We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused voucher” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ashley Road | Hale, Trafford M17 8EQ, England
0161 747 2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 47 Restaurants in Trafford
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Keswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Refused voucher”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We traveled to the Trafford centre on 8 January we met up with our daughter and boyfriend as we were all going to Florida
We use pizza express a lot in newcastle Carlisle and Liverpool and have had great service
Both of us couples have a January buy one main meal get on free
Explained this to the waitress she said that was fine so we ordered wine and beers as this was the start of our holidays
2 mins later she came back and said we could not use both vouchers as we were one table
We offered to split up to two separate tables she said the manager would not allow it
We got up and left in disgust
We would have spent around £50.00 on drinks desert even with the vouchers
Can pizza express afford to lose this custom on a wet Wednesday afternoon at 3pm when the restaurant is not very busy

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    9
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to this restaurant for a late lunch/early dinner whilst shopping in the Trafford Centre around a week ago. I have been to a number of other Pizza Express restaurants and so thought I knew what to expect. We arrived at around 4pm and there were about 6-8 other tables occupied at the time. We ordered drinks and a garlic bread to start, along with pizzas for our main. The garlic bread arrived within around 15 mins of ordering. After finishing the starter however, we noticed it seemed to be taking a long time for our mains to arrive. We are both pretty mild-mannered and so carried on waiting. During this time 2 tables which had been seated after ours received their meals and finished eating them! No one approached our table with a reason for any delay and after an hour of waiting we asked for the bill. On noticing we had not had our mains the waiter asked if we were waiting for them - he then went to check and said they were in the oven. Massively disappointed that after an hour they still could not produce our food. We advised the waiter we could not wait any longer and he then went to speak to the manageress. After speaking with her and with no apology offered whatsoever, we were handed the bill for our drinks and garlic bread. Cannot say how disappointed with this I was - I have never experienced service like this and would be very reluctant to visit again which is a shame as I do enjoy the food there. Ended up going to Barburrito in the food quarter downstairs and had a meal within 5 minutes which tasted great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, little atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited for lunch with family including 4 children and a baby. After initial confusion, we were sat in a semi-private room towards the back of the restaurant near the toilets as the vast majority of their tables were set up for 4. No problem with this though (with 4 kids and a baby, it's actually helpful to be near the loo and changing facilities!).

Adults in the group ordered from a 3-course £13.75 deal (online voucher) which wasn't advertised in the restaurant, the kids ordered from the children's meal deal. I think the food would have been too expensive for what you got otherwise. The service was a little slow, speed good, food nice. There was a bit of a problem on payment when they couldn't get the voucher code we had to work on the till. My only real complaint would be that the music was constant and quite loud, making it difficult to hear others at the table.

Get there early as it gets busy, there was a queue outside when we left at 2.30pm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great service, food was ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Really great service when it was very busy. Pizzas were ok, expected them to be better. Were a bit cold when they arrived.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a voucher for a set menu for 13.75 (adults) and the food was lovely. great Pizza and the childrens Piccolo meals were lovely.

Our 2 year old just had a main but the lovely waiter brought here a pudding and the bambinocinno (warm milk) for free so she didnt miss out on what her brothers were having.

Lovely food, attentive staff and all in a lovely setting & atmosphere. - what more do you need.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Trafford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.