We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balladins

Hotel Balladins
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balladins to your Saves list
Hotel Balladins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue De Toulouse, 12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Strongly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent three nights at this hotel. The reception staff are especially helpful and friendly. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The air con is very efficient and silent. The large car park is free. The swimming pool is very clean as is the surrounding area. There is a Funch restaurant across the car park which stays open till 9.30 p.m. We strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

By far the worst place I've ever stayed in. The staff particularly front desk were incredibly rude. The wifi did not work and on the two occasions I asked if there was a better connection I was given two very different excuses. Breakfast was average at best. When again asked for a bowl the lady replied in a rude tone that they did not have bowls and I was to use the coffee cups. The rooms were by far the worst! Room 112 floor is damp, cold the bedding is old I wouldn't even give it to my dog to sleep on. No ventilation, poorly lit and overall a terrible experience. DO NOT STAY!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Villefranche-de-Rouergue hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After looking at a couple of less-than-impressive hotels downtown, we called in to the Tourist Office for help and were directed to Balladins. It's out of town a bit - but not too far - and is very handily placed by a hypermarket with eateries, fuel for the car, and a self-service laundromat. Reception staff was pleasant and helpful, although we were somewhat disconcerted to learn that they lock up and "abandon ship" after 9:30 at night. It's an odd feeling being in a hotel and knowing you're all alone with no-one to call on if you need anything, but we accepted that as a reasonable compromise for such good-value-for-money accommodation. It's a clean and tidy establishment that is perfectly fine for a short stay, so long as you have a car to get downtown in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was on our route. We arrived late after very long drive & first thing we did was head for the pool. It was really lovely we had it all to ourselves. Had read on other reviews pool out of use so were delighted to find it sparkling clean and ready to go. rooms were standard beds were fine & tv was flat screen ( all french channels). The hotel was opposite a large hyper market with three restaurants attached but we got out of the pool too late. Eveyrthing closes at 9pm. Luckily with starving mouths to feed the receptionist directed us to nearest McD's (weird how everything tastes better on holiday). She also sold us beer even though bar was shut what a lifesaver. The area was really quiet as was the hotel so perfect for undisturbed sleep. Bathroom was nice size & the shower was really powerful & hot ideal. We didn't have breakfast preferred to try one of the restaurants instead. Again when checking out new receptionist as friendly & helpful as previous one getting us maps telling us about local sites etc. Would definitely use again next time I'm in that area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This is a pleasant town, with a river running through the middle,so we hoped for a hotel in the downtown area, but there is little accommodation and after looking at two grotty hotels in the downtown area, which were tired old rooms up a flight or two of stairs, we went to the tourism office and asked for some help. They found us a room at Balladins. it was a decent hotel, much like a north American motel. It's about a km from the city centre. the room was fine, with a lovely newly tiled bathroom, free wifi find the standard French continentals breakfast. staff were helpful. many of the other visitors seemed to be locals who might have been staying long term. it was a hot day and too bad the pool wasn't in operation, but thre was a hot tub/ spa operating. fine for one night, not necessarily a place you would want to spend a more time at.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balladins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balladins

Address: Avenue De Toulouse, 12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Aveyron > Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balladins 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Balladins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balladins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.