We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely weekend in the Tingle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tingle Creek Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tingle Creek Hotel to your Saves list
Tingle Creek Hotel
Erbusaig, Erbusaig IV40 8BB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Another lovely weekend in the Tingle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I've reviewed this hotel a few times now and have to say that my opinion hasnt faltered - its a little gem of a hotel with the most stunning views over to Skye and Raasay. Its run by a lovely family who are always pleasant and helpful and always make us feel very welcome when we stay there. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and beautifully clean - try and get one overlooking the bay because to wake up and see the views is out of this world (especially if its sunny!).
We usually have our meals in the hotel and the quality of the food is excellent, as are their breakfasts.
If you are thinking of visiting this part of the world (which is stunning) I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
PS. They are also very happy to take well behaved dogs!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the bay. The views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTingleCreekhotel, Owner at Tingle Creek Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and thank you for your comments regarding our hotel, rooms and food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    53
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
131
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The web site is seductive. The promised backdrop of Skye is 100% delivered. And then there is the hotel which fails to deliver as promised on several evels. We felt very short changed on what was a weekend we were really looking forward to celebrating.

Sad really because the web site raised our expectations.

The decor is so like many inferior B & B hotels and I had misguidedly thught were extinct. Cheap and not too cheerful.

Don't know what kind of beds are in the rooms - They look ok but after two nights i was in agony. I Travel extensively and have no trouble with beds. This bed triggered off a back problem and I woudn't have wanted to stay another night even if the decor had been fabulous.

Guess the straw that broke the camel's back was after discussing our dinner plans with the manager (prior to our long day on SKYE ) we rang at 8.10 to say we are 5 minutes away and we can order now to help you. We were told 'you're too late. The kitchen are going,"'
We had to search out a fish and chip bar ! when we got back they still had a big board outside advertising dinner till 8.30

Room Tip: Rooms at back have good car park view. If you have a front room then Skye is your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTingleCreekhotel, Owner at Tingle Creek Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
We remember the couple in question, and in our opinion this review has been heavily influenced because they were unable to get an evening meal on their second night stay. We informed them on check in the day before that we were going to be busy in the restaurant the following evening and recommended booking a table, but they were uncertain of their plans. When they phoned we were apologetic, but explained that the restaurant was full. We were full in the hotel that night and all of our other guests had made pre bookings earlier that day.

The bed that was found uncomfortable, we found surprising as many of our guests have made comment that the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom has been refurbished and was certainly not cheap!. Our décor is found to be cosy, modern and homely, and popular with the majority of our guests.

As for the comments made about our website, we find this to be the most confusing statement yet, as all we have done is upload pictures of the hotels exterior and interior. At no point have we made any attempt to mislead our guests, in fact many of our guests have stated that our pictures do not do the hotel justice.

Once again we rely on people to use common sense and look at all of our reviews and judge us on all comments and not to be influenced by one subjective review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My friends and I rented a car in London and drove from Glastonbury around the island. Every stop was magnificent but the most memorable one was the discovery of this beautiful hotel. We found it by accident since we did not have any plan and it was wonderful. We spent 3 nights and 4 days, using it as our homebase while we explored the area. The hotel is family owned and run with lots of care and love.

The food was wonderful, the rooms very comfortable and the service outstanding. I have recommended it to all my friends traveling to Scotland and will stay again on our next trip.

This is truly a hidden treasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms were outstanding. Some have ocean view, some have tree/garden views depending on what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTingleCreekhotel, Owner at Tingle Creek Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill, Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had to change our booking by a day due to our ferry crossing from Orkney being delayed by 5 hours leaving us with too little time to get here for the evening. There was no problem in changing the booking and on arrival the following day we had an extremely friendly welcome.

We arrived on the Wednesday and were advised that evening meals were not served; however we were given the option of the hotel ordering an Indian takeaway for us and setting a place for us in the dining room. As we didn't really want to do any more driving we decided to opt for this and weren't disappointed.

Our room and en-suite were beautifully presented, the standard of which would befit a 5 star hotel. The furniture in the room was of a very good quality and our bed was extremely comfortable.

We couldn't find any faults with this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending Tingle Creek to friends/ family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTingleCreekhotel, Owner at Tingle Creek Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your comments regarding the standard of your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Unfortunately only a flying trip to Skye/Kyle, but a great find at Tingle Creek. Just a few mins drive out of Kyle, in really quiet wee hamlet. Great craic in the bar as I landed there on quiz night. Rooms are absolutely spotless - nice modern feel although with plenty tartan just to remind you that we're in Highlands. Would never go past this place when staying on this side of the water.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latheron
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just got back from another visit to this great little hotel. Well kept, very friendly staff, good food and we liked the Indian take away idea for tuesday's dinner will be going back.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both room 2 and room 4 excellent view over the sea to Skye
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Tingle Creek Hotel really is one of the nicest places me & my wife have ever stayed so good we even decided to have our wedding doo there. The location & views from the hotel really are something very special & the rooms are very nice, the meals were out of this world & the prices are good too.
Me & my wife live in south yorkshire & Dennis (hotel owner) & all the staff really did make it so easy for us doing the wedding planning, on the big day the main room looked fantastic & the staff were perfect very helpfull & nothing was too much trouble.
As you can tell from this review we were & are very impressed with this hotel & its staff it really is the perfect place for the perfect highland wedding or a great stay, we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tingle Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingle Creek Hotel

Address: Erbusaig, Erbusaig IV40 8BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Erbusaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tingle Creek Hotel is situated between Kyle of Lochalsh and Plockton, and is only a five minute drive onto the Isle of Skye. It has an excellent restaurant, with spectacular sea views across to the Isle of Skye. As a family run hotel, the family pride themselves in offering their guests the personal touch, providing a friendly, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tingle Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tingle Creek
Tingle Creek Hotel Erbusaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tingle Creek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.