We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robbed!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Les Fermes de St. Sorlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Les Fermes de St. Sorlin to your Saves list
Les Fermes de St. Sorlin
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rd 926, 73530 Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Robbed!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Shocking !!! Do Not Even Consider!!! myself and 4 room mates went for a week and all of us will not be returning,

On the first day we were given our apartment, firslty this was in a terrible condition, dirty, broken beds and the warm welcome of a used condom on our window ledge, after informing the manager that we had actually paid for an upgrade so we didn't have to have bunk beds, we were told to take another room, upon arrival there were another group in the room , we returned to reception again and were given our third room, which we finally accepted.

The Room - the room was very basic, no clothes washing facilites, very basic cooker and fridge, bedrooms consisted of a bed and nothing more, extra money for the TV which channels are very basic, view was very good.

The Complex - Very basic, a pool (out of order for entire week) and a pool table only open in day time hours when everyone is generally on slopes.

THE ROBBERY - on our third day here we came back from the slopes to find that we had been robbed, overall we had £2000 worth of electrical, sunglasses, cash taken from us, after informing the manager we were told that there was no damage so the person that robbed us must of had a key, after arguing with the manager who was adamant only himself and the maintenance man had a key he finally apologised and called the police. After an hour at the police station we were met by the the occupants of the room next door who had been robbed as well, we later found out that out of 9 apartments in our building, 3 were robbed all with no damage , so the thief must have had a master key!!!

The manager gave us £40 pounds back each (£200 all together) and gave us the TV for free!!! THANKS!!!!!

If you value your health, personal belongings and your safety, DO NOT even consider this as an option.

Room Tip: Book another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Les Fermes de St. Sorlin, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry for happened to you, it is the first time that someone tells us things so terrible !
Of course, I have transmitted your message to my Director General
Unfortunately, at the main office of Madame Vacances, nobody informed us, that is why we have not been able to answer you earlier.

We have investigated but unfortunately we do not have more information, so I invite you to contact me after sales service so we can compensate you.
my e-mail address is sav[at]eurogroup-vacances.com but you can find my telephone number on the website Madame Vacances.

With apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    82
    41
    40
    98
See reviews for
172
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

we wentr to saint sorlin as a last minute extra skiing trip , the hotel was basic self catering everything was there that was required staff were friendly and spoke both good english and french and even some german , pool and sauna were good although quite busy , there is a local bakery and a shop less than 3 minutes from the hotels and the slopes only a five minute walk away , snow was great considering it was april ! over a metre of snow whilst there ,the only let down was there was barely any night life ! although the snow made up for it . id recomend going as theres a large area to ski

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This place is best avoided unless you are too drunk to care where you sleep. The place was filthy. They said I had to pay extra for sheets and be charged for using the TV. They did have wifi but it was basically so slow and unreliable to be almost useless.

The place could actually be ok as the site and the buildings are quite modern but they basically dont seem to care about making any effort to welcome people (no toilet rolls, no towells and not even any bin liners in the bins) and the staff, while helpful, are all very young and just basically seem to be there to keep the wheels on and deal with issues.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haut-rhin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

les + :
- bien situé (arret bus juste derriere la residence, petite cabane pour chater les forfaits juste derriere, pas bcp de passage de voitures, calme...
appartement bien equipé

les - :
aurait pu etre plus propre
piscine pas dans le meme batiments que les logements
pas d ascenceurs et acces direct du garage a l appartement

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We booked a skiing trip here last winter on a very late deal with a major Uk tour operator. It was absolutely dirt cheap - around £150 each including flights and transfers for a week, so we were expecting the accommodation to be very bad. We only went with it as it was either a case of this or no skiing that season.

Overall the accommodation wasnt great at all, but it wasn't quite as bad as we had feared (though we were expecting literally the very worst!). Don't get me wrong we'd never go back, but overall we had a brilliant time regardless of it. It's advertised as a 4-star. It's obviously not. It's at a push maybe just 2-star, though thats probably being too generous.

It was a quiet week in the season when we went and so I think we were lucky that the place was pretty quiet at night. A lot of French uni students usually stay here and if they're in I imagine it'd be horrendous - as mentioned by most other people there's a large bar in the complex and the walls are paper thin.

The rooms are basic to say the very least. They weren't really clean at all and most of the pans etc in the kitchen were so burned/broken they were useless. As we were expecting this we took some of our own stuf so could deal with it ourselves. There is broken glass bottles in the car park so despite the lovely scenery it's really not a very nice place.

Reception is a joke and really not interested, especially if you can't speak French, never seen such disorganised chaos.

Like I said though we still had a brilliant time, the skiing is great, the resort nice, and the prices low.

In conclusion, if I saw the same offer again and was still on a budget here's what I'd do: book it (you couldn't get flights and transfers alone separately for anywhere near £150) then also book an apartment over the road at Residence l'oree des pistes (which we looked at whilst there - much nicer!) and stay there instead (just don't tell the rep!). We checked before booking in case the accommodation was unbearable and could get an apartment for 4 for around £225 for the week. So the total cost would be £825 = £206 each - still a dirt cheap skiing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The residence is located close to a supermarket and the centre. Under the residence there is a bakery. It's a cheap place, so dont't expect something fancy. The app was good, not too small but it could use an update. Some things were broken. There are some app close to the Yeti bar, so ask for an app far away from the bar. I arrived at 10h, but the check-in was only at 17.00h, so don't come before 17.00h. I think that it's a good residence for student but not for people with kids. The swimmingpool was a little bit cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the Yeti bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Just 3 of us occupying an apartment for 6. The two double beds had only single duvets, there was no room for you cloths to be put away in one bedroom nor if you occupied the sofa bed in the lounge. We had to replace the rusty frying pan and no can opener was available even from reception. (got one from the rep). The walls are paper thin and the outside was a disgusting mess. The sheets were clean but the duvets and pillows were somewhat grey. We managed but those where six occupied these apartments where up against a brick wall.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Fermes de St. Sorlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Fermes de St. Sorlin

Address: Rd 926, 73530 Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Fermes de St. Sorlin 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Fermes de St. Sorlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Fermes De St. Sorlin Hotel Saint-Sorlin-d`Arves
Les Fermes De St. Sorlin France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Fermes de St. Sorlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.