We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis. Well worth a detour for lunch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glenelg Inn Restaurant

The Glenelg Inn Restaurant
Glenelg Village | Glenelg, Glenelg, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Glenelg
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An oasis. Well worth a detour for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stopped off for first a coffee before touring the local brochs and then came back for lunch.
Proper pub. Full of character. Found it refreshing that the tables and chairs didn't match! Roaring log fire and comfy sofas too.
We shared a plough and lunch which was excellent. Selection of cheese & walnut bread, olives (nice ones), Parma ham, pickled eggs, grapes and strawberries. Just perfect for lunch for two.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“What a magnificent surprise !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were coming over from visiting some friends in Skye. They recommended we take this route and cross over in the small ferry. Well worth the detour. Once across we went to this small inn. It was late and we were one of the few lunch clients. Had smoked salmon to start and langoustines to follow. Both were delicious, but specially the langoustines. Medium sized, extremely fresh and boiled just right. I'm particularly keen on this shellfish and eat it whenever I can. The large ones broiled and the medium sized ones boiled. These were amongst the best I have ever eaten. A good white wine to accompany them, pleasant and friendly service, wonderful atmosphere .. a great lunch in our Scottish tour!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“HIDDEN GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Tucked away in the Scottish Highlands Glenelg Inn a hidden gem. It looks onto a loch, the food is excellent (booking is recommended). Log fire, pool table, dogs welcome, excellent food - ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lunch and pint of good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Glenelg is a lovely village ( on way the way to Sandaig and with lots of Maxwell connections if you are interested). The Inn is tucked away near the church and we planned an outdoor lunch- unfortunately the Scottish weather intervened with a huge shower halting the sunny day just as we sat down. The staff kindly bent the no dogs at meal times rules and we were allowed in for a very good lunch. I wanted something a bit different and enjoyed Ploughman's with a selection of Scottish cheese and fruits. I suspect the inside of the Inn is modelled on "Camusfearna" which I liked a lot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very disappointing experience. One to be missed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Having read a number of reviews which were positive, we booked a visit to this restaurant as part of our trip to Letterfearn. We waited a considerable time to be served, despite having been the first in the restaurant. The scallops we ordered were cold, and when I returned them, they were microwaved and rubbery. The steak was fatty and the curry was more like a starter portion than a main course. At no point did anyone enquire how our meal had been, and after a disappointing main course, we left still hungry but not prepared to risk a dessert. The ambience in the restaurant was pleasant until local workmen arrived and despite it being only 6:30 PM, and children being present, their language was choice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glenelg Inn Restaurant also viewed

Glenelg, Lochaber
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Dornie, Lochalsh
Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Glenelg Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glenelg Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.