We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berg en Zee Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Berg en Zee Guest House to your Saves list
Berg en Zee Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   135 Beach Rd, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Even better views!
Ranked #1 of 26 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Wonderful place, great service, fantastic location to explore Cape region. Gordon's Bay is a lovely spot, to stay, good choice, especially Berg en Zee! Jackie and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Jackie was so helpful in her recommendations prior to our trip via email, and then during our stay as well, and she assisted with directions for our day trips too. Thanks for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
59
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Me and wife stays for 3 nights. The room is clean and well maintain. Location are good, the owner Jacky is very helpful and she provided good recommentation on the restorans near by. Good breakfast. Value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My boyfriend proposed to me this weekend with the help of Jacky and her staff,it was the most romantic and memorable experiece of my life to date. The setting on the beach right outside the guesthouse was breathtaking and we were served by Khumbulani who made the momentous occasion even more special. The whole thing was captured on camera by Jacky who sat quietly in the backround so that we would have something to look back on.

Our stay at Berg en Zee was very comfortable and relaxing, Jacky was extremely friendly and a wonderful host. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were immaculate with a spectacular ocean view.

All in all it was a stunning trip and one which i will never forget.

Thank you Jacky and Berg en Zee for helping make this weekend so special for me and my new fiance.

We will most definitely be back again!

From Renata and Donovan

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Hey,
in January 2009 my parents, my sister and me spent our holidays in South Africa and it was really a great time. We felt already comfortable from the first moment entering the Guest house. The room we stayed in was very big and the view was fantastic. If you stand on the balcony you can see the whole Helderberg area as well as the sea right in front of you and the Helderberg mountains to your right hand side. Everyone working here was always friendly and very helpful doesn't matter if it was 6'o clock the morning or at 10'oclock the night. The whole Guest house was at every moment clean and neat and our beds were made up in a beautiful charming way every day. Actually everything was perfect. Not to forget about the great breakfast which was to my mind better then at a 6 star Hotel. To cut a long story short I would always come again an recommend this Guest house to everyone who is planing on visiting South Africa. Thank you for the great time.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

With a wonderful view on False Bay and greater Cape Town area, a very friendly service and staff, we spent a great week during the World Cup at this location. We surely will come back to start sightseeing for the short distance highlights (vinelands, Cape Town, and whale watching coastline). At our second stay already we enjoyed it again very much. Bikini Beach is in walk distance; International airport and Cape Town, Camps Bay and Cape Point are in easy driving conditions reachable. Also as the first step on the way to the Garden route or a last stay before leaving Cape Town a good adress.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

You need to stay in this area for at least ten days. There is so much to do. I agree that it is Cape Town's best kept secret. The scenery is spectacular, the fynbos prolific not to mention the sunsets.
Definitely go to Bikini Beach Bookshop, we only spent an hour there on the way to the airport. It is open quite late at night.
The surrounding Bays like Pringle Bay, Kleinmond and Betty's Bay definitely worth a visit. Kleinmond has some nice shops and restaraunts in the one street.
Of course the Berg en Zee is fantastic and Jackie will assist you in planning your day and making spot on suggestions. The guest house is clean, spacious and welcoming.
Delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Jackie and Glen are what make the stay at Berg en Zee what it is. Their personal touch and ever helpful attitude make you want to stay longer. Nothing is ever a problem and they try and accommodate all your needs. Jackie communicated with me through emails answering all questions during the booking.

We checked in early - earlier then the usual check in time but the room was ready. Jackie is so friendly that she made us feel welcome and comfortable straight away. The room we had was a double / queen (listed as the honeymoon suite) with views out to the ocean and private balcony. The balcony had a table and chairs where we had a could of quick take out meals. The room had a air conditioner and fan, so choice of either to keep us cool. It came equipped with a fridge and plates / knives / forks and a table big enough to have dinner inside the room. So if you wanted you could order from most of the restaurants in the surrounding area and bring it back - save on costs, though the exchange rate to pound was great, we only did this once. The room had a shower with great products included. There were 2 shower heads on opposite sides of the shower with plenty of space. For additional comfort, there was a couch and coffee table as well, all facing the ocean, so if not sitting at the table outside, you could still relax on the couch inside and take in the view.

Breakfast had lots of pastry and breads available, including cold meats, fruits and cereal. In addition to this, there was a cooked breakfast, with a little blackboard listing what was available for that morning. Glen's magic word's - have as much or little as you want! So we could order as much of the cooked breakfast as we wanted. There is a game and reading room downstairs, that had a fridge with honesty bar and frozen meals incase you felt like a snack late at night.

Glen and Jackie provide so much touring information for local areas. Glen provided us with things to do each day, and each morning he'd check how the previous day went and what we would like to do that day. He does local walks, but provided us with a map, walking sticks and options to walk up Table Mountain. Jackie and Glen called the office at Table Mountain to check on weather and if hiking up was ok for that time. On another day he gave us a route to follow for the local wine route.

The location is brilliant for the area. We had to make a couple of trips into Cape Town city, which is a bit of a drive - 20 min, but we'd stayed there for a week before so didn't mind it. It wasn't our main stop. The beach is a walk around the corner - 10 minutes to little sandy bay, and 2 minutes to main beach. There was a walk way around the main beach with little shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berg en Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg en Zee Guest House

Address: 135 Beach Rd, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berg en Zee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for exploring the attractions of Cape Town and the Western Cape, Gordon's Bay is a lovely Mediterranean-style seaside village. Berg en Zee is centrally situated just across the road from the beach with 6 spacious direct sea-view rooms. Delicious breakfasts. Free Internet and wi-fi. Walk to restaurants. English, Afrikaans, German, French spoken. Lots of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berg en Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg En Zee Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berg en Zee Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.