We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Alex Ferguson Way | Water's Reach, Trafford Park, Trafford M17 1WS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Trafford
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not as good this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After many fantastic stays at this hotel, we didnt enjoy this stay as much. We arrived late and were eventually checked in to room 502. The receptionist was having trouble finding 3.50 change from our payment for breakfast. The room was on floor to right at the end of the extension right next to a noisy main road (luckily i had my earplugs), We were woke early next morn by cleaners trolleys in the corridor. The room itself was ok, bathroom was strange, it seemed to be half refurnished sink and toilet area nice and modern but bath and shower out of dark ages. Breakfast was nice but a lot of things empty, orange juice, milk cocopops etc. And just after we got our hot food it was cleared away and other guests after us had to order what they wanted. I usually love this hotel and will be staying later this year again I just hope it will be up to its pass standard next time,

Room Tip: don't have a room in extention room 501-02
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel A, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear susan t

I am disapointed to hear that your recent experience was not in keeping with the usual standard of service we pride ourselves on here at Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been investigated and addressed to prevent this happening again.

I look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind regards

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    258
    67
    13
    12
See reviews for
346
285
45
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Was very convenient to site of Manchester United. Provided good breakfast, though not informed of necessity to book for dinner. Clean rooms, could have provided more tea and coffee and did not have hot chocolate.

Room Tip: Choose one with view you prefer-docks or football ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel A, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Andrew H

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Manchester Old Trafford.

I am sorry to hear that you were not advised to book dinner on arrival and that you did not have ample refreshments in your room.
For future stays additional tea and coffee is available from reception on request.
Unfortunately Hot Chocolate is not an item that Premier Inn provide in bedrooms however we do offer Costa Hot Chocolate from our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford

Kind regards

Rachel A
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Unlike most people who stayed here- I wasn't actually here for the football (although the conference I was attending was being held at the stadium). I found the hotel to be clean with a good sized room and a reasonable bathroom. Shower gel was provided in a dispenser which leaked over the bath- not the most appealling sight but I'd brought my own anyway. My only real complaint was that when I arrived the heating was on full blast, meaning that I spent the first night with the window wide open (not something I usually do in November!).

Wifi provided at a very reasonable rate, and good connection speed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Came down for the Man Utd v Liverpool game and was impressed with the location. Literally across the road from the stadium. I was greeted at the door by security staff who welcomed me in, the lady at reception apologised for the delay before checking me in as there was a large queue which I expected considering it was a match day. The room was clean, well furnished, comfy beds and pillows. The drinks at the bar are reasonably priced, the bar staff were friendly and polite although I didn't understand why they were serving plastic cups but giving out glass bottles? The decor of the hotel was fantastic. I asked one of the security staff as he came into the bar where would be a good place to go out after the match. He advised me that I should come back to the hotel and stay here for an hour before going out due to the traffic. Just as he said, traffic was manic after the game, the taxi marshal outside couldn't get taxis so ended up in the bar. Breakfast in the morning was as excellent, gorgeous breakfast buffet which was adequately priced and good value for money. Breakfast is not including in the booking.

I know the staff get a lot of stick on match days so it's fair to say that they do a brilliant job, especially the bar staff and the security staff who were helpful, polite and always smiling.

All in all, a great hotel, great staff but will cost you an arm and a leg for a room on a match day.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited the Premier Inn 25th and 26th January. As a treat we took the two of our Grandchildren age 6 and 10 to watch Manchester United and you could see the stadium from the Hotel, for what we wanted it was very convenient.

The room was ready for us when we arrived and they had added the single beds and made them up. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. I went to Reception and asked if we could have more milk and they gave me a bag full. Couldn't do enough for us.

We paid for breakfast for the two nights, the children eat free and it was a buffet. Superb food and something for every taste.

We also eat there one evening and have to say, the food again was excellent and the staff were charming. We sat in the bar a few times and probably the only negative thing I have to say is that there could be a bit more seating.

All in all, we will definately go back again and highly recommend this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: We were high up and heard no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

3 night weekend break, February, with good location and easy to find.
As with most of the other reviews, Premier Inn have at least looked after this location well.
ALL the staff were very welcoming and friendly.
We ate in the adjacent restaurant and again the Staff were very attentive and friendly.
The Steaks were very good and cooked as requested.
We did not have the breakfasts as do not consider these to be that good a value.
The hotel was not full and there was no football match at Man U that weekend, so relatively
quiet.
The room was of a good size, clean and tidy, everything worked and the heating was also
very good.
The only negaitive which cost 1 Star - Just outside besides the enterance, SMOKERS will congregate and leave their cigarette droppings and other litter besides the front door.....
Either put some bins there or clean up more regularly....

Room Tip: Have disabled rooms on the ground floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for a two night break, first night very good with nice double room, quiet and good nights sleep. Second night had excessive noise fron adjoining rooms, bad language and beer bottles left in corridoor and lift. Complained to receponist and was told two large partys booked in at hotel, had to pack belongings at 10.30 pm and move to room on higher floor. Room was a family room with heating turned off (temperatures outside down to freezing point), smelt of damp and coving showed signs of water damage, felt penalised for other peoples behaviour and ruined break. Complained on checkout and was refunded for second night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We take all feedback seriously and would like the opportunity to investigate further. Please email your details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford

Address: Sir Alex Ferguson Way | Water's Reach, Trafford Park, Trafford M17 1WS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel Trafford
Manchester Premier Inn
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.