We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa to your Saves list
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

O'Reilly's rainforest retreat in Lamington National Park is ideal for anyone who wants to get away from the city for a while and walk through the beautiful sub-tropical rainforest. The accomodation is simple but very pleasant, we had a view over towards the hills and in the evening the pademelons (small kangaroos) would graze in front of us. The food in the restaurant was excellent and all the staff were very friendly. Some of the activities come free with an overnight stay and some are extra but not particularly expensive. The trips with Glen Trelfo and Michael O'Reilly are very good, Glen's expert view of the wildlife is most informative and he literally has the birds eating out of his hand! The glow-worm trip is well worth taking and all-in-all a trip to O'Reilly's is well worth it. We visited Australia for a month and I would say our 3 days here were the high point of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    167
    83
    36
    31
See reviews for
147
253
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My partner recently arranged for a weekend at O'Reilly's as a birthday gift for me. Sure, it's a nice place to stay especially when your other options involve a tent. However, for the same price, we could have flown to the Hunter Valley, hired a car for 2 days and spent the weekend at a resort there.

The rooms were very nice but cleaning staff didn't take away any rubbish. The views from the "Mountain View" rooms is pretty good and the staff were friendly. My only complaint about the place is the price. The restaurant is very expensive and the only place to eat if you're staying there.

If you're an overseas visitor (and many of the guests were), then time is important and the cost of staying here won't significantly increase the total holiday spend. However, if you're a local, then stay in Canungra and drive up to the National Park each morning - it's much cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Public Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thanks for your feedback, that’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Since your stay, we have revised the menu so it now features some cheaper items, including entrees under $10.00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit was spectacular and perfect in every aspect, even down to the quality of the crockery, appliances etc. We will be recommending oreillys to our friends – a wonderful break was had by all.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights and loved every moment. The atmosphere really feels like a ski resort in Vail Colorado. The room had a great view and we spent one evening drinking a bottle of wine (they make pretty good wine), watching the sunset (which was one of the best I have seen), & seeing wallabies hopping around grassing. We than dined at their bar and loved the atmosphere. They have great guided trips and tons of trails you can hike on your own. We spent one day just hiking in the Bush. Driving there is quite the experience too as most of the roads within 20km of the hotel are mostly one way curving up a mountain side. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. There is only one thing you have to do when you come here and that is be ready to spend some money. If you are not willing to part with it than you should just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I spent there three days in this wonderful place among forests. I was very impressed by national park, Australian fauna and mountains.

I was a member of bigger group. At first the drive up by bus was interesting experience, going by narrow mountain roads among forests. We were accommodated in wonderful cottages (villas) with excellent equipment: tv, kitchen with all staff, washing machine etc. And jacuzzi at the balcony!!! I was there in July (Australian winter) but the whether was really fantastic.

I may offer you all activities which we did during our stay there. First of all night walk to observe glowworms. Very interesting and romantic!!! Also it was very interesting to take a tour on hanging bridge in the treetops. Amazing! Feeding parrots was also fine experience. Also some tour guide in national park was fine. The guide was very informative and friendly. The last item in our program was “flying fox”.

It is a fantastic place, especially for tourists from Europe. I would like to go back there one day…

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The national park is beautiful and the location is lovely. We stayed in a mountain view room which was pretty average for what we paid. The restaurant is also average but expensive. O'Reillys is living off a reputation that is no more. Expect mediocre accommodation, food and service at premium prices. We have travelled extensively worldwide and O'Reilly is probably the worst value for money we have come across. We would recommend a day trip to the national park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Public Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. Our Mountain View rooms are quite simply but comfortably furnished as our philosophy is that the rainforest, animals and views are a major part of the attraction too. Where at some other hotels you just get ‘room only’, we want to share these natural experiences with our guests, so all Retreat room rates also include a selection of guided rainforest activities, plus morning and afternoon tea, which we believe offers great value for money. For those after a bit more luxury, our Mountain Villas are a contemporary deluxe option with self-catering facilites, pay TV and a spa bath.

We have recently swapped to a new a la carte menu offering a greater variety of good value meals from home-made soups and pizza through to eye fillet steak. This change was made to reflect customer expectations for more variety in choice and price. We have also opened our own onsite bakery and serve our own homemade breads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The drive up was an experience in itself with great views over the western valley.
On our arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and we were very impressed with our accommodation in the 1 bedroom mountain view villa. It was a bugger we came up in the winter because it was too cold to use the spa on the balcony.

We had dinner at the restaurant both nights we stayed and we couldn't fault the food or the friendly service.

The activities we did during the day like the segway tour was great fun and the tour guide was informative and friendly. We also took some short walks through the rainforest and treetop walk which were good.

On our last day we booked a massage in the day spa and a flying fox activity which we booked in the wrong order. So after getting pampered in the day spa , which was amazing, and being extremely relaxed we ventured down to the 180m long flying fox.

We had a fantastic weekend and would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in World Heritage Lamington National Park, Gold Coast Hinterland, O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa is the perfect nature escape. Discover a world of lush rainforest, extensive network of bushwalking trails, stunning waterfalls and abundance of unique Australian bird and wildlife. Choose from the traditional charm of O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat or the private luxury of the Mountain Villas. For true rejuvenation, O’Reilly’s Lost World Spa offers therapeutic treatments and unique vinotherapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.