We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa do abade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Abade

Casa do Abade
Largo da Igreja 5, Santa Luzia 8800, Portugal
281381734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Santa Luzia
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tavira
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casa do abade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice food, great welcome. And host talked us through the menu. Open log fire enhanced the visit. Typical Portuguese food and very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Tito is Tito just a pure joy to know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Tito really is a local landmark. We have been coming out to the algarve now for the last 7 years as our 2nd relaxing holiday and santa luzia provides just that. Tito's compliments the town. The food is always amazing, his friendliness and personality make the restaurant a joy to visit. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. I have never had a bad meal, the food is reasonably priced and the wine always good. Tito is always available to offer advice about the food. A real must visit for anybody who enjoys their food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Casa do Abade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I visited this restaurant for lunch recently and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The setting inside is lovely and cosy and the menu is plentiful. I was talked through the menu, given recommendations and when I did order I ordered the prawns for starter and a half portion of lamb chops. Both dishes were excellent. I enjoyed water and a glass of red house wine and soaked up the ambience and quietness of the restaurant. Service was excellent and on leaving I said I would be returning with family and friends. The restaurant closes for lunch on Tuesdays and is closed all day on Sundays.During the good weather there are tables outside,The restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Was in the area last week and found this restaurant via Tripadvisor. It was so good we went twice during our week long stay. Prawns to start followed by Monk fish risotto for two people @ €14 a head was excellent and was enough for three of us. The secret pig also well worth choosing. There are many more dishes to choose from and we will be back to try them. This place has good food and is great value and would top my list of restaurants in the area.

The owner is very helpful, courteous and speaks great english. He is also a Landrover nut and is in the middle of restoring one and more than happy to talk you through his photo album charting the restration process.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definately a must visit restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I live in the area and, I can assure you that, the food and service in Casa do Abade
(House of the Abbot) is second to none, Tito and Fabio work tirelessly to serve and entertain you, they are backed up by Paula's tremendous cooking skills.
Great for fish or steaks, Lamb stew is a favourite of mine as is the secret pig, it's allways a great place to have Pork and Clams, I know lots of people who would not dream of eating pork with clams in one dish but, if you don't give it a go you are missing a real treat!

We've been eating here for over ten years and have never had a complaint, keep it up Tito, Paula and Team.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Abade also viewed

Santa Luzia, Faro District
Santa Luzia, Faro District
 
Santa Luzia, Faro District
Santa Luzia, Faro District
 

Been to Casa do Abade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Abade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.