We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay when visiting Orvieto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Fontanile

Save Saved
You added Borgo Fontanile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo Fontanile
Vocabolo Fornace 159, 05023 Baschi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baschi
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The place to stay when visiting Orvieto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was looking for a place with a pool near Orvieto. Borgo Fontanile was the perfect choice, less than ten minutes away from Orvieto. Paola and Domenico are very gracious and hospitable hosts. Paola does the cooking and Domenico, besides tending to the animals and farm, serves the food in the open-sided dining room. Although the place is a little rough around the edges in some regard, our studio apartment was designed with all the modern Italian fittings shown in magazines. The pool was a blessing after returning from visits to Orvieto and Civita di Bagnoregio (a must). We thought we would drive to Orvieto in the evening, but after enjoying a delicious glass of chilled white wine and cured meats offered by Domenico and then having one of Paola's three-course dinners, there clearly was no reason to leave. We were lucky to share the after-dinner entertainment of karaoke with two Italian families as well as with Paola and Domenico -- and glasses of lemoncello just added to the festivities. Our three-night stay at this extraordinary agriturismo certainly was magical and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Paola and Domenico were great hosts and opened their home to my family during our 2 night stay. Be sure to get good directions as the actual B&B can be easily driven past the first time (ok, I did this). When we first drove down the steep hill, I admit that I was questioning whether I had made a correct choice in this stay. It just looked like a work in progress in the front. That actually turned out to be the case as Paola and Domenico had not had their B&B opened for too long and was still in the process of renovating the place. Saying this, if you are in this area -- this is a must stay. The renovated rooms are spacious with nice sized bathrooms; we all slept great during our stay. The backyard was spectacular as well with a very nice pool and a great open air dining room.

Our first evening we were planning on going out for dinner when Paola asked if she could make us dinner. We were tired so decided to take her up on it. Thank goodness I was tired -- the meal was fantastic. Every aspect of the cooking and Domenico's service was top notch. We decided to have dinner again the next night also at the B&B and once again, it was stellar. I am amazed that this restaurant/B&B is not full every night. It easily surpassed any meal we had at "top end" restaurants in Rome and Florence.

My step-daughter was also tired and decided to not tour the countryside the 2nd day and they made her feel welcome all day including lunch with many of the locals. She had so much fun trying her newly learned Italian out with so many laughing and friendly indiviuals. Needless to say that she also had a great lunch!

The location was close to Orvieto and other hill towns. It met all of our needs from that aspect as well. Thank you Paola and Domenico for a most excellent visit and for the hospitality you provided. We look forward to some day returning and seeing how your B&B continues to develop. It is already a gem in our eyes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

It's hard to explain how wonderful this place is and how wonderfully we were treated by Paola and Domenico...we were not guests but family that are given anything our tummies and hearts desired without a second thought. The rooms are comfortable, charming, and thoughtful. Wifi is accessible through out the place and laundry available upon request. The home made breakfast and coffee (espresso) is impeccable and the food is devine. Their home made porcuitto is one of the best we had in Italy, their cheese and olive oil is flawless, their wine is excellent but the entire meal, oh yes the meal, I will dream about the meal, it's so delicious you will use it as the bar to compare the rest of your meals. But don't think that you will pay heavily for such a heavenly meal, it's beyond reasonable. And if you have time, you must take a cooking class from them, it will change your outlook on how food should be prepared and treated. Thank you for reading my rant as I could go on and on about our magical experience but alas all good things must end.

Room Tip: First step is to choose Borgo Fontanile, then sit back and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

If you want to visit relatives in Italy but don't have any, this is the place to go. Paola and Domenico, who own and run Borgo Fontanile, are the warmest, kindest, most talented people we've met on our 6 week trip in Italy and our stay with them is our fondest memory. My husband and my 4 month old son stayed at Borgo Fontanile for 5 days/4nights - we found out about it in Rick Steves' Book. It's a gem in the Umbria region. It's a bed and breakfast, villa, and restaurant all wrapped up into one, located on a beautiful farm with gardens, olive groves, a pool. This is my first trip advisor review - I've never been compelled to write a review before now - this place is too good to keep a secret. These two have been handed down traditions and skills from their parents and grandparents that have allowed them to build this oasis, live off the land, and share these joys with their guests.

We arrived by car in the evening and upon getting a little lost, we called and Paola and Domenico drove to meet us so we could follow them back to the place. (Once we figured out where it was, it was easy to get to for the rest of our stay). Our suite/apartment was beautiful - everything is completely new and built/restored by Domenico with a modern yet rustic flair - exposed wood beams and gorgeous stone work throughout; the bathroom and shower with stone walls was wonderful, kitchen, queen bed (not two double beds), couch, table - all was very clean, cozy, and really felt like home. We had wireless internet as well. Outside there are multiple private grassy areas, a pool surrounded by lounge chairs and canopies, swinging chairs, and outdoor restaurant for the warmer months, etc.

Regarding food: Every meal was delectable - my husband and I agree that our best meals came from here (we traveled throughout Italy for 6 weeks). Every morning breakfast was served to us in their restaurant - homemade jams and bread, breakfast cakes, cappuccino (truly one of the best we had in all of italy - we wanted to take their machine with us), fresh squeezed juices. The first afternoon we were there, Domenico knocked on our door with two glasses of wine and fresh bruschetta and pizza from the brick oven they have outside. One night, we had dinner there in their restaurant (it was just my husband and I and our sleeping baby). They created a romantic setting for us with candles and music and wine and a multiple course meal that was incredible. Dinner was so good that we decided to take Paola's cooking class one day. It was an amazingly fun and delicious day – from scratch we learned out to make tagliatelle pasta and a great vegetable ragu for it, an eggplant rollatini-type dish, a meat dish (turkey stuffed with sausage and bacon!), dessert, bread, pizza, and a vegetable flan. We picked fresh veggies and herbs from the gardens, enjoyed tastings of meat (made by Domenico) and wine...even if you don't stay overnight here, you should treat yourself to this cooking class if you are in the area.

Regarding the location: It’s located in a town called Baschi, right outside of Orvieto -easy to reach by train or car (a few miles off the autostrada/highway). We took day trips to Orvieto and Civita di Bagnoregio, just 2 of several beautiful hilltowns nearby. We also stopped by one of many nearby wineries for an afternoon tour and tasting of wine, cheese and meats.

Regarding the people: simply put, Paola and Domenico are genuinely wonderful and extraordinarily likable people- spending time with them make you wish they actally are part of your family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bos
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Definitely call ahead and request dinner, you will have one of the best meals of your life. We didn't, and they still threw together an amazing ALL homemade meal. Tomato/cheese/meat was all form there. Paolo and Domenico run the place, and you are part of their home.

Breakfast, too, was all homemade, just a special experience.

You'll stay in your own little house, with a kitchen, bath and bedroom. It is newly built by them, so everything is in mint condition. VERY affordable

The directions need some work, but once you get there, it's worth getting lost for. It's 10 minutes to downtown Orvieto, so if you'd prefer to tour the city

Internet is spotty, so plan on being relaxed and unplugged.

Kids would love it, but perfect for a romantic place to stay, without worrying about having the quality of the food. And buy their olive oil! It's the best we had in Italy

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

After seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor, we contacted Borgo Fontanile via email prior to our arrival to arrange a day-long cooking class while we were in Orvieto. It turns out that Veila is no longer teaching the class and the owners of Borgo Fontanile, Paola and Domenico, were our hosts for the day. Paola picked us up at our B&B in Orvieto and we drove about 10 minutes to the farmhouse. Paola arranged to have an interpreter, but her English was very good.

We started off the day with breakfast treats all homemade by Paola and all marvelous. It was raining, but that didn't stop us from helping gather vegetables from the garden. We enjoyed learning how to make pizza/flatbread dough, a roasted eggplant dish, rosemary chicken, tagliatelle pasta, truffle bruschetta and tiramisu. Paola has sent emailed me recipes for several of the items we made during our visit.

Many of the items were cooked outside in a wood burning oven that Domenico tended. We learned that Domenico enjoys doing things in the ancient Italian way - including cleaning out the oven with leaves from the laurel tree dunked in water. We also sampled a variety of wines throughout the day from the nearby Falesco winery.

The food was amazing as was the relaxing experience of taking a day off from touring to just enjoy ourselves at a slower pace. The setting was beautiful and we couldn't have asked for more gracious hosts. I would highly recommend a day spent at Borgo Fontanile with Paolo and Dominico to anyone who is looking for an unusual

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo Fontanile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Fontanile

Address: Vocabolo Fornace 159, 05023 Baschi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Baschi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baschi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!The farm holidays Borgo Fontanile comes from the desire to share with others the passion for nature. Village fountain is located in the quiet green Umbrian countryside, in a strategic point to visit every town in Umbria, Orvieto, Todi, Perugia, Rome, Florence, Cortona, Assisi are within easy reach .. The structure has been carefully renovated maintaining the wooden beams and terracotta floors. The main building houses the reception, rooms and apartments overlook the pool and restaurant area and all have private entrance. The owner of the management staff will ensure you a pleasant stay full attention. House, apartment, apartment ... pick one you like ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Borgo Fontanile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Fontanile Italy/Baschi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Fontanile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.