We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but a little odd, with poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vina Casa Silva

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Fernando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vina Casa Silva
Save
You added Vina Casa Silva to your Saves list
Hijuela Norte, PO Box 97, San Fernando, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 San Fernando B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely, but a little odd, with poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

When we arrived we could not find the front desk.....it is in an unlabelled office. The housekeeping staff was gathered in there when we stepped in and no one turned their attention to us until we spoke up. We were given the key to our room, which was LOVELY, but looked out over the parking lot instead of the pool or the gardens etc. We asked if we could move-"No". This became even more irritating as the evening went along and we realized we were the only ones at the hotel for the night (a bit spooky and odd). We were left to find the room ourselves and no help with our bags was offered despite the fact it is a gravel parking lot which is not amenable to using your luggage with wheels! When we asked where we were to go for the winery tour we were advised it was in Spanish only, despite the fact we were the only ones there and there was both an English speaking and Spanish speaking guide in the tour centre, and we had made these arrangements (tour and hotel accommodation) months in advance. When it came to wine tasting....there was only a very small amount of their best wine left in the bottle, and they said "oh, you'll have to share this".....why, because that was their last bottle??? All of these things would not be worth commenting on, if it wasn't for the fact the price for the tour and hotel room was astronomical. We don't mind paying, but when we do, we would like to be treated commensurately.

We had dinner at the restaurant which overlooks the polo field. The food was spectacular and the service in the beautiful restaurant was good.

The hotel room was lovely (but no air conditioning available), the breakfast was wonderful.....if a little odd given that it was a substantial array of food and we were the only ones there.

Again upon checkout, no offer of help with the bags and no one asked how we enjoyed our stay etc.

All in all......it was a nice stay....lovely dinner and accommodations, but very uneven service which was very inconsistent with the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
33
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We loved it at Viña Casa Silva. The staff was very welcoming, spoke great English! We stayed in Room 4 which was lovely. Incredibly comfortable bed. Had dinner at the restaurant, which is a little ways from the hotel (we rode bikes provided by the Wine Shop). The restaurant overlooks the Polo field. Apparently the restaurant used to be in the winery and closer to the hotel but following the earthquake it had to be moved and has since remained. We had a private wine tour (included) the following day after enjoying breakfast. The pool is small but nice and has room to lounge around.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is perfect. The rooms are nice, the confort is there on rendez vous. The rooms is spacious. Everything is charming. But...a bar is maybe to consider on place. The restaurant is nice about the location but the food was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is a lovely small hotel. Everything is very aesthetically done and it feels like you are visiting a home located in the vineyards. The DaSilva winery is first class, so be sure to tour it, and the restaurant at the winery is very good. We had lunch and dinner there and totally enjoyed both meals. The polo grounds are right next to the restaurant, so at lunch if you are lucky you can sit on the terrace and watch a match while you dine. While we enjoyed the hotel very much, the self-serve breakfast was lacking for what the hotel cost. That aside, everyone was very friendly and it was a wonderful, relaxing and beautiful place to spend a day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

beautiful place set up in the Casa Silva vineyard in Chile, a perfect getaway just 140km from Santiago. Hotel is in an old house with coirtyards, rooms are spacious and full of atmosphere and history. A bit overpriced, but probably due to lack of competition as very few vineyard have own accomodation inside. Bearing tjat in mind, highly recommended, dont miss the restautant, located literally in the middle of rhe vineyards. Also great wine tour!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The hotel facilities are beautiful with very well restored traditional historical home which well represents Chilean country life. Obvious amenities were lacking which would have made the overall experience much better. Details like providing complimentary tea, coffee or water for guests within the living area would have made for a much homier atmosphere and encouraged guests to enjoy their visit outside of their rooms. Information about the history of the house, transformation, restoration activities, etc. would have provided the guest a feel for Chilean history and the evolution of the house, company, family and property over the years. The rooms could have offerred other amenities giving the room an extra special touch: complimentary bottle of wine as a welcome, bath salts, bath robe, etc. For the level of luxury offerred by the installation and the price, this is a mininum one can expect as a guest. These suggestions are minimal in price, but certainly leave a long lasting impression on a guest for detail.

The receptionist did not provide any useful information regarding the stay. She was not encouraging or itself and did not offer over any ideas of things to do. We had to inquire if there were any bicycles available and details about the house, breakfast, other wineries, etc. She certainly did not project an image of hospitality or interest in the guests' well being.

The restaurant was fantastic. Staff were well informed. The chef was creative and participated in the evening. Beautifully decorated and a reflection of the family and their history. The location near the polo field was also unique and really provided a campestre feel. Food was top quality in all aspects including the desserts which can frequently be a disappointment after a delicious meal. The bicycles were also a plus, although staff said they are hardly ever used, I think because no one knows they exist.

The front rooms towards the road were noisy unfortunately with traffic from the local road.

A lot of potential I hope the family can develop in future years to demonstrate an excellent level of hotelery which Chile should be able to offer, especially with these rates.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

An amazing place. Like being an owner of a vineyard as you relax in this classic home turned boutique hotel. 20 foot ceilings. 10 foot doors. Beautiful courtyard and quaint pool. The vineyard is beautiful. The people friendly. Service great. Breakfast personally prepared just for you. Dinner out by the polo fields. I highly recommend Casa Silva.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vina Casa Silva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vina Casa Silva

Address: Hijuela Norte, PO Box 97, San Fernando, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > San Fernando
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Fernando
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Vina Casa Silva Hotel San Fernando
Vina Casa Silva Chile/San Fernando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vina Casa Silva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.