We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Life Manchester

Sea Life Manchester
Barton Square | The Trafford Centre, Trafford M17 8AS, England
0871 221 2483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 things to do in Trafford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SEA LIFE Manchester Aquarium transports you into the amazing underwater world. Prepare for astonishingly close views of everything from humble starfish and seahorses to graceful rays and powerful sharks. With an amazing ocean tunnel, 30 display tanks and more than 5,000 sea creatures the aquarium is the perfect stop for family fun! To get any closer you would have to get wet!
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of Money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

After paying nearly £70 to get in and queueing for 30 minutes, I was expecting much more. Its so small you can't even walk round especially not with a pushchair. We had walked round in less than 30 minutes and then we had to leave as there was nowhere to warm the babies bottle. Shocking waste of time and money. Blue Planet Aquarium at Ellesmere Port is much better with much better facilities.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALIFEManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Life Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are so sorry you were disappointed with your recent experience and will pass your comments on to our team so that improvements can be made.

If you would like to discuss your comments further please email us on the address listed.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    106
    136
    134
    125
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worse than poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Rip off from start to finish for £45 2 adults and a 4 year old "stay as long as you like" you cannot stretch it out for more than an hour, there is no cafe or seating to eat your picnic - it is poorly designed with narrow walkways clogged with pushchairs, how they justify £15 a head is a mystery, zoos charge less and have to feed carnivores etc whilst Sea life feed fish ???

Do yourself and the kids a favor wait for a nice day and go to the zoo its better value for at least half a day.

By far the most popular part of the attraction at sea life is the kids play area. Prepare to be amazed by stroking a crab -whoopy-doo and marvel at the turtle sand image, be prepared to be sold a crummy photo of yourself or you may prefer to sponsor a shark or a turtle or any manner of sea creature, I am sure they would have you sponsor a dust mite if they thought you would part with a few quid

I feel sorry for the fish as there is very very little natural environment in the displays i.e live plants and coral etc I am very surprised that local papers have not done a report on this attraction being the worst most expensive attraction in Manchester, greedy owners milking the public by exploiting animals - shame on you best thing is to boycott the place so that it closes perhaps the creatures can then have a good life somewhere else DO NOT VISIT THIS FISH DUNGEON

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALIFEManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Life Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi there,

We are sorry to hear your recent visit failed to meet expectations.

To discuss your comments further please email us directly on the address listed above.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked a sea trek for my daughters 18th birthday as a surprise which had to be cancelled the day before due to a maintenance problem. The staff handled the situation very well, especially Aaron who arranged a full refund and still allowed us access to the centre. 5 stars for customer service after what could have been a very disappointing situation. The centre is quite small and if you don't pre-book your tickets could be an expensive trip out.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALIFEManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Life Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us.

We will be passing on your excellent feedback to Aaron who will be delighted to hear how happy you were with his customer service.

We hope your daughter had a wonderful 18th Birthday and to see you in the centre again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not sure it would be worth the price if we hadn't used our merlin passes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Seeing all the different sea creatures was lovely but if we had payed the walk up price I would have been disappointed. The centre is much smaller than the London centre and the queue, had we not had passes, would have been frustrating. This is caused by them filtering visitors in so first they take your picture, then a small group goes on to have the Turtle talk. Now this is good but having it at the beginning means the queues waiting to get in are just silly. The rest of the centre is set out well and the exhibits very interesting, but the place was just heaving, add in many buggies and the place is ridiculous to move about. There is a play area about 3/4 of the way through with paid vending machines serving coffee, tea etc & snacks, which is a good idea. My children liked being able to touch the crabs etc. I think they need to look at their prices given the length of the whole exhibit, having said that if you book well enough in advance the price can be as little as £9.95 for an adult which is more value for money.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALIFEManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Life Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, we really value your comments and will be passing them on to our team so that the relevant factors can be revised.

Please remember that during peak times such as half term holidays or weekends the centre can often be busy so we recommend visiting during a quieter time of day later in the afternoon, after 3pm. Last entry to the centre is 6pm.

We are pleased your children enjoyed our Rockpool area and hope to see you in the centre again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Epencive , tiny and waste of an hour!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Following our visit today me ,my 3 yr old n my 55 yr old mum , we were left very dissapionted for nearly £40 we spent a total of an hour in there yet spent 45mins queing to get in ( rven though we were on the priority que n had prepaid for our tickets online) school groups were been ket in 1st even though they arrived after at least 5 diffrent familys (who were all still waitong to be served) nothing to eat or drink ie cafe just over price vending machines , and the exibits were very small ie sea jourse exibit was 3 little tanks with 5 sea horses in them and the touchy feely rock pool had a total of 4 crabs and the staff got one out every now n again in s tub to be poked alll in all we had more fun at the disney shop !!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALIFEManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Life Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review.

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your recent experience. We will pass your comments on to our team so that improvements can be made.

Unfortunately during peak times the centre can be busy. For a quieter visit we recommend visiting in the late afternoon or evenings.

If you would like to discuss your review further, please email us on the address listed.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Manchester also viewed

Trafford, Greater Manchester
 
Trafford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sea Life Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Life Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.