We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Venus

The Black Venus
Challacombe, Challacombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4TT, England
01598 763251
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a very popular local pub that does not take pre-bookings. On arrival the bar area was full and very busy. We were told that we (a group of 7) would probably have to wait an hour for a table - we were happy to do this. We managed to get a table after about half an hour - so great news. We ordered a variety of main courses and desserts - all were of a great quality. Home cooked to order! The place was busy and buzzing - we had a lovely evening.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    47
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Still very good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I used to live locally, and used the Black Venus frequently. On a visit back down there it seemed the obvious place to go for dinner. We were not disappointed.
The beer was excellent, the service as friendly as ever, and the food was very good. Normally I have a distaste for 'gastro-type pubs', but the Black Venus manages to maintain most of its atmosphere of being a village pub, whilst serving excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Old World Charm - New World Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hospitality second to none. Atmosphere warm, homely and friendly. Service good and food truly scrumptious. Have been several times and am looking forward to yet another visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great food and within walking distance of our accommodation. could have done with some low level music.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“scrumptious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good menu choice using local produce where possible, pleasant atmosphere and staff.
It was a busy Saturday so we did have a little wait for our food but nothing excessive

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Venus also viewed

Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park
Parracombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Black Venus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Venus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.