We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place with fantastic views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apricot Garden Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apricot Garden Guesthouse to your Saves list
Apricot Garden Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sweet Waters Road No. 19, Gordon's Bay 7151, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous place with fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights and were looked after very well indeed by Marianne and Alex.Apricot Gardens is in a lovely quiet spot with a panoramic view of False Bay and sunset over Cape Point. Don't hesitate--get it booked!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Apricot gardens is a place to put on your list. A very rustic and lovely place at Gordon’s Bay. Very well situated near CapeTown International airport and near downtown CapeTown, but far enough to escape the city hustle and bustle. The beaches at Gordon’s Bay are not that interesting, but you don’t have to go there. You don’t want to leave the pool at Apricot Gardens. The views from the pool and the terrace are breathtaking. Just sit there and enjoy the day passing by.
The rooms are superb, clean and well decorated. The only think is that there is no air-conditioning in the room and the fan is a bit squeaky now and then. If you turn this off, it gets a bit warm during nights in the room with the fluffy duvet. But if that is all we can come up with as criticism ...you can say that this is a place where there is nothing to complaint!
The hospitality of the Swiss owners is awesome. Breakfast is superb (Must have: scrambled eggs!) And you should ask Alex and Marianne to cook you dinner! These two know how to make you feel at home. And at t the same time they give you all the privacy you want ....something not all B&B owners know how to do.
We ended our South Africa trip at this place. We cannot have had a better place to end our trip!
Marianne and Alex, thanks for the lovely days we spend at your B&B. Like we said, and we still intent doing that, we are coming back and explore surroundings a bit more. Maybe add some golf next time!

Joop & Annet

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Calm area with a wonderful view. Clean rooms tastefully furnished. We estimated the pick-up service at the aerport with the rental car!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The previous reviews have said it all. Apricot Gardens should be a must on everybody's itinerary if they travel along the Garden Route. A very big thank you to Marianne and Alex for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Apricot Garden is a real find. Alex and Marianne are friendly hospitable hosts who always have time to talk to their guests and do their best to make everything as perfect as possible. The location is truly beautiful situated on the mountain side overlooking False Bay all the way from Table Mountain to the Cape of Good Hope. Alex's evening meals are delicious. He uses only the best ingredients, most of which are sourced locally and cooked with a special 'Alex' twist. The two dogs, Cherva and Venice are very friendly and enjoy a walk or a run up the mountain with you if you feel so inclined. The beaches at Gordons Bay and the much larger one at Strand are also wonderful for walking or just sunbathing. Don't miss the wineries at Elgin valley and Stellenbosch including the very good picnic in the grounds of Vergelegen winery in Somerset West.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We spent two nights here and would love to have stayed much longer. The views of the mountains and sea are spectacular, particularly at sunset. The room was very clean and spacious and the breakfast area, verandah and pool area all beautiful. It is a place to go and relax - so quiet! Alex and Marianne were wonderful hosts and the way they obviously feel about the place is very infectious. We felt very spoilt each morning with freshly baked bread for breakfast. As we were only staying a short time we did not hire a car and used taxis to get around - we would certainly hire a car another time, especially as there is so much to explore in the area.
Hope to be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I enjoyed an excellent time during my 5 week s vacation at Apricot Gardens Guesthouse.
The host familie did a great job to make my life as comfortable and relaxing as I dreamed of.
In 2 week I'll be back for an other Month: What a great outlook for me!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apricot Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apricot Garden Guesthouse

Address: Sweet Waters Road No. 19, Gordon's Bay 7151, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apricot Garden Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY Apricot Gardens Guesthouse with its outstanding panoramic view all over False Bay, to Table Mountain and Helderberg. Come and relax in an absolutely quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apricot Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apricot Garden Guesthouse South Africa/Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apricot Garden Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.