We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kintail Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shiel Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintail Lodge
Save
You added Kintail Lodge to your Saves list
Glenshiel, Shiel Bridge IV40 8HL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night after the guest house we had booked let us down. We just stopped and asked for a room and they luckily had a suite available (2 rooms) for the 3 of us. It was very comfortable if a little overpriced. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked a table for dinner and that was excellent. The conservatory dining room overlooks the beautiful loch and mountains. There wasn't much choice for a vegetarian but what I had was delicious. We finished off the evening in the bar listening to live Scottish music. Just the job for a Scottish tour! Breakfast again was very good. The location is stunning and a good stopover on the way to Skye.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    66
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
82
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire,. Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I am just back from a weekend stay the the Kintail Lodge Hotel, and i have to say i was surprised at how much i liked the hotel. Im not usually into the whole 'small home from home hotel', i usually go for Permier Inn, Trvelodge, Holiday Inn etc... but anyway i loved this hotel.

The hotel is about 15 minutes from Kyle of Lochalsh and Sye bridge and is only 5 minutes away from the stunning Eilean Donan Castle.

I think all the rooms are shaped and decorated different, however i got a really nice room. It was huge an very nicly decorated. We had a fireplace with a beautiful boquet of flowers on it, and had a huge window overlooking one of the 5 sister mountains. We also had two very cool porthole looking windows looking onto the shore and hotel garden.

I am a very fussy eater, so the only problem i had was the meals. There was quiet a lot o meat and fishy food and not much pick for veggies. But there was plenty of near by cafes and restaurants, so i didnt starve.

The hotel also has a bunkhouse for walkers, where they can stay for £13.50 per night and a very nice beergarden.

The room was a bit on the expensive side, but then you pay for what you get

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

The Kintail Lodge is in an excellent location as a stopover, or as a base for exploration. We stayed there for two nights as a base from which to go on to the Isle of Skye for a day's touring.and to explore the area around Loch Duich. It's located at the head of the loch and has a fishing boat moored next to the garden!

The hotel has a public bar attached, which gets very busy in the evenings with the combination of locals and hotel guests. They have live music, which was a local traditional music band
on the evening we sat in the bar, There is also a very pleasant residents' lounge with a bar.

We were made very welcome, and staff were friendly and attentive. However, we got the impression that their number was only just adequate to match the very demanding pace of running a hotel offering breakfast and dinners, keeping an eye on guests in the lounge and staffing the busy public bar. Service was never lacking - although courses at dinner were a little slow to arrive - but we were conscious of the staff rushing about.

The en suite room was very adequate, and very clean, with all needs catered for - but not particularly exciting: perfectly good for a short stay. The food was very good, and includes the freshest dish of mussels that I've ever had.

There's a pleasant garden next to the loch for sitting out in good weather, and it was great to be able to walk out to the loch shore and admire the views.

Overall, lots of positives and not to be faulted, but at £104 per night for a double room, just a shade overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Excellent location, decent room and handy pub bar with good choice of meals.

Plenty to see and do - The Falls of Glomach, The Five Sisters, Eilean Donan Castle, Drive up to Mam Ratagen, The Iron Age Brochs etc etc

Would not have a problem recommending this hotel to anyone and will stay here again without a doubt.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Only negative room dated.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

A friend and I stayed in the Trekkers Lodge, the budget/walking accommodations at Kintail. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly, including showing us how to use the stove (which operates differently from an American Stove). Location is superb, pub is lovely and both people and dog friendly (many of the locals bring their pooches for a pint) and the food was fabulous (the scallops and the cock-a-leekie pie were standouts). Great value all around, and a great experience. Beautiful location to boot.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Stayed here for a friends wedding! Hotel was lovely, clean & staff very friendly.

Rooms were well sized with en-suites. Very clean and room have LOVELY view!

Breakfasts were amazing & although we never ate in the restaurant the menu looked lovely & the food smelt lovely.

  • Liked — Location & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Drive to get there
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2007

Myself and my friend stayed here in the first weekend of February 2007. The lady who greeted us was friendly and after checking us in, lit the fire for us in a comfortable small sitting room, where we ordered a pot of coffee. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and had loch views, the bathrooms were modern and seem to have been updated recently.

The food was excellent - local venison, scallops, decent house wine and fabulous desserts. The only problem was having to make a decision between home-made apple and pear crumble or sticky toffee pudding! The locals were friendly and great fun, and there seemed to be a lot of local people coming into eat in the bar - no wonder, given the quality of the food.

On the Saturday we went for a brilliant guided walk with a guide from Trek Highlands - the company runs walks from the hotel. We were lucky as the weather was superb and we got some great photos.

The highlight of our trip, though, was seeing a couple of porpoises swim in the loch just behind the hotel on Sunday morning after breakfast. Our fellow guests at breakfast were also lucky enough to have seen an otter.

Breakfast was another winner: home-made porridge, excellent eggs and as much tea or coffee as we could drink. I also tried the very tasty black pudding and bacon.

We'll be returning and wouldnt hesitate to recommend the hotel. Brilliant!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kintail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintail Lodge

Address: Glenshiel, Shiel Bridge IV40 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Shiel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kintail Hotel Shiel Bridge
Kintail Lodge Shiel Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kintail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.