We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful setting, large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balmacara Mains Guesthouse to your Saves list
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Book Direct with us for the best rate!!!! | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Stillwater, MN
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“wonderful setting, large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Loved the room and all of the facilities. both mornings we sat at breakfast watching the weather move across the water. We also needed wash done, and they were very accommodating here. We stayed in room 3 which also had its own porch facing the front of the building. Only downside was the late arrivals both nights upstairs of our room. The floors are very creaky and we could hear every step they took. It was good they didn't walk around a lot!
The location is perfect for travel to both Skye and other local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    48
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
163
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the bedroom we had a wonderful view of the lake. The bathroom was high quality. It is possible to make a very nice walking in the wood walk, which pass near the house.

Many options and well done breakfast.

The only negative part was that we didn't have personal contact with the owner, like other B&B.

Room Tip: Room 1 Double or Twin en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here in February and absolutly loved it! Beds were big and very comfy, breakfast was fantastic, service was very friendly and welcoming and the view from the room was beautiful! It was a very cosy and relaxing place to stay. Very good price aswell.

Normally I try not to go to the same place twice - but I will definitly go back here.

- Also, the Red Skye restruant is a great place to eat. The owners are absolutly lovely and food is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am not sure this is the perfect location for touring Skye because you have about a 30-minute drive to get to the heart of the island; but you are on the end of the Skye within just a few minutes, the views from the B&B are georgeous and it is convenient if you have traveled very far to get to Skye and convenient for departing from the area. It met our needs very nicely. The staff was very friendly, the food was good and room was very modern, large and comfortable.

Room Tip: I think we had room 8 which is on the floor above the breakfast room. The room was large with moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the guesthouse for a couple of nights in October. We were warmly welcomed by Norman who showed us to our room etc. room 5 was upstairs and had a lovely view over the loch from the velux window. Bed was very comfortable and room itself was well appointed.
Pluses-breakfasts were very yummy and staff friendly and helpful
Minuses- lack of hot water both mornings and sound proofing from other rooms
Definitely recommend guesthouse for location as ideal for bridge and touring south of island.

Room Tip: Room three looked lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was probably the best B&B we stayed in on our entire 2 week trip. The building was over 100 years old and completely remodeled into cozy elegant rooms with amazing views of the loch. The breakfasts were well prepared, rooms were just beautiful and I could have just sat in my room and looked over the loch all day- shame we were sightseeing. A short ride to the bridge to Skye!

Room Tip: I didn't see a bad room and there are several that accommodate larger groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Balmacara Mains Guesthouse August 2012. We just had a terrible vehicle accident that very day and thought our vacation was ruined. The Manager, Lucy and Gentleman Caretaker both took great care of us and helped us return to vacation mode. The guesthouse itself was lovely. I am copying the window styles into my cabin at home: you can see both the view and lie in bed watching stars above, ( there were a lot of shooting stars). The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The next morning Lucy very kindly drove us to the train station and refused extra payment for all the accident related phone calls I had to make. Sometimes you really need unexpected help while travelling and these two hosts were heaven sent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmacara Mains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Address: Book Direct with us for the best rate!!!! | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront contemporary boutique B&B Guesthouse on the shores of Loch Alsh with great views to Skye. Great base for touring the Isle of Skye, and the Lochalsh peninsula. All rooms high quality, en suite, and with own private entrance. Near Plockton and Eilean Donan Castle also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Balmacara Mains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Hotel Balmacara
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Lochalsh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmacara Mains Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.