We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel Huntly

Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel Huntly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hotel Huntly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Huntly
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff and the owners have a fantastic sense of humour. Myself and my wife came to Huntly for a 50th party and by pure luck managed to get a room at the hotel - and what a room. Large double bedroom, lounge and large bathroom. We had dinner on our first night at the hotel and the food was excellent. Thoroughly recommend and will return as soon as we can

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    34
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
62
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Though they seemed a little short-handed that day they handled my mothers 90th Birthday lunch well - food very good and service prompt without being hurried. I'd like to return and have a less busy lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A great hotle in a great location with some great views with helpful and friendly staff such a pity that the food that we were served was well below expectations. Had I not been in a big party and not wanting to embarras our host I and a couple of others would have returned our food to the kitchen. In an hotel like this one expects the chef to know how to cook a steak ours were meant to be blue (very rare) and the others medium rare, Suffice it to say there was not a hint of pink in any of them. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

my wife and myself booked for an evening meal,from the offset we were made to feel unwelcome and uncomfortable the host did his best to humiliate the both of us with derogatory comments and under the breath put downs ,clearly only a certain class of diner are made welcome , so if you wish to dine at this establishment we hope you meet with their acceptable class standards

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous lunch to celebrate son's birthday. The Castle Hotel is one of our favourite places to eat. I only wish we lived far enough away to justify staying there too.
Beautiful surroundings, excellent food and friendly people, what more could you ask?

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Imagine being part of a country house weekend party and you're someway towards the feeling that the Castle Hotel creates for their guests. The staff ( without exception from chambermaid to barman, to reception) engaged with us, made us feel welcome and helped create a homely relaxed atmosphere. The owners "walked the floor" each evening again adding to the feel of being part of a family house party. Well done to all.
The food in the bar was good, the restaurant coped with large numbers adequately, and the choice of whiskies was tremendous.
The accommodation was fabulous. A suite room so often mean just a sofa in your room, not at the Castle. Ours had a large bedroom, separate sitting room with 3 piece suite, and a huge bathroom, our own little flat. Spend the money and treat yourself.
I left feeling very well satisfied, all through they could not have done more to make us feel welcome and worked hard at service, something that in the UK is missing in many establishments, but not here. There was not one item I could have asked for better.
I will visit again, and gladly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

One night business trip. Excellent old fashioned place with excellent rooms and service. It was snowing whilst I was there so not much opportunity to venture around the huge grounds. Two minor complaints - no shower in my room (fancy bath though) and really need to be more efficient with breakfast as most of the guests like me were needing to get off to work sharp in the morning. I'll be back soon hopefully.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel Huntly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.