We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Miguel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Miguel Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
San Miguel Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Calle Las Rosas Apt 101 | San Miguel Plaza, Bayamon 00961, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bayamon
PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed in San Miguel Plaza Hotel in Dec. 2008 and had a really nice experience. The hotel is VERY CLEAN and the bilingual staff is excellent. The free indoor parking was a plus. There were several places to eat within walking distance. There were also a couple of small malls within walking distance. The urban train was a couple of blocks away. We found it to be very convenient for visiting the University of Puerto Rico in Rio Piedras and the Rio Piedras shopping area. We drove everywhere else and found Bayamon to be a convenient starting place. We searched for driving directions on googlemaps and found them to be quite good. (Starting point: 2 Calle de LOS Rosas, Bayamon, PR 00961) The hotel even provides a free common computer where you can do the searches. The gym is nice, but we also enjoyed the Bayamon Central Park which was just two blocks away. It was a tranquil place to take a walk after eating a few too many alcapurrias. The free breakfast was very basic, but comparable to what a lot of hotels on the mainland serve. To supplement breakfast, or for light dinners, we just stocked up on fresh sobao bread and cheese at the supermarket just blocks away. We had reserved a suite with a microwave and refrigerator and found that very helpful. The area around the hotel is principally commercial/residential. One of the small businesses in the area had unsightly trash in front of it, but we just encountered that when taking a walk to the nearby grocery store. I would consider the area safe, though. All in all, I would highly recommend San Miguel Plaza Hotel.

  • Liked — cleanliness, service, free parking, suite with fridge and microwave, convenient location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
18
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Excellent value, especially if you get the "corporate rate". Parking and Internet is included. Parking is ample, secure and covered (basement). This is a luxury in San Juan (Bayamon is about 20 minutes away) and Isla verde, where hotels have crowded casinos and parking is a mess!
The hotel is centrally located, especially if you will be working or exploring the northwest ( Camuy caves , Arecibo Observatory and beaches) . It is also about 4 blocks from the Elevated metro and 3 blocks from a large mall.
Restaurant food is excellent but pricey and small portions- haute cuisine--., and restaurant service is friendly but not always efficient . Same goes for room service. There are quite a few restaurant choices nearby , including a 24 hour option, Mi pollito which is excellent ( local food - caution cash only-about 4 blocks away, on Road #2 just west of Santa Rosa Mall) .
Very nice jogging trail only one block away. Ask at the front desk, it's hard to figure out how to get in.

  • Liked — great parking facilities
  • Disliked — in hosue restaurant is pricey and sometimes closed for special events.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Me and my girlfriend decide to go to puerto rico for a long weekend. When we got there, personel at the reservation was very friendly, we went to the restaurant inside the hotel wish was great too. the rooms were nice everything clean and the best part was that i was located few mins away from major roads , only took us 20 mins to drive to old san juan

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

I stayed in this hotel the night of my honeymoon and I the hotel is extremely clean, maybe because the hotel is new, but you don't have to worry about roaches or anything like that. Also I found that it was peaceful, I couldn't hear the noise from other rooms. What I didin't like was the free continental breakfast, the room was very small and only 3 tables for all the guests, also there wasn't a lot of breakfast options.

  • Liked — cleanliness and peacefully
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

Everything was very nice, new, and clean. The continental breakfast was fresh. The front desk staff was very helpful, offering tips and directions and they spoke very good english. The neighborhood that the hotel is in is very safe and secure, the hotel has underground parking. Conveniently located near expressways.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean rooms
  • Disliked — Not close to the beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

I checked in at the Hotel San Miguel Plaza at night, and wanted to eat at the restaurant (St. Michel) in the Hotel, which is presented in the internet as a prestigious place. They were having a private activity at the restaurant, and the hotel guests of the hotel couldn't eat in, so I ordered room service, which was supposedly available. At the menu, there was a "sampler dish" consisting of chicken wings, chicken tenders, cornsticks, and croquettes. But what was my surprise to find in the plate a bunch of small turnovers (empanadillas) and greasy fritters!!! It is a fraudulent activity to serve a dish replacing the items order without prior notification to the customer (and a lack of respect!). Of course I returned the dish and complainted to the Hotel front desk. At breakfast, there was oatmeal, but no spoons to eat it; another customer was complainting about the slow service when dining the other night (they had to wait half an hour for a dessert, and when the waiter came back, he said they didn't have what was requested). Another customer was complaining that the exercise room was closed early in the morning when it was supposed to be open. Very bad service at the hotel restaurant.
However, the room and bathroom were very clean and smelling good as well as the halls and the rest of the facilities. a/c really good. Nice structure, but rooms have a view to a Hospital on one side, and a high apartment complex in the other. Pillows are very thin. I won't stay there again. It was very disappointing for a first time experience.

  • Liked — air conditioning of room and cleanliness
  • Disliked — restaurant service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
country visitor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We had to go to a wedding and needed a hotel to stay at! Great choice. While it was just one night it met all our needs. The Front Dest Attendant was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The environment was cozy and very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again when necessary. There was no swimming pool but I didn´t need to have it for my stay. There was a gym and I hope to use it next time. The hotel is located in the Baymon business area and easy to travel to other locations. It is near to hospital areas as well. It was easy to go to the different shopping malls and the Metrpolitan area. It is a great hotel for Executives on Seminars as well. My family and I enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Coziness, cleanliness and servic e.
  • Disliked — Lack of swimming pool.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Miguel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Calle Las Rosas Apt 101 | San Miguel Plaza, Bayamon 00961, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Bayamon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bayamon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Miguel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bayamon Metropolitan area and Medical District. Easy access to Highway #22 and State Road #2. At walking distance to the Train station and Bus Lines. Walking distance to Denny's 24 hours and close to Longhorn Steakhouse, UNO Chicago Grill, Romano's Macaroni Grill, Chilli's and many other restaurants. Walking distance to Santa Rosa Shopping Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Miguel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Miguel Plaza Bayamon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Miguel Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.