We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appletons Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Appletons Farmhouse to your Saves list
Appletons Farmhouse
1 Rue des Tisserands | Bonnilly, Argenton-Sur-Creuse, 36200 Chavin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Chavin B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best stay of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Really nice location with excellent facilities but most of all very good company with Malcolm and Edward who always went the extra mile to make us welcome.
We stayed for two nights on the way to Rocamadour and will come back without question.
Interior very homely and clean.
We had the option of evening meal and this I will confidently confirm was excellent value with the fine wines, fresh food and good company.

Room Tip: All rooms Excellent you will not go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Malcolm and Edward are wonderful hosts. The evening meal outside was wonderful. WIne and conversation flowed around the table in the beautiful garden and the food was delicious.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and beds most comfortable.
Thoroughly recommend staying for a night if travelling further down in France.
We loved Leo the Lab too!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at Appleton's for two nights on the way to and from the South of France and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Edward and Malcolm are excellent hosts. The food and accommodation was excellent. The garden was beautiful. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We took advantage of Edward and Malcolm's willingness to take one night bookings from those en route to Spain, and we're glad we did: a great house-party style evening, with generous wines accompanying an excellent home-cooked dinner. Nothing fancy about the room, but a very comfortable, peaceful night's sleep in the heart of La France Profonde. Both Argenton, the nearby town, and the Creuse valley upriver from Appletons are very attractive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A group of us (4 motorcyclists) arrived to a cold beer in the garden and a warm welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy and the food was excellent. We had a wonderful evening with Malcolm and Edward and the wine kept flowing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely and quiet place to stay. Edward and Malcolm were great hosts and we thoughorly enjoyed spending time in their beautiful garden.
An added bonus was a hot breakfast in the morning, not typical for France, but much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent stop over en route to Spain, beautiful gardens, clean rooms with modern bathrooms and good company provided by the hosts and other guests over an unexpectedly delicious and wholesome three course dinner with all the wine, port, cheese and coffee a guest could want. Great value too. Ordering dinner for your stay comes highly recommended. Edward & Malcolm were extremely accommodating and helpful during our stay and made us feel very welcome in their home after a long journey at either end of the month away. Welcome drinks at the gazebo was a nice touch, as was the home grown elements to dinner and the homemade chutney!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appletons Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletons Farmhouse

Address: 1 Rue des Tisserands | Bonnilly, Argenton-Sur-Creuse, 36200 Chavin, France
Location: France > Centre > Berry > Indre > Chavin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appletons a tranquil spot in the Heart of Central France, for short breaks or all inclusive full board holidays. Come and join us, we are just off of the A20 Paris / Toulouse auto route, 6.5Hrs from Calais or 5 Hrs from Dieppe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Appletons Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appletons Farmhouse Chavin
Appletons Farmhouse France/Chavin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appletons Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.