We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good lunch in Saanenmoser !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Berghotel Hornberg

Restaurant Berghotel Hornberg
Hornberg, Saanenmoser, Saanen, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brasschaat, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good lunch in Saanenmoser !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

A rainy day in Berner Oberland, a good walk and you reach the very nice place, and have lunch in this very nice restaurant...it compensates for a very rainy day (it happens).
They announced a reduced menu which turn out to be about six pages din A 4....
We had an excellent salad, recommended => quality, quantity...service, very good !

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dîner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Just perfect and the Welcome we got from Christian is truly the image of the new generation of hotel manager in Switzerland. Smile, attention to the guests, sense of humour it was just superb. We tried veal carpaccio, trout and a selection of local cheeses. Compliment to the Chef. Finally we did get special attention from the waitresses with their smiles and care. We will be back for sure and will recommend to friends. Christian thanks also for having the TV on during the World Cup Friday matches. See you soon

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Incredible variety and imaginative menus. Probably the best hotel food we have ever had and worthy of a Michelin star or three

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Been here today while skiing. Service was horribly slow just to arrive for first time. Vegetarian options somewhat limited and big differences in size of portions. I had rösti with 2 eggs (17chf I believe) and it was not a very big portion. Also it was very oily and partly not even done yet.
Been sitting in front of empty plates quite long. Service was not pro-active and we took several attempts to get their attention for coffee and bill. Lots of potential to make this restaurant more efficient.
Yes it has a nice view and it's a cute building. But I wouldn't go here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in great mountain setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hornberg is a very special place. It is right at the bottom of the ski slopes; you can actually ski right onto the terrace. The atmosphere in the restaurant is pleasant and cosy, modern chalet style. The food is excellent. Good salads, good local dishes, lovely simple home made desserts. If you're in the area, Hornberg is a must! The terrace is open year around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Berghotel Hornberg also viewed

 
Saanen, Canton of Bern
 

Been to Restaurant Berghotel Hornberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Berghotel Hornberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.