We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tingle Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tingle Creek Hotel to your Saves list
Tingle Creek Hotel
Erbusaig, Erbusaig IV40 8BB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
Cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We visited the Tingle Creek for the first time in February last year (2007) and returned again in June and September.
On each occasion we were welcomed like old friends by the owners of this family run hotel.
The accommodation, food and location made for a truly memorable stay.
The hotel is warm and cosy and the ever attentive staff catered for our every need.
The hotel’s in a fabulous spot and we found it an ideal base for walking, climbing, taking sea trips and exploring the surrounding islands.
We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    53
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
131
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Found staff friendly and very helpful. High standards of housekeeping evident. Enjoyed using newly refurbished en suite. An excellent getaway from it all for a city dweller like myself. Beautifil scenery in these parts. Would recomend.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

The location and views surrounding the Tingle Creek hotel cannot be faulted, however it was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, in terms of value for money. The staff were friendly and a family element was very evident, however so was their apparent lack of knowledge of what standard of service should be provided for the cost of the hotel. The food was extremely average and over-priced - don't order the cheese board if you want a real taste of Scottish cheese as the samples were so small they wouldn't reach your taste buds. We even dropped a piece on the floor and felt we had to pick it up and eat it as the quantity on the board was so miserly! The double rooms were far too basic to warrant the £100 cost. The bathroom however was very nice and had obviously been re-done recently. We woke early on both days though due to the noise in the corridor. The rooms needed to be locked from the inside manually - again not something you expect from a room costing £100. I felt so ripped off I couldn't bring myself to stand and pay the bill so ended up waiting in the car while my partner did it. A hotel with huge potential but it's currently a far cry from other hotels charging the same sort of money elsewhere.

  • Liked — views & proximity to Skye
  • Disliked — Poor value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Just returned from a brilliant 3 days at the Tingle Creek.
The hotel is beautifully set within a little bay.
Natalie, her family and their staff provided the best service i have ever recieved at a UK Hotel. Their attention to detail is admirable and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are bright and clean with an excellent tea tray.
The restaurant is fantastic with great views and superb food, couldn't fault it. The staff made a fuss of 8 yr old at dinner which he really loved and is still talking about it.
This is a great wee hotel which I hope to return to and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linlithgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

thought this was a lovely friendly family run hotel. couldn't fault the food, which was great. lovely views overlooking skye and other islands while having breakfast. will definitely come back.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — some decor does need updating
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Unfortunately we did not actually stay at Tingle Creek because we didn't know about it's existence and had already booked a cottage for the entire week. We happened upon Tingle Creek by accident and had dinner there. I have never met such warm, friendly people. They had only been in business for a couple of weeks, after having taken it over from the previous owners. The food was phenominal, the staff was great, so we returned for another dinner a couple of nights later and were treated like old friends. I hope that someday I will have another opportunity to visit Scotland and I will certainly stay at Tingle Creek when in the highlands. Barbara Greenlund, New Lenox, IL USA

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Superb location, quiet with fabulous views. Food was 5 star quality and the staff were all very friendly and professional. Lovely dining room with panoramic views to the Isle of Skye, also a good public bar with excellent bar food. We can not wait to get back there. (P & G Northumberland)

  • Liked — Fantastic staff, food and location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tingle Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingle Creek Hotel

Address: Erbusaig, Erbusaig IV40 8BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Erbusaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tingle Creek Hotel is situated between Kyle of Lochalsh and Plockton, and is only a five minute drive onto the Isle of Skye. It has an excellent restaurant, with spectacular sea views across to the Isle of Skye. As a family run hotel, the family pride themselves in offering their guests the personal touch, providing a friendly, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tingle Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tingle Creek
Tingle Creek Hotel Erbusaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tingle Creek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.