We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More castle than ruin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huntly Castle

Huntly Castle
Huntly B54 4SH, Scotland
01466 793191
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Huntly
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“More castle than ruin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you are passing through Huntly I recommend a stop. The village lies along major bus and train routes between Inverness and Aberdeen, so the castle is readily accessible after about a 10 minute walk from the bus stop and 15/20 minutes from the train station.

Historic Scotland operates the site - so there is historical information about, as well as toilets and a gift shop. Historic scotland members/pass holders get in free.

This castle is different from others I've visited in Scotland (and I've seen a lot) because of the details of the masonry and architecture that remain, which make it quite interesting. As ruins go, the part of the castle that remains is quite complete and there are 4-5 floors to explore. Not the best views of the countryside or landscape as others I have visited, so that is not necessarily a reason to go. It seems like this is a quiet stop with just a handful of visitors coming through at a time so it is very peaceful. The docents were very friendly and helpful, and also pointed out some places to eat in town, which was helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unique castle; really nice docent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived here in the rain at around 16:30. The castle nominally closes at 17:00 but the docent said that she'd be around until about 17:30 so we could stay that late. We really appreciated that. This castle has unique carved facades that still retain a lot of detail after 400 years. A lot of these were created when the castle was refurbished in the 1600s ("refurbish" and "1600s" are two thoughts you just don't often pair together). Get the Historic Scotland Explorer Pass and see both Kildrummy and Huntly castles in the same day for free. It would have been great to spend more time here, especially on a drier day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great castle, lots to see. Took my 4 year old, he especially liked venturing down to the basement to see the prisoners! Worth the admission fee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Treated to Highland Dancers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a treat! When we visited the ruins of Huntly Castle, there was a showcase of Highland Dancing. It was great to watch the children dance and nice to see that the youth are still upholding the culture for future generations. The castle has some very beautiful carvings. It was easy to imagine how beautiful it was when in use.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle, more than one would expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The castle itself is very nice from the outside. The interior has 2 beautiful fireplaces and more to see inside than I first expected it would. Good to see, not worth going out of your way to see and a little pricey if I am honest (no student discount I am afraid) but climbing to the top will give you a nice view!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntly Castle also viewed

Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Ellon, Aberdeenshire
 
Fyvie, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Huntly Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntly Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.