We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balmacara Mains Guesthouse to your Saves list
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Book Direct with us for the best rate!!!! | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We have just got back tonight from the most brilliant 5 days – we had a lovely time, Norman and crew did us proud and the weather was just fantastic.

It all seems such a blur now (as do all good things when reality strikes), we just loved your guest house, so relaxing, so peaceful, so calming and the view from room 8 was just brilliant – even at 4.00am watching the moonscape.

Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    50
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
169
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I stumbled upon Balmacara Mains via the internet whilst looking for a place to stay with my son during October half term. We travelled down from Achiltibuie down the West Coast road, highly recommended. I wanted a base to visit a particular restaurant on Skye and found a warm welcome at Balmacara. The rooms are very comfortable and of the standard you would expect in big city boutique hotels. We will definately be back in 2009.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Don't miss this very special Guest House. If you'll be within 100 miles of it on your sojourn through Scotland, make sure you get here. Everything is new, clean and crisp. The breakfast gave me new ideas to take home with me to California, and the room gave us ideas to improve our own home. With a location on a quiet lane on the shore, and a morning of inclement weather, we couldn't have been in a better place to watch the rain and the wind waves until the storm passed. My husband doesn't like B and B's or Guest Houses . . . but he changed his mind because of our stay here last night!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

What else can one ask for whil on vaction? I definetely recommed this B&B. The best I have ever been to: great rooms (recently remodelled); great view of the loch (even when the weather is not the best); great breakfast; a host like no other (Norman you are the best), with great suggestions of places to visit, a constant smile and true sample of the Scottish hospitality.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Stayed with my young family. Room fabulous - very comfy bed and luxurious bathroom. Breakfast excellent, friendly and relaxed service. Can't fault the hospitality and welcome. Highly recommended.
JP

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemnay, Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

This was a lovely bed and breakfast, would definatley recommend using a room with a sea/loch view, it is well worth it. We were there out of season, but was made to feel very welcome by Norman the host, and he was happy to suggest things to do. There was information packs containing local tourist info, and local restaurants' menus, which was a great help, as we landed up at a bit of a dodgy place the first night!

Would recommend heading up to Plockton for food, the Plockton Inn was lovely and very busy when we were there, delicious menu, and we could have easily gone back again, but decided to go to the more up market and costly Plockton Shores instead.. admittedly it was out of season, but the place lacked atmosphere, and was very quiet. Food lovely though, but no better than the cosy Plockton Inn round the corner in our opinion.

Back to Balmacara... the breakfast menu was plentiful, and we tasted the best black pudding ever! Norman cooked it freshly each morning and was very attentive without being over bearing.

Our room was above the dining area and looked over the sea. The bed was very comfy and there was tea/coffee facilities, satellite tv and free wifi! The bathroom was lovely with a big bath tub and powerful shower- would recommend to bring bubble bath, there was bath salts supplied however.

On departing, we thanked Norman for his hospitality and he recommended that we come back again in May before the migies arrive! Something we will certainly bear in mind for the future.....

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmacara Mains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Address: Book Direct with us for the best rate!!!! | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront contemporary boutique B&B Guesthouse on the shores of Loch Alsh with great views to Skye. Great base for touring the Isle of Skye, and the Lochalsh peninsula. All rooms high quality, en suite, and with own private entrance. Near Plockton and Eilean Donan Castle also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and EasyToBook so you can book your Balmacara Mains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Hotel Balmacara
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Lochalsh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmacara Mains Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.