We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and unpretentious ski-in ski-out, somewhat let down by the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saanewald Lodge

Save Saved
You added Saanewald Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saanewald Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hornbergstrasse 22, Saanenmoser, Saanen 3777, Switzerland (Formerly Z'Loft Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Saanenmoser
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Cool and unpretentious ski-in ski-out, somewhat let down by the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

When we were about to arrive in Saanenmöser we phoned the hotel and asked to be picked up momentarily. Upon arrival we found our driver already waiting for us. He was very courteous, quickly loaded our luggage and skis, and off we went on the snow mobile. Upon arrival (the ride takes less than five minutes) he quickly offloaded our stuff and suggested using the sleds to reach the village. The first impression was therefore great and perfectly in line with the smartness of the hotel. The receptionist quickly processed us through and we were given the keys to our room although it was barely 11 AM (official check in time is 3 PM). We were able to buy ski passes at the reception, which allowed us to hit the slopes right away. Both ladies manning the reception were always able to fully assist well with random queries during our stay and made us feel at home. Our room was very clean and furnished with design and functionality in mind, but its size was just alright, especially when considering all the paraphernalia of a skiing holiday. The bathroom on the other hand was bigger than expected. To improve the sleep quality the pillows and duvets would need to be upgraded since they were slightly below par, especially for Switzerland. The communal spaces were really nice, and included a pool table, a fire place and even a football table. The ski room was also well located and organised, and beside your skis and boots, you could also leave other equipment in assigned lockers (that would probably be considered capsule rooms in Tokyo). The restaurant was the weak spot during our stay: the breakfast is alright but nothing to write home about (adding some local cold cuts and cheese would be an idea, together with a fresh fruit salad) and is only served from 7:45 AM. We stayed for two nights and both days the main course on the half-board option revolved around turkey meat. We ate at the restaurant one night (you can also order a la carte) and had the raclette (which you cook yourself at the table, and the cheese was nothing special) and the burger, which we found really below average, both in terms of preparation and quality of the meat. The wine selection was another weak spot, with very few non-Swiss options. We had a Sauvignon Blanc that tasted like old lemonade. Since the hotel can also be reached by delivery vans, stocking poor wines is not acceptable. Overall our stay was very pleasant and we would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
41
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We've heard that hotels in Gstaad can be very expensive during the peak of the ski season. Z Loft was within our budget but surpassed our expectations for the weekend getaway. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Loved that the hotel is next to the ski slopes that allowed us to ski in and out pretty easily.

Cons? Should you need to head down to town, you needed to book transfers in advance. Food in the restaurant is fair only so if you are looking for a better meal, then you would need head out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent a lovely Christmas Eve at the only hotel on the slopes in the Gstaad valley which has great views, lovely food, an amazing location and very cool, vintage styling. Most amazing is the fact that the rooms were very reasonably priced though they aren't large. We will definitely return and hopefully take lots of friends....maybe even booking all 30 rooms for a weekend party.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Though a bit off the beaten path, the Z'loft was a wonderful place to spend the night. The views were fabulous and the rooms large. Enjoyed the breakfast the the local beer. The fondue was scrumptious!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We booked this hotel with friends and our young children to get the last week of the ski season before the resort closed for Summer. We were able to drive up to the hotel as the road had cleared by then.

What to say; Fantastic position with genuine ski/in ski out and a high quality of finish and standard of service (although we were practically the only ones there as it was the end of season). Frankly the website does not do it justice. Kids loved the games machines and pool table whilst the upstairs TV area was a great place to chill out and watch a movie.

We never felt the need to go into town or go anywhere else to eat and drink - it was perfect place to just chill out at the end of the season.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Merseyside.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

If you want a place to stay that offers that home from home feeling, then Z-Loft is the place to stay. Barbara and the team do a great job at making sure your stay is perfect. The ski in -ski out facilities are superb and the restaurant is the best on the slopes.

Thanks once again for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Amazing location (right on the sloaps), friendly staff and very clean. The concept of the hotel is to please your demands: Transfer from the train station, lockers for your ski, good restaurant and a reasonable spa area. Recommendable to book in advance during high season.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saanewald Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saanewald Lodge

Address: Hornbergstrasse 22, Saanenmoser, Saanen 3777, Switzerland (Formerly Z'Loft Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Saanenmoser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Saanenmoser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saanewald Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Saanewald Lodge, a laid-back alpine get-away where the mountain freedom feel is at its best !Nested in the heart of the Saanenland Mountains, our lodge benefits from a unique location as a true Ski in / Ski out resort and, in summer, within reach of a "3" wood from the Gstaad Golf Club. Built in 1964, our lodge encourages those who visit us to slow down and unwind in a retro Dolce Vita atmosphere. The Saanewald Lodge is the perfect home for sport amateurs, for nomadic spirits in search of experience, for retro style enthusiasts and for slow life aficionados. So why wait? Come join us and create your own magical memories! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Saanewald Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saanewald Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.