We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Manchester United” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Trafford Lodge

Save Saved
You added Old Trafford Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Trafford Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   LCCC Talbot Road | (at Lancashire County Cricket Club), Trafford M16 0PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Trafford
Northampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Manchester United”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

My hubby, myself and kids stayed here so that we could do the tour of Old Trafford. Our rooms were good with balconies overlooking the cricket pitch, Bar on site open till 1.30 am. No restaurant but we had a curry delivered and sat in the bar and ate. Hotel provided our plates and cutlery and helped us clear up our rubbish. Free coffee and tea in the bar. Even capuccino. Free continental breakfast (we didnt experience this, had a lie in instead). Free parking. Nice friendly place. Only downside was other people being noisy in corridors. But thats the same where ever you go. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — nice rooms with views
  • Disliked — other people being noisy
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    135
    52
    17
    5
See reviews for
37
135
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loobylou86
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We went to manchester on a short shopping break and chose this place from recommendation. It is only about a mile or so from the city centre and about a 10 minute walk away from Old Trafford - which was great for us being manchester united fans! The hotel itself was clean and the rooms were situated over Lancashire County Cricket Ground, great if you're a cricket fan! The bed was really comfy and the bathroom even had surround sound in it! We chose to spend our evening in the hotel bar which we thought was excellent, it had a chilled out atmosphere and was relatively quiet (a godsend when you've been shopping at the trafford centre all day!) and the bar was well stocked...which made up for them not serving evening meals as there were planty of sandwiches, pasties and other snacks. Breakfast was continental, having croissants and danish pastries aswell as toast, cereals, fruit, deli meats and cheese. Staff were friendly and we didnt encounter any problems while we were there. We have been there since our first stay and are going away again this year to watch the cricket.

  • Liked — The hotel bar and the balcony overlooking the cricket pitch
  • Disliked — A nearby train which goes past the hotel frequently
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This is THE place to stay if you are going to Manchester to see Manchester United play at Old Trafford. The accomodations are great and the staff is friendly and helpful. The executive rooms give you a view of the Cricket Grounds for only $10 a night more. Well worth the extra cost.

The price per night is excellent, even coming from the U.S. with the devalued U.S. dollar. There is no hair dryer provided and the washrooms have only soap, no shampoo or , so come prepared. Otherwise, for about $8.00 U.S. you can purchase a "toiletry package" from the Lodge.

There is easy access to Metro Link (light rail) which will get you into Manchester City Centre in about 10 minutes. This is a good thing since there are very few places to eat or shop nearby. On the otherhand Old Trafford Pub is nearby and is a great place to hang out if you are a Manchester United Fan. Don't go in there if you root for any other EPL Team.

The down side to the Old Trafford Lodge is that it isn't close to City Centre and one need not stray far from the hotel before one gets the sense that it isn't exactly the best part of town to be walking in. If one has a car and is planning to drive (which is doable in Manchester) then it isn't such a big deal.

If you are coming to Manchester, love football or cricket, you have to stay at Old Traffor Lodge.

  • Liked — proximity to Old Trafford Stadium
  • Disliked — Distance from Manchester City Centre and nightlife
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed here for one night before going to an event at the Man United ground. On the drive up there we were having second thoughts about the hotel, didn't think it would be that great but we were wrong. The hotel was easy to find and had plenty of free parking.
Arrived mid-evening and checked in quickly and got directed to the room. All the decor was modern and everywhere was very clean. The room had a flat screen tele, tea-coffee making facilities and biscuits plus hairdryer, phone, free wifi (although we didn't use it) shower that didn't leak (a rarity sometimes in hotels) towel warmer with a switch next to the bed and speakers in the bathroom so you could hear the tele. It had much more character than a travelodge/holiday inn type place.
There was some noise during the night, but I think that was more the fault of the big family/crying kid next door than the hotel. The hotel serves continental breakfast with creals/fruit/breads/yoghurts/drinks but no hot food. There was a good spread though but don't expect any food/room service at night, apart from a bar. However, there's a shopping mall just down the road if you want a supermarket or takeaways/restaurants nearby. I think there were a load of takeaway menus in the hotel lobby too.
There's a metro station or something similar by the hotel for people who want to go into the city centre, but we chose the hotel because of its proximity to the footie ground, which was only 5 mins drive away.
For how much we paid (£40-something) we were very impressed with the hotel.

  • Liked — Easy to find, very clean.
  • Disliked — Nothing really, it's not very central for the city but that wasn't waht we were looking for when we booked.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

This hotel was brilliant. I went up to see the Utd vs Liverpool match over easter so stayed for the 3 nights. Was a very pleasent stay. Comfortable, clean, friendly, great location cant really fault. i would give it 10/10. If your going to Manchester to see the football and want a hotel, i wouldn't hesitate in staying here. Book it now!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no bacon for breakfast!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Stayed here in March 2007,staff were extremely helpful and friendly.The price was cheap in comparison with other hotels in Manchester.
It's a good central locoation.
The breakfast which is included was very good ,plenty to eat.
After travelling all round Europe and staying in many different types of accomadation ,this hotel holds its own

  • Liked — Decent ,clean.safe ,friendly and affordable
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

I arrived early hours of the morning and was greeted by very helpful staff. The room was nice a bit masculine dark and impersonal and stark, private balcony with table and seating overlooking the cricket ground. It had a large flat screen TV with two temperamental remote controls and it only had a shower and after a busy night working all I wanted was a long soak.

Would recommend as it is near local amenities but if not for the comfort seeker.

Note: Continental breakfast is included (no hot full English)

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Trafford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Trafford Lodge

Address: LCCC Talbot Road | (at Lancashire County Cricket Club), Trafford M16 0PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Trafford Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trafford Lodge in ideally located in the Lancashire County Cricket Club, with the Metro link providing easy access to the City centre and the Salford Quays. With 36 Executive bedrooms overlooking the famous Old Trafford pitch, where else can you relax on your own balcony at the end of your working day and enjoy the unique experience of watching County Cricket from your bedroom window? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Old Trafford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Trafford Hotel Trafford
Old Hotel Trafford
Old Trafford Lodge Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Trafford Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.