We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Save Saved
You added O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

From start to finish our stay at O'Reilly's was a waste of money! The front office crew had no idea whats heads and tails and the management seem to be more into thier coffee breaks than assissting their own staff when needed, "very poor" before we even got to our room we stopped into the cafe only to witness a manager yelling at a young staff member at the top of his lungs with the place filled with customers. "Unprofessional." While waiting in this cafe you must have to be someone of importance to get served as we stood around for what seemed like 15-20mins just to get some milk and soft drink, We couldn't wait any longer so we put the stuff back unlike some people who just got fed up and walked out with the items. We got to our rooms and found it really run down and in need of a re-furbishment and steam clean. If you stay at this place be aware that the money you spend on the rooms is not worth it and the resturant is over priced and takes as long time for your measl to come out. The O'Reilly's ancestors they must be turning in their grave. This is not the same place I came to as a child it is now just a money hungry greedy place who do not care about their guests or customers. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY I WILL NOT BE RETURNING!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Public Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Naturally, this review causes us great concern. We are sorry on those occasions when guests’ expectations and our high standards of service are not met. The vast majority of our guests have a positive experience at O’Reilly’s and the comments in our guestbooks and feedback forms bear this out. We do invite guests to make their concerns known to management as soon as they arise and usually things are put right without fuss. Rooms can always be changed if we have alternative accommodation available. Unfortunately, this reviewer didn’t make any of these concerns known during their stay with us.

We are disappointed that this visitor was not given the warm welcome which is such a tradition of O’Reilly’s and we are looking into this, though it is difficult for us to identify the reception staff concerned without the guest’s name or dates of the visit.

We are investigating the complaint regarding the manager who was shouting because it is our policy that our staff are treated with respect and dignity at all times. We have spoken with café staff, however, no-one has any recollection of such an incident and our café manager is female.

There are occasions when our takeaway becomes busy and extra staff are rostered for these periods but it’s not always possible to anticipate the arrival of unscheduled coach parties and large numbers of visitors who are not guests at O’Reilly’s. We believe this reviewer experienced such an influx if their waiting time at the counter was more than a few minutes. We are aware of this situation and are fast-tracking plans to deal with this. The alternative – closing the resort to day visitors and restricting the use of our beautiful location to paying guests only – is not in the O’Reilly tradition of offering a warm welcome to all visitors to the plateau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    120
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
104
186
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I stayed here last year on a trip round Australia with my family, There's 3 children 11,13 and 16 and all the family enjoyed it a huge amount from the gorgeous hot tub on the balcony to the giant swing and glow worm trips at night, a sense of adventure is needed!
As for the food we didn't try out the restaurant but instead went up to the bar area which served wedges with sweet chilli sauce which is just what we needed after a long day! Perfect!
All the staff were very polite and the room was spacious and comfortable with a TV, nice bathroom and shower etc
As for the infinity pool, the best swim ive had! And the best pictures aswell!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

reading others reviews i was a little concerned about making a booking for one night. However we had a great stay with very comfortable accomodation,maybe not all the rooms are furnished as well?staff were very helpful and polite, we could not fault it. We read up on what to expect, so filled the tank up with petrol for long trip up the mountain, realised there was no tv ,internet ,etc Bliss! thats the idea of a retreat isn't it?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Retreat is the operative work. After two days of a three day anniversary stay, we checked out. We could not face enjoying the surrounding countryside for another day and facing an appalling meal and substandard accommodation.

At over A$400 per night for a Canopy Suite, sorry the O’Reilly family you cannot live out on only a view for the rest of your lives. The discerning traveller deserves better than this in the 21st century.

The room did not work and was very dated. The lounge area was unusable after dark due to inadequate lighting; no TV, Internet or DVD (lucky we had our own) and the fire was in the bedroom. The room was begrudgingly serviced at 4pm when we complained, but nothing was restocked or the cups and glasses changed and laundry bags were left on the walkways overnight.

‘Complimentary Tea’ consists of a dry Lamington and help yourself tea/coffee urns! The evening meal was appalling. Instead of an inviting ambiance after a day walking in the fresh air, we sent back more food than we ate. The chef seemed to be oblivious to the fact that the food was inedible. I have to congratulate the staff on trying to cover the shortcomings. The day time cafe produced better fair.

I wasn’t going to write this, but see that the same comments are still being made a year on. As an accommodation provider in the Northern Rivers ourselves, we look to enjoy something a little different when we go away. We did not even get the courtesy of a phone call or e-mail having given both a written and e-mail feed-back on departure. Complacency seems to be the case here.

p.s. make sure you have plenty of petrol in your tank when you go, as coasting back down the mountain is not recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Public Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

Our Retreat rooms, including our Canopy Suites, don’t have mod cons, as they focus on escaping from the world and enjoying the natural surrounds, with the birds, animals and views being the major attractions. We do note this on our website. However, our new Mountain Villas do include facilities such as televisions and telephones for those who like to still be in touch with the outside world.

With regards to your meals, we’re sorry to hear that your experience fell below your expectations. Our aim is to make each visit an enjoyable experience and one that you will remember for all the right reasons. We have recently introduced a new menu and have had many compliments so I am concerned to hear of your experience. If you would like to contact me directly via our general number I would be interested to hear what you had selected from the menu. This will allow us to follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed with our 2 girls aged 8 and 5 for 2 nights in Bower 23, which was one of the 2 bedroom villas overlooking the valley. The villa was spacious and modern in design, which was what we like (we are not one of those vintage B&B fans). It was well equipped with all the utilities you would expect. The only hitch was that the toaster did not work and we had to call for one, which they delivered fairly promptly.

We enjoyed our morning bird walk and the rain tree walk, both of which were free for guests. The guides were patient and well informed. We saw plenty of native birds like the Satin Bowerbird, Logrunner, Whipbird, Blue Fairy Wren, Lewin's Honeyeater, Scrub Wren, Currawong, Emperor parrots, Crimson Rosellas, Australian Brush Turkey and Woonga Pigeon. We were brought to see one of the Satin Bowerbird's mating spots which was littered with blue objects; apparently they had an obsession with collecting blue things, which was pretty amazing. We were surprised by how tame the birds were; they were obviously used to being fed by the staff, probably for the sake of the guests, hence we had lots of good photo ops. I am not sure if it is a good idea to domesticate them. We also saw about 10 pademelons, which are small wallabies, during the morning walk. There was a glow worm cave tour which we decided to skip because the kids had already seen some pretty impressive fireflies in Malaysia a few times and also the weather was wet and chilly. We were told there was another glow worm cave, a man made one, at Mount Tambourine near Cedar Creek, which was cheaper and required less walking.

We had all our meals cooked in the villa, which the kids always preferred. They are pretty homely and like to "chill" especially if it is a nice hotel/ resort. It was lovely cooking while watching the orange sunsets though the large glass doors casting shadows over the forests. If you are planning to do your own cooking, the nearest decent supermarket is at Canungra, which is where we picked up the groceries before driving to the resort.

There was no servicing of the villa, which we thought should have been included considering the price. It would have been nice to have some basic servicing like making of beds, replenishing of towels and emptying of the trash.

It was a fantastic valley view we had, so glad we did not take the mountain view villa or the standard rooms. It was not cheap though. In retrospect we could have done O'Reillys as a day trip from the Gold Coast to save on cost, but it would have been more tiring for the kids, and we would probably have done less walks. If you are considering staying at the O'Reillys, I'd say go for for the mountain view villa, even if for a night. It really is an experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Public Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Wow, sounds like you had your own 'twitchathon' with all those bird sightings! The Satin Bowerbird bower is just amazing to see, the alley stacked up with little blue trophies for the male to 'woo' his ladies. We once saw a blue Mercedes Benz parked nearby - clever little thing!

Servicing of the Villas are available for longer stays and for a small fee can be arranged daily on request.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The rainforest retreat is really outstanding, in terms of outdoor activities on offer. Rainforest walks for everyone, suited to your level of fitness, the treetop walk is amazing! Rooms are spacious and very clean (who would have thought, you need a radiator in an australian hotel:)
The only flaw, that the restaurant is grossly overpriced, and being really in the middle of nowhere, there's no choice, you have to buy it. The food is medium quality, nothing wrong with it, it just gives you this rip off feeling, ruining the otherwise fantastic experience somewhat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Public Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Thanks so much for your feedback and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to O'Reilly's. We're very fortunate to be in such an amazing part of the world, surrounded by sub-tropical rainforest and lots of wildlife - I'm sure you would have met a few of the 'locals' during your stay! If you're keen on bushwalking, next time you visit make sure you check out the Gondwana Great Walk, one of the iconic full day walks through Lamington National Park, passing through stands of ancient Antarctic Beech trees.

As of yesterday, we have introduced a new menu in the Dining Room which offers much better value. Dinner is now a la carte, with new options including home-made pizzas and a grill.

Thanks again for taking the time to pass on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I never normally leave comments but people need warning about this place. First it's important to understand the are 2 main types of visit at O'Reillys. Firstly Day Trip, this is the best option, you can do see the stunning landcape, birds etc, this works ok. because you are not stuck there. Secondly you can stay in either the rooms or Villas. Villas are better appointed than rooms which are some of the poorest value in Austraila. It is our opinion that the O'Reilly brothers are quite clever...by calling it a "re-treat" they somehow lower guest expectations of accom standard (most things you will expect ARE NOT THERE tv,web,bath,ac, mini bar, modern fittings)and save money, but at the same time get to charge more because its a "retreat"
The rooms are 2/2.5 star under the UK/EURO rating system, but you will be charged 5 star prices. The owners are currently either paying off debt or drawaing too much out of the business - they are certainly not re-investing it in the standard of the hotel rooms.
To be honest, it looks as if some of the cash from the hotel is going to build/pay for the holiday homes located on the site which the family are selling.
As for food, where do I start. When we checked in I double checked breakfast was prepaid( which we always do as we dont bother with a big lunch) The receptionist was adamant that we had not paid for it and that we should by one of their "meal packages"
I asked them to check, they didn't. In the end I asked for Mr O'Reilly and a copy of the reservation system remittance, where upon, shock horror, after calling the reservation co. they found my booking and payment.....funny that!!!..They said they had not "loaded it onto their system" Ah I love the old Irish tricks....to be sure! STAY AWAY If you do eat a standard 3 course meal there, it will cost approx £120(E100) for 2 and trust me the food is not worth it.
The walks with the guides are good mind, Glen v good. but they dont make up for that ripped off feeling.....Stuart

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Owner at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
True our rooms do not have many mod cons - they never have had. Our philosphy has always been that the attractions are the many birds, animals and rainforest within Lamington National Park as well as the communal atmosphere generated by guests from Australia and around the world whom embark on a discovery of nature. Our Retreat is rated each year by RACQ who currently have it as a 4 star accommodation standard, and our Villas are rated 4.5 stars.
Our food is going through a major transformation currently. Come July the three course set menu will be gone, replaced by a wide variety of good value meals from pasta and pizza around $24 to eye fillet steaks and fresh prawns and bugs for about $40. This change has been made to reflect customer changes in expectations for more variety in choice and price and for a la carte cooking. We are also currently building a dining deck sitting on a 2000 foot cliff overlooking the Albert River which will be serving a Degustation menu from September.
As O'Reilly's has been operating since 1926 we hope to still be around for a while yet. Thanks for the feedback and for keeping us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Canungra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in World Heritage Lamington National Park, Gold Coast Hinterland, O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa is the perfect nature escape. Discover a world of lush rainforest, extensive network of bushwalking trails, stunning waterfalls and abundance of unique Australian bird and wildlife. Choose from the traditional charm of O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat or the private luxury of the Mountain Villas. For true rejuvenation, O’Reilly’s Lost World Spa offers therapeutic treatments and unique vinotherapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.