We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should give it a go but make sure you take the high fly for an extra £5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airkix Indoor Skydiving Manchester

Airkix Indoor Skydiving Manchester
9 Trafford Way, Trafford M41 7JA, England
0845 331 6549
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Trafford
Type: Sports Complexes, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're right next to the Chill Factore indoor ski slope, opposite the Trafford Centre, and less than 4 miles from the city centre. You really can fly, in a safe, fun way. Come along and find out for yourself.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You should give it a go but make sure you take the high fly for an extra £5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just come back from a very unique at Airkix Manchester. Our instructor Ben was superb, the experience was well organised and professional. The DVD package meant we had a picture and DVD to take home too. Give it a go ! Go high for a fiver !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    52
    22
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Can't wait to fly again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Took my daughter yesterday for our first skydive. We all loved it, they squealed with excitement, I just squealed. LoL
Hope to fly again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Watch the extras!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ok, the negative bits. You book online and tick the DVD. Problem, you cannot select the number of DVD's. They are exactly the same, yet as a couple/family you only really want one, this needs changing, as they are not cheap. Likewise the pictures, the "extra's, the £1 for the locker, the £5 for the "high fly" and the extra fly for £11 for one minute extra go, so be prepared/warned.

The good bits, it was a lot of fun, but as most say, you only have two 1 minute goes if booking a taster session and some "professional" seems to have a practice during your session, taking up quite a bit of the groups alloted time. Check in was easy, Chris the instructor was pleasant and patient, and very helpful.

Worth at least one visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton , England
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Experience & Professionally Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked this on line for my partner as one of her birthday prezzies. On arrival they had all our details and "checking in" was seamless. There's a great viewing area and cafe for those not taking part. My partner was given some brief training and kitted out in flying suit, helmet and goggles. She thoroughly enjoyed the unique experience and was given a certificate after her two flights.
It's not cheap - i book a deal direct at £30 for two 1 minute flights mid-week in the morning and also paid the extra £5 for the instructor to fly you to the top of the tunnel which she said was well worth it.
Obviously this isn't cheap and varying prices are available depending on when / whom you book with however this is a unique and safe way to experience sky diving. Give it a go - you only live once!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On the face of it you are never going to truly simulate a freefall experience but this does give you a feel of what it may be like with regards the wind rushing past at around 100mph. As we were first time here we had 2 x 1 minute spells in the tunnel for around £40 each. It sounds expensive but apart from doing the real thing by jumping out of a plane, at much greater expense, it is about as close as you're going to get.

The instructional presentation is as much about 'hard sell' as instruction but is useful. When in the tunnel we felt in no danger whatsoever and the instructor is constantly there to assist you as required.

Friends/family can watch and laugh at you for free from the viewing area though the thickness of the perspex doesn't make for good quality photos/videos.

Well worth ago as something different and you get a certificate!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airkix Indoor Skydiving Manchester also viewed

Trafford, Greater Manchester
Trafford, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Airkix Indoor Skydiving Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airkix Indoor Skydiving Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.