beefeater
4 South Muirhead Road, Cumbernauld G67 1AX, Scotland
01236 725339
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 restaurants in Cumbernauld
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food, poor choices on menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went for dinner. Service was good & reasonably quick, & food tasted nice. My only complaint is the lack of choice on menu, compared to other Beefeaters that I've been to. However, cant fault my meal, tasted lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    26
    21
    9
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing 8 oz rump steak ...keep away.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Firstly this is solely my experience and I am being totally honest.
I ate here on two occasions whilst on business.
First time I had the chicken wrapped in bacon...it was ok but just ok the portion could have been a bit bigger in my view ....
On the second occasion I had an 8oz rump steak which is highly featured in their menu.
This was very disappointing ...it was tough and not as large as expected ...the general standard of the meal for 17.95 was unacceptable ....I complained to the restaurant and it was highlighted to the restaurant service manager who to be honest wasnt very pleasant his attitude was quite abrupt.
This restaurant is not very good in my view and I also found the service poor especially on the first occasion when we had to keep asking to be served.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty pub grub, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We like the Dovecote and visit often a nice pint and well stocked bar gets any meal of to a good start, the menu is varied and has options for most moods and the staff are very friendly we were in a rush last time and mentioned to the girl and our food order came prompt (thanks), try the platter.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbernauld
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“dovecote”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

poor service, average food, wont be back in a hurry. wrong meal served, long waiting time for food,just poor.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bland tasting food with poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

mother's day meal was a day to remember for wrong reasons. Had to always ask for things - menus, drinks, starters, childrens meals, bill. Table not ready to begin with, waited an hour for starters, and although we asked for exceptions (ie no veg etc) when food arrived it was wrong. Main meal was very very very bland and tasteless and def not worth the wait. My husband asked for more gravy (as there was very little on plate) and when we got home and looked at receipt they had charged us 50p for it. WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!! Children got grumpy due to waiting time poor things - we did take into account it was a busy day but the service was bad, no doubt about it. So in summary POOR SERVICE, BLAND FOOD, WONT BE BACK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dovecote Beefeater also viewed

Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Dovecote Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dovecote Beefeater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.