We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home with the land...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte da Cunca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aljezur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte da Cunca
Save
You added Monte da Cunca to your Saves list
230 Carrapateira, Aljezur 8670, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“At home with the land...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our qute appartment was so beautyfully made with natural materials and love. We felt instantly at home. Though ours seemed small it had all that we could possibly need. We enjoyed sitting underneath the arches covered with flowers, sipping our wine and eating spaggetti made with fresh veggies that we got from the owners picked an hour earlier fresh from the land.
The all you can eat Pizza night at the owners farm 100 m down the road has stuck in my taste buds forever. They kept appearing hot from the woodoven! Unresistable... What a treat.
We got a sense of living close to the land and the enviroment. Impressive to see how well natural energy made sure our phones where charged and our water re-used for the garden.
We loved Monte da Cunca!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus W, Owner at Monte da Cunca, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
It makes us very happy to learn that people enjoy Monte da Cunca for these reasons. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - please come back any time!
From Klaus & Dania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gdansk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We have started our funny trip through Europe in Lisbon. Our general plan was to go from Portugal to Poland travelling with a small scooter ape piaggio ( goes 30km per hour) bought in Lisbon. In the second day of our trip we arrived to south of Portugal with an intention of sleeping on one of locals beautiful coasts, but somehow on our way we crossed a lovely place called Monte da Cunca, and it attracted us so much, that we stopped to ask for the accomodation. And it a wasnt a mistake. The apartment that we rented (number 7 fuego) has an incredibly cosy interior design, as all of apartments belonging to Monte da Cunca. The reason for this is that the building was restored with a help of lot of volonteers, who, participating in the project, were also sharing their ideas of what is the definition of a comfortable place. The building is restored with a natural technics and materials, including hand made works, so it makes the impresion of very original place.
Monte da Cunca is definitely connected to the nature. Not only due to the beautiful surroundings like ocean with beaches, river, stone clifs, wild dunes, pine and eukaliptus forests and viewpoints hills with a great sights. The thing that makes Monte da Cunca being connected to the nature is the host's way of thinking and respecting it. Living in cunca's apartment you have an acces to organic and fresh food, beeing grown in a garden belonging to. Even the datails like using natural soups, recicling garbage bags or just separating garbage makes you aware of that you are the one who decides of living in a harmony with nature.
What was very important to us is that you can relax outside the apartments; eating your meals, admiring unique (everyday difirent) skys and sunshines or just chating with other guests.
What is certain, is that you can not get borred staying in this place. You have a various posibilities of spending time, starting from lazy just relaxing on the beach, through taking a walks and enjoying unique landscape of the area, getting to know a local traditions and local habitants of Carrapateira (1 km from Cunca), and finally improving your sport skills like surfing, kite surfing, horse (or donkey) riding, biking or canoeing to the ocean by the river (all the equipment is available in Cunca).
The hosts are very helpful and friendly.
The time spent here gives a pure satisfaction of living in simbiosis with nature, that is the determinant of our human nature's essence. We enjoyed it a lot, and we hope our ape piaggio trip will be fullfilled with a places with a similar ambient.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

very original and beautiful apartements in a verry calm and environmentally frindly enviroment.
Vegetables are for free and organic as well.
Good place to go surfing. excellent weather.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Dream Cafe / Okanagan Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Monte da Cunca!
Excellent, I'll frequent it again!!!!!
with surfing, kayaking and paragliding opportunities and no supplies I was taken care of outside of the staffs busyness and deadlines with the finest hospitality under the conditions.
While in the midst of renovations at the height of maintaining the organic gardens by weeding and planting, visitors at their leisure also contributed to building staircases out of eucalyptus trunks, prepared cullinary wonders from out of the shared kitchen with use of the wood fired oven in which good ol' fashioned sourdough bread, pizza baked sweet potato, squashes and sooo much more was provided.
The family run establishment managed to provide me with fabulous service such that I could imaging getting on my short notice when I was not equipped for it.
They provided me with surf board, wetsuits, offered to show me landing zones and launch sites for paragliding and drove me around to tour the surrounding area as well as set up travel arrangements back to the Lisbon airport.
I met many wonderful pople staying there. WE had a lots of fun together. A most memorable stay for sure I'll do it again. Highly recommend for outdoor adventurists like me.
climberclaudia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

wow what an adventure! The rooms where all handycrafted and each of them very special. From the first moment on, we felt good, like home, free and ready for every adventure that might apear along the time we planned to be there. We always could find our time of togetherness, when we wanted and also always good company by people which also stayed there. All in all a very nice time and very relaxing and cosy.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barreiro
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Hi all,

For all of you who think it is a good idea to make a reservation and stay in Monte da cunca be very carefull.

Even do it seems a very nice place, and that is because of where is situated, in a very beautifull region of Portugal, my experience was not the best, and probably the story that I am about to tell allready happened to a lot of people.

I have made a reservation by phone call, and speak directly with, I supose, the owner of the Hotel, at that time they seem very nice and had no problems to make that reservation, and he guarantee that the rooms were exactly like what we saw in the website.

When I arrive a women comes to me telling that they don't have more rooms and that her son will arrive soon and take me to another Hotel in Bordeira. At that time I became a litle expectant of what will hapen after it. Well what hapened was that he offered me to stay in one room without bathroom, without kitchen, and with three very small beds for me to sleep with my girlfriend , don't realy know how, no conditions really and nothing to do with what we see in the webpage. After this he tells me that the price is the SAME and he finishes with " you have a place to stay, don't you?"

What I have to say after this is, DON'T GO TO MONTE DA CUNCA, and if you want you will find a lot of good hotels from there to Sagres.
If you want to take the risk and go to monte da cunca, don't go to late or you will probably stay in a [-].

  • Disliked — behavior of the staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taghazout, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Monta da Cunca is your perfect place to stay to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and get back to your roots. Situated in a beautiful part of the south west Algarve, near Carrapateira, Cunca offers you beach, sand dunes, fresh water lagoon, eucalyptus forest, organic garden and rolling greens hills all in one.
The accommodation are individually handcrafted, self contained apartments in a beautifully renovated Portuguese farmhouse.
The farm is a self sufficient organic farm run principally by volunteers. You also have the opportuity to pick your own vegetables from the garden, go horse/donkey riding, participate in a wood fired pizza oven night or enjoy a romantic evening alone with freshly picked mussels from the beach.

  • Liked — Getting back to nature, everything is hand made, and location, location, location!
  • Disliked — That we couldnt have the whole place to ourselves!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte da Cunca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Cunca

Address: 230 Carrapateira, Aljezur 8670, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Aljezur
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Aljezur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte da Cunca is situated in the beautiful Algarve on the South West coast of Portugal. Nestled amongst the Alentejo and Vicentine Coast National Park we are surrounded by untouched sand dunes, beaches, forests and hills. Whether you desire peaceful strolls through eucalyptus forests, bike riding along unspoilt cliff top coastline, surfing at some of the best beaches in Portugal, or reading a book whilst gently swaying in a hammock, the possibilities at Cunca are endless.The apartments here at Monte da Cunca have all been lovingly restored by hand, keeping elements of the traditional Portuguese heritage with mud brick and stone walls. They are made from natural resources such as stone, clay, reed and eucalyptus.Wholesome, organic produce is provided, fresh from our gardens. A short walk away is the village of Carrapateira where you can tempt your taste buds with locally prepared, traditional Portuguese cuisine, or enjoy the local daily market. Picturesque Aljezur is 19 kms to the north which also has many restaurants and an abundance of beautiful beaches. If you are in need of more breathtaking views, Lagos is approximately 30 kms away, as is inland Monchique and stunning, cliff top Sagres.Monte de Cunca is the perfect place for sharing quiet moments, relaxing in tranquil surroundings, and spending invigorating time close to nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monte Da Cunca Aljezur, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte da Cunca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.