We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Fol Avril

Save Saved
You added Villa Fol Avril to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Fol Avril
2, Rue des Fers Chauds, 61110 Moutiers au Perche, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Villa Fol Avril for the first time at the beginning of September - and we are already talking about when we can return! Moutiers au Perche is a new part of France for us and is a
4.5 hour drive from The Tunnel - perfect for a first night stop on the way south. We stayed for three nights and will probably stay longer next time. The rooms are charming and the food is excellent without being 'over the top'. Moutiers is a very pretty village, with a lovely church up the nearby hill. Look out for the gargoyles. If you can, visit in the summer, as the garden is very pretty, with a good sized swimming pool and plenty of comfortable seats for sitting out in the sun. I think you can always tell a good hotel when you like the people you meet staying there. We liked quite a few!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was at the top of the main building. It was charming and had a pitched roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My (new!) husband and I went to Villa Fol Avril for 5 nights following our wedding in London.The hotel made every effort to make our special time as especially special as they could (!-from a very kind special rate in honour of our honeymoon-to a thoughtful glass of bubbly at our first night dinner- to not batting an eyelid at our requests for breakfast in bed most mornings).The location was JUST what we were looking for after the hustle and bustle of wedding planning in a busy city-quiet,peaceful,picture perfect(if what your looking for is a pocket of calm and silence in a mad world-THIS IS IT).And the layout of the villa exudes a similar zen like quality-picture: hammocks,deck chairs and couches to flop on at any given opportunity.Then there's the food-yum yum yum-tasty,honest,fresh and very good value for what comes.Go go go!xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely rooms and good dinner and breakfast there is a lovely walk to do up to the top of the hill to see the church and the fields ,horse and sheep all in all a good place to stay p.s walk lovely at night

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

In the region Le Perche with its green hills and valleys and an abundance af flowers you will find a fairytale village called Moutier au Perche. In this village lies a really agreable hotel Le Villa Fol Avril, one of the best countryside hotels I ever have experienced.
The moment you enter you feel pampered like a most wanted guest, the personel being very friendly.
A beautiful terrace in front where you can have dinner when the weather permits, a little heaven.
In the back a split level rustique garden with swimmingpool where you can let out all the stress of citylive.
The cuisine (menu's between 22 and 33 euros) is simple but well-executed, a sophisticated 3star-meal wouldn't do in these countrysidesurroundings. The breakfast: was excellent.
There were some little drawbacks: the wellcome-cookies in the room were very, very old and the door between the innercorridor and the bedside had a defect lock.
When I write this down I realize that this secret heaven will not stay long secret any longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked a specific room months in advance. This was not available when we arrived. We were given a room with a very noisy fan that could not be switched off and we hardly slept. We had to get alternative accommodation for the next night. Presumably someone else was allocated this room, had objected and been moved to the room we originally booked.

Room Tip: It is a waste of time booking specific rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folavril, Propriétaire at Villa Fol Avril, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
It seems you spent a bad stay and I’m sorry about it.
I regret that you did not come to speak about it, I’m certain we would have found a solution.
However, I wish to specify two points:
1° We practice booking by category of room and not by specific room,
2° What you presume at the end of the message is based on nothing : we did not reallocate any room for any reason this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Le Perche is a lovely unspoilt rural area of France largely ignored by foreign tourists.
Moutiers which rarely figures in any guide is charming village with an interesting church, which makes a real effort to show itself at its best.
Theis boutique hotel makes a similar effort. The rooms are excellent and the the restaurant serves a very good value menu du jour. The small swimming pool is attractively situated in a pleasant garden. Staff are friendly and welcoming as befits an owner run hotel.
One word of warning. Be careful with your booking. I booked 3 months in advance ( a stop-over on the way to Le Mans) yet when I arrived there was no trace of it. Fortunately the room I had booked was still available and the owner was most apologetic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estepona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here at the end of June and it really could not have been better,the rooms are unique and beautiful, the restaurant is very good and service was faultless. Add all this to the setting in an amazing village that stands as if time forgot it and you have a wonderful place to stay

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Fol Avril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fol Avril

Address: 2, Rue des Fers Chauds, 61110 Moutiers au Perche, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Moutiers au Perche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moutiers au Perche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Villa Fol Avril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fol Avril France/Moutiers Au Perche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Fol Avril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.