We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Highland Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel Huntly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Hotel Huntly to your Saves list
Castle Hotel Huntly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huntly
Oundle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real Highland Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Castle when we attended a wedding in nearby Keith. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked an extra night. I can't really put my finger on why we loved it so much but it just felt right. The décor is lovely & perfect for the property & location. The staff are really first class, very very friendly which we didn't expect when we arrived as these country pile hotels can be a bit snooty. We were allowed to wash our mountain bikes in the yard & keep them in a garage overnight.
The town of Huntly is very peaceful & we found a great little bike ride out (Battlefield Hill).
The food in the hotel was very good & you could mix & match menus, we eat in the Dining room & it was quiet on a Sunday night but felt magical.
OK in our rooms (21 & 22) we had to let the hot water run for ages to come through but this was just idiosyncratic& not a problem The fact that we were up a tower & had a door that could close our two rooms off more than compensated for the minor nuisance.
It really was a fantastic stay & as we travel extensively (my wife is a senior travel industry exec) we get to see some places & this was very good.

Room Tip: If you have an older child or two combine 21 & 22 for a great private secure stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
75
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed in what was described as a delux room. We would have described it as a cupboard. Arrived with friends who stayed in the room next door and their bathroom was larger than our room. Our bathroom could only be described as a broom cupboard. In order to see yourself in the mirror above the sink you had to bend down and the lighting was very poor, not good for my wife who was trying to put on her make up for a wedding. As for the room, there was one mirror wardrobe, which was too far away from the electric sockets so made it impossible for my wife to see what she was doing when drying her hair.hair. There was a table with the TV on it so I would suggest a mirror could be placed there to enable my wife to dry her hair. Room also very cold, radiator didnot work but there was an electic heater which helped a bit.

The breakfast was a buffet. Rather limited and no choice of eggs. Certainly not 4 star. On arrival at breakfast the orange juice had nearly ran out. On asking a member of staff if I could have more orange juice, she replied that I would have to finish what was in the jug before she would refill it. There was only a mouthful. Her manner was not friendly and she made it feel like it was a bother to refill the jug.

On a positve the male at reception was very friendly on arrival. Unlike the girl on reception when we checked out. Never even asked if we had enjoyed our stay.

All in all the Castle hotel has potential but dosn't meet the mark of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

No standard rooms left so stayed in a suite Only £20 more per night but well worth it. Room 20 superb views over the Aberdeenshire countryside. Great service, great food and a lovely bar shame about the manager(only joking!!)- introduced to a new gin. Felt like a home from home. Breakfast is great when the hotel is less busy as it is served at the table, when it is busy it is not quite as good but if you only stayed one night it would be great. My only complaint French lager???

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I normally stay in very polished hotels so it was a delight to stay here. Very twee decor but by far one of the best nights sleep on my trip. Reception were great, beautiful setting, great breakfast and lovely and warm. I wish I could go back

Room Tip: If you have s lot of luggage don't get a room beyond the first floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped in for lunch this week - lovely location and made to feel extremely welcome.

Service was good and hotel has great character - will want to go back again and spend a night in this perfect location.

Staff very well organised and efficient as well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you want a power shower, air-conditioning and uniform rooms, you should look elsewhere. But we loved this hotel. It’s beautifully decorated - in a smart, Scottish style –, has a lovely homely feel and we were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. The hotel is situated in a peaceful location; it is approached via a long private drive and set in extensive park-like grounds, which were perfect for post-breakfast strolls. Breakfasts were very good and we had one evening meal at the hotel which was excellent. There was also a great atmosphere in the bar. Overall, we would thoroughly recommended The Castle Hotel for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I wish I could have stayed here longer than one evening -- I had an early morning plane to catch at Aberdeen airport. The atmosphere is marvelous and the bar is a place where you want to sit and dream of writing the great American novel. The staff was so friendly -- they saw how tired I was and took me up to my room, brought me dinner on a tray, and never asked for my credit card. Wow! (I did pay, however!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel Huntly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.