We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient and comfortable hostel stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amazigh Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amazigh Hostel to your Saves list
Amazigh Hostel
Rua da Ladeira 5, Aljezur 8670-065, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Aljezur
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A convenient and comfortable hostel stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Three of us were walking the Rota Vincentina hiking route and this hostel ( rather than hotel) was in one of the towns on route.

It is very conveniently located in the centre of the old town, the beds are comfortable with plenty of storage space, the staff are extremely helpful and, for instance, sorted us out with an extra room as one of my companions was not well. It also has a rather pleasant roof terrace to sit out at the end of a long walk. Finally it is very good value! We liked it!

Worth noting that the restaurant 10 paces from the front door is very good for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
5
23
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hostel.
I arrived a little bit late and I still was received very well.
The building is very interesting, in its architecture, but it lacks good windows.
The hall is very nice, and the patio must be very chill during the hot summer. Good place to read, during the hot hours. You only have access to wifi on the lobby and patio.
The room was good, the bed was very confortable and i loved the bathroom. It lacks a little bit of decoration on the walls, but i was told by the manager that they were going to change it in a few months.
It is located on a perfect spot for traveleres because it's right next to the city market, the best restaurant in town, the taxis and the castle is just a 5 minute walk.
The breakfast is also good, but if you eat a lot like me you would prefer to buy it outside and bring your stuff to the kitchen of the hostel. ;)
Also, every person that was on the reception was very helpful with tips about beaches, places to surf, to visit, to have dinner. You feel very welcome ;)

Room Tip: If you're here in the summer, ask for a room on the 3rd floor. It's noisy at night and you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

After our stay we received an email from the hostel that we should post the positive feedback on tripadvisor but send any negative comments only directly to the hostel.
The staff was friendly. But in our double room the bedframe was very dusty and dirty (see pictures). Also the floor, the windows and the inside window sill were dusty. When taking a shower, the shower handle often came apart. By arrival there was a puddle on the bathroom floor due to the leaking shower cubicle.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmazighAljezurHostel, Gerente at Amazigh Hostel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time spent in informing us about your experience. Unfortunately it was not a positive experience and we apologize for that. Maintenance and cleaning are a continue work and some times we fail on that, which happened in your case. Your review helped us improving our service and for sure if you have the opportunity to come back you will notice that.
Best regards
João Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Love Aljezur and this is one of my favourite stays along the coast.
Nice rooms with WC, cosy living rooms and breakfast for an additional 5€.
Within walking distance from supermarket, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Top ones are closer from the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

It was an amazing experience! Hope to come back soon!!!! Everything is magic there! If you're planing to go to Algarves, you must stay at Amazigh Hostel!!!! The staffs are very friendly and it's a very clean place! I love it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I only staid one night, couldn't stay more and it's a shame ! The staff is really friendly and helpful, the place itself is very clean, there is a nice kitchen with big tables, a rooftop. Everything is nearby, not that Aljezur is big :) Really cool !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I have a good memory about this hostel especially I liked the tearrace on the roof with a nice view. Aljezur is really small so like anything else the hostel is well located but to get to the beaches you have to take the bus (which depart not very often), have your own car (or bicycle) or just hitchike (people I met there had no problem with this). There is one bar nearby hostel where everyone goes.
Very well standard, nice staff, big rooms with comfortable beds and lockers, nice and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazigh Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazigh Hostel

Address: Rua da Ladeira 5, Aljezur 8670-065, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Aljezur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Aljezur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazigh the newest Hostel in Algarve (inaugurated in August 2009) and the only Hostel located within the famous South West Alentejo Coast Natural Park, famous for its unspoiled nature, un-crowded beaches, sunny skies and sublime fresh fish, that attract Surfers (beginners and advanced) from all over the world due to the magnificent conditions to sport practice. Amazing offers a wide range of activities: trekking to biking and exclusive surf lessons available at special discount prices. Aljezur is a traditional Portuguese village faithful to its origins, very popular among surfers given its unique proximity to the most popular beaches of the region, such as Arrifana, Amoreira and Montes Clerigos with its magnificent cliffs, white sands and blue waves. Surf rental and lessons available, btt rental and tours available, beach transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Amazigh Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazigh Hostel Aljezur, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazigh Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.