We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceol Na Mara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmacara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ceol Na Mara
Reraig, Balmacara IV40 8DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights , the room has lovely views of the loch . Location was great for the Isle of skye and Ross told us some places to visit . Jayne and Ross were very welcoming and we loved the decor of their home. We will be back .

Room Tip: Has only two rooms which both are lovely , we had the smaller one but had everything you need .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
67
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed one night here. Wish it had been more! Its such a lovely area and Ross and Jayne were so warm and welcoming. Ross not only played his pipes for us in the morning but also some of his albums. It was a great experience. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King room - spacious and with a huge bathroom and great shower! Our friends stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the standard double room for three nights in July 2013. This place was amazing. My wife loved the decor and the views of the loch from the property were great. Location was great, away from the hustle and bustle with parking readily available across the street, but close to the shops of Kyle of Lochalsh and the amazing hiking on Isle of Skye. Breakfast is made to order with generous portions and is absolutely delicious. Ross, the owner, is friendly, entertaining (he will play the bagpipes he manufactures if you ask), and a wealth of knowledge on the nearby attractions from the best mountain to climb on Skye to the best restaurant in Plockton. His recommendations each morning allowed us to make the most of our short visit. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My good lady and I were biking around the west for a break and found this b&b on trip advisor, we booked the larger room for two nights (the bathroom is a work of art) we got hit by a storm in inverness so arrived a bit wet to say the least. The room is huge with amazing views out to the inlet and mountains, breakfast is a wee treat in a small dining room set out in grand style. Ross is very helpful and knowledgeable he even give us a run over to plockton for evening meal to save us a bike trip in the wet. The location makes a perfect base for Skye and surrounding areas. The big test is would you stay again and it's a resounding yes. Thanks

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After just over 2 weeks touring with or Australian friends in Scotland We have voted you our best accommodation during our stay Hotels included. So friendly, comfortable and informative and luckily NO bagpipe playing !!
Five star B&B cant recommend it enough.Stunning views and Rainbows what else could you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ceol Na Mara for two nights last week. We unexpectedly stumbled upon the property, and thankfully they had availability!

The house is stunning - quite large with beautiful interior design (I particularly loved the high-backed chairs in the dining area). It sits right across the street from the water, so the views are spectacular. The location is ideal for travel to the Isle of Sky (only a ten minute or so drive to the entrance of the island).

We stayed in the smaller guestroom, and it was definitely spacious enough for two people and very comfortable. The bed was both beautifully crafted and extremely comfortable! The wifi and heating unit worked flawlessly.

We tried two different breakfasts (salmon and eggs one morning, and the next the full Scottish breakfast) - both were very yummy! On our second morning, Ross (the owner), gave an impromptu bagpipe concert - what a treat.

If I could give this gem of a guesthouse six stars, I most certainly would!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed in the king room, it was warm and comfortable, with views over the bay. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Ross was a great host and gave us loads of ideas of where to visit. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The king room has at the front of house and has a luxurious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ceol Na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceol Na Mara

Address: Reraig, Balmacara IV40 8DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceol na Mara is a beautifully restored period property overlooking the shores of Lochalsh situated on the main road to the Isle of Skye. It is an ideal base for touring the Isle of Skye and the surrounding area. Both our rooms are en-suite with stunning views over the Loch and the mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ceol Na Mara Balmacara, Lochalsh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceol Na Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ceol Na Mara to your Saves list