We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Trafford Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Old Trafford Lodge to your Saves list
Old Trafford Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   LCCC Talbot Road | (at Lancashire County Cricket Club), Trafford M16 0PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Trafford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband booked this fir a surprise night away, not knowing there was a match on.
Neither of us are cricket fans, but when we walled into our room, and see our balcony overlooking the pitch, we were hooked!
The room was clean and well equipped.
We had tea and coffee making facilities together with packs of biscuits.
The room doesn't have air con, but we'd been warned so brought a fan.
We slept well in the confidante double bed.
Breakfast was lovely. A help yourself continent buffet with bread rolls, cheeses, meats, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts together with juices and tea and coffee.
It was replenished frequently and we really enjoyed it.
We will definately be back again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    167
    71
    19
    6
See reviews for
46
167
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is situated within the grounds of Old Trafford cricket ground. Great if you are there for the cricket but for other purposes probably not. As other reviewers have said the rooms are quite small and are relatively basic. But if you were attending the cricket, as we were, then location is its main attraction. Breakfast is a low key affair, just continental with nothing cooked. Check in was very good with bags stored whilst room was prepared so we could watch the game and complete check in at our leisure. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Beds were rather hard and price of stay relatively high because of its location.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pitch are great but at a cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just an overnight stay to watch the t20, warm and friendly welcome from Reception and given room key even though we arrived way before 3pm, so pleased with the rooms view, it was a Birthday treat, Room basic but spotless and with the view would highly recommend

Room Tip: Room 23 great view of the ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife won a weekend stay at the Old Trafford Lodge and we chose to stay the weekend Lancashire played Yorkshire.
Check in was excellent with the helpful and friendly Reception staff. We were given Room 24 which had a great view of the pitch. First impressions of the room were that it was in need of refurbishing (carpet and bedspread a bit faded, marks on walls and headboard) but having said that the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. For anyone wanting to stay at the ground and watch the cricket (6 chairs on each balcony!) then we felt it provided good value for money (even if we had paid for our stay!).
The hotel staff were among the best we have encountered in many hotels - nothing was ever too much trouble, whether it was at Reception, in the restaurant (breakfast room) or the cleaners who did a very good job.
Breakfast was continental style with a good range of cereals, juices, fruit, breads, croissants etc. the staff in the restaurant kept everything topped up and tables were quickly cleared. At night, it is possible to order in a take-away (menus available near Reception) and eat it in the restaurant (plates and cutlery available). We did not do this but after the cricket finished on our last night, we ordered a pizza which the hotel cooked on the premises and we were pleasantly surprised at how good it was!
The bar was reasonably well stocked and prices were not excessive; Amstel lager is £3.90 and wines are £4 for a small bottle (large bottles and ice buckets are also available). The bar stays open until 1.30 AM if you need it.
Overall we really enjoyed our free stay but would have been perfectly happy paying the normal rate for what we received. The good points were the excellent service from all the staff, the comfortable bed, the excellent shower and the pitch view (Exec rooms only). The only slight negative was the faded decor of our room but this did not spoil our stay and we will certainly return again to enjoy a Lancashire game at the Lodge.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms give great views of the cricket and also complimentary access to the ground for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I would suggest this hotel is great if you're there for the cricket, however if you're there for business then don't, just don't.

The adjoining venue is stunning, and great for events, but this hotel really lets it down.

The rooms are tiny, but have a stunning view of the pitch and a balcony, which was the saving grace (if I had been car park side, I would have felt differently I'm sure).

The room itself looked OK, fairly modern, but the headboard faux leather had a big patch ripped out of it.

The bathroom looked like it had been decorated in 1989, an electric power shower (can they not sort the plumbing out one wonders?), and a yellowing heated towel rail. Shower stall, no bath, and grotty, damp stained polystyrene ceiling tiles.

But, the very worst thing that happened, the thing that made me retch, was when I woke up the first morning, I found a used plaster in my bed - which was not mine.

The hotel was full (as verified by one of my colleagues for whom they had forgotten his reservation), so I considered there to be little point in complaining. Not sure what they could have done at this stage anyway, other than apologise. Considering how nice the staff were, I am sure they would have been horrified.

And I have to say, considering how shabby it was, it was spotlessly clean - the cleaners obviously work hard and am guessing the plaster visitor was an anomaly.

The breakfast was also strange, doughnuts, muffins, toast, spreads and cereal, OK, maybe not strange but unsatisfying. But, given the price of the hotel, reasonable.

One final thing....paid with Amex, but couldn't put a reserve amount against it for charging food and drink...most odd.

So, whoever owns this hotel - INVEST! You have an amazing opportunity for corporate events, given the venue next door, but this hotel does NOT live up to the same standards. If we ever ran an event here again, I would recommend the Premier Inn next to the "Other" Old Trafford Stadium.

Room Tip: Ask for pitch side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stay here at least 3-4 times a year to watch either Lancashire or England play. We absolutely love being able to watch the game with complete convenience. We have always found the staff to be very helpful, the rooms always clean and breakfast more than satisfactory for continental affair. I would say on our recent stay that the balconies are in need of a paint job, as the rusted roofs take away from the feeling of comfort. I would also recommend the hotel install soft close/quiet close door linings or mechanisms as the closing of the doors is impossible to do quietly which results in a bad nights sleep by fellow guests coming and going at all hours. Especially not good when we have the children stay with us!!! I would also note that the room size is average, but when the sofa bed is in use for the children, the room is smaller than on a cruise ship cabin. However, as the children are free, this is not something that would deter us. Unfortunately on this occasion we were very disappointed at not being able to utilise the main car park due to a hospitality event being held at the venue. The fact that we were made to feel like second class citizens having to park a 10 minute walk away from the hotel was only fuelled further to see that there was in fact plenty of empty car parking spaces in the main car park all evening regardless of the hospitality event. We are due to stay again next month for two nights during the England test, hopefully some of these issues which are showing standards slipping are resolved by then.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here through business for two nights booked by my employer so I had no input on location or room type.

I had a Standard room over looking the car park, to say the accommodation is compact is somewhat generous by any standards. The bathroom contains no bath but a corner shower cubicle to which the riser rail contained a screw to prevent the shower head being high enough for anyone around 6ft tall. Toiletries are fixed to the wall and the bath towels are no bigger than hand towels. I've seen bigger wardrobes in touring caravans but luckily I didn't have more than three things to hang up otherwise I would have struggled for space.

The free wifi seemed to take ages to connect, there's no aircon, and no fans provided in the rooms so it was quite, almost too warm and stuffy during the night.

No food in the "bar" except Chicago Town Pizza's so either use a take away service (Indian and Chinese menus are provided at reception), or walk 5 minutes to the nearest Weatherspoons for an equally cheap and cheerful meal.

Continental breakfast consisted of juices, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, meats and cheese which was fine by me, so I was not tempted by a full English whilst away from home.

The location is excellent for watching a cricket or football match, and close by to Old Trafford Metrolink but I cannot see why anyone would want to stay here out of choice for any other reason, especially if they've been here before.

The agreed business rate was £55 a night, which must be one of the cheapest places around, so I suppose like most things in life, you get what you (or your employer) pays for.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Trafford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Trafford Lodge

Address: LCCC Talbot Road | (at Lancashire County Cricket Club), Trafford M16 0PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Trafford Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trafford Lodge in ideally located in the Lancashire County Cricket Club, with the Metro link providing easy access to the City centre and the Salford Quays. With 36 Executive bedrooms overlooking the famous Old Trafford pitch, where else can you relax on your own balcony at the end of your working day and enjoy the unique experience of watching County Cricket from your bedroom window? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Old Trafford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Trafford Hotel Trafford
Old Hotel Trafford
Old Trafford Lodge Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Trafford Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.