We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel

Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gordon's Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel
Save
You added Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Breakwater Lane, Helderberg, 7150 | Harbour Island,, Gordon's Bay 7150, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gordon's Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited the hotel twice. Both times enjoyed our stay. Stayed at the one bedroom suite. It was comfortable, nice and clean and it was leading to the terrace and the pool. The view was beautiful. The place is strategically positioned so that you're close to Cape Town and Stellenbosch. Would visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for 1 night only as my husband and I had a function in the area and did not want to drive home late. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no one to greet us, it was only 18h00. The receptionist was not very interested in helping us, and gave us our room key card. She did not bother to give us our room number. So, we asked her this and how to get to our room. She very half heartedly showed us to go up the lift to the 3rd floor. There was no one to help us carry our bags and considering we had a baby and it was raining, this was a task in itself. Once in the room, we noticed that it was not a smaoking room which we had requetsed. So, we phoned the receptionist, she told us to "just smoke" in the room, when we pointed out that there was not a single window that opened in the room, she again said "just smoke". We requested a new room with a window and she said the hotel was full. The room is old, and is in despertae need of a upgrade. Breakfast was also very below standard. Food was bland and very oily. Again with checking out, we got the impression of interupting the receptionist and once again, no assistance with luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of a refurb. My Partner and I happened on the hotel, needing one night in Gordons Bay. From outside it looked OK. Once we booked in though we were upgraded to a suite for the price of a standard room, which made us stay. Where do I begin...the place was empty- we felt alone in the hotel. Everywhere was shabby. Corridors grubby, graffiti scratching in the lift. Our room's carpet had stains, the upper door to the balcony was broken so it was wedged closed (security!), the room safe didn't work, the shower door was falling off its hinges, the loo seat was broken, the basin plug didnt work....the lobby tiles were lifting, the staff were surly and depressed. Nobody at the pool as you had to get a card to get access. We ran out of it ASAP next day and will not be back! This is a hotel on a fast track to closure.

Room Tip: Take a room anywhere else but this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012


Dont be fooled by the 4 star rating. This hotel must have been acredited in the mid 1990's. I have never been so appalled by such occomidation. Fortunately it was a business trip where we had a conference so it wasn't my money wasted.
Without dramatizing or going into too much detail, there were 3 things that I will remember this hotel for:

1) the carpets in my room have dark red stains all over it. It honestly looked like someone bled in the room/ was badly hurt or was murdered - Horriffic

2) To compound this the room smelt of wet dog (if you know what this smells like you will know it's not that pleasant, especially when you trying to fall asleep.

3) the aircomnditioning did not work and it was exceptionally hot.

Unfortunately it was a very unpleasant experience from service to the rooms to the food.

I'd recommend not even considering this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE TOWN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We (I, hubby & 2 daughters) went to Villa Via for a weekend away. We booked a double room (2 huge rooms with full bathrooms), self catering....the rate per night was R1700. The room was clean.

However the service was extreamy poor starting from check-in. We were not assisted to unload our lagguage from an under ground dark parking. The food for dinner was unpleasent & the service was extreamly sub-standard. The breakfast was the same. We were so disapppointed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. My advice is, rather stay home than coming to Villa Via!









  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

suite with beautiful views over the harbour, well appointed and comfortable. Very good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

The hotel rooms are very spacious and clean. The facilities are good at the hotel. Our rate came with breakfast which was good. Had a dinner in the hotel which was not very good, but along the parade (just outside the back of the hotel) there is a restaurant which serves excellent food. The service was good and they were very attentive - I did not score excellent as you had to ask more than once for something sometimes, Overall it was a great experience and I would definately recommend it and return again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel

Address: Breakwater Lane, Helderberg, 7150 | Harbour Island,, Gordon's Bay 7150, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Hotel Via Gordons Bay
Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel South Africa/Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Via Gordon's Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.