We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Jules Ferry | Place des Costils, 50800 Villedieu-les-Poeles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

A clean and comfortable hotel with a bistrot attached.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was split into two floors. The lower tier was a living room with seating, a bathroom and separate toilet. The upper floor consisting of a double bed, drawers, a mounted flat screen TV and two single beds. Not much privacy, but comfortable nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    81
    21
    17
    10
See reviews for
30
103
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balleroy, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights while house hunting in the region, the room, service and resturant were exellent

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Ate in the brasserie twice in the same week recently. The service was good, with staff finding a table for six of us , including two children with no bother. The food was well cooked with a varied , but not daunting, menu. The ommelette complet was delicious as was the salmon. To be recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in March 2012 (an anniversary celebration for us.) The staff were excellent, with good English but (with one exception) happy to let me practice my French; they stored our cases when we arrived early, and took care that we were properly parked for the Tuesday morning when the market takes over the car park & road outside the entrance.

Our room (211) was a modernised one - (Privilège) and generally excellent; comfortable double bed, very good lighting, even with reading spotlights - and a kettle, tea, coffee & cups (milk - just ask in the Bistro.) Excellent bath, shower & basin; separate (cramped & unventilated) WC off the lobby.

The one real limitation of the room was a lack of hanging space for clothes; this matters in an area with such variable weather (we came prepared for cold, warm & wet weather, and had all three.) Half the cupboard in the lobby was taken up with shelves. There was an enormous (admittedly handsome) desk in the room, which could have been adapted to have shelves for clothes, freeing up more hanging space under the safe (another plus point for the room.)

One other point which could be improved is the illumination of the corridor light switches; several of them had neons which were dim or non-functional.

We ate twice in the Bistro and one evening in the restaurant; food and service very good. A slight quirk is that you can have a half-litre carafe of wine in the Bistro, but not in the restaurant; we didn't want a full bottle of wine, so settled for excellent cider instead. We only had one breakfast; service a bit casual (no butter, and no-one to ask) and a bit pricey at €9 with cooked items extra. As we were usually not hungry after the rich evening meals, we were happy to visit a friendly local bar (La Terrasse behind the church, 100 yards away) for coffee & a croissant.

A WARNING about booking on-line - when we were booking, breakfast showed as costing €12, although the hotel's pdf price list shows the correct price; better to have it put on the bill when you are there.

All in all, a very pleasant hotel, to which we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Rooms 206-211 look over a courtyard rather than the street, so you can leave a window open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

a very fine stay
pleasant dinner and good breakfast
to mention : home-made pastries and bread

Room Tip: they have non smokers rooms; mine was fresh and correct. a bad mention for the s shower that you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent 3 nights in this attractive small town and were very pleased with the hotel. The split-level bedroom was cosy and well-designed, with all modern amenities such as large flat screen TV and multiple-jet shower cubicle. We had dinner in the traditional restaurant and enjoyed well-prepared dishes in a comfortable setting. Breakfast is a self-service affair, with the usual Continental options, plus egg dishes at a supplement. We didn't try the bistro as there were plenty of other eating places in the town. We were looking forward to trying the pool facilities 400 metres away, but were put off by the supplement of 10 euros.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Cherbourg ferry (about 1.5 hours), as well as its excellent rating on the Logis website for its food and accommodation. Although we found the food to be brilliant, the accommodation was a little bit tired , and with only one window, quite dark. However, regardless of this, we had a mezzanine bedroom while the kids slept downstairs, so it felt a bit more private for us. The separate bathroom and toilet was also a good idea. But the accommodation is in need of refurbishment as it is quite dated.

However, we were only there for one night, and there was so much about the hotel that was great. The evening meal was superb and our girls (3 and 6) had their own menu and were very well fed. Our menu was fantastic, it showcased local produce and the talent of their chef. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and imaginative. We looked on in awe at some of the spectacular lobster dishes arriving on other tables. I was particularly envious of my husband's desert which was pears in pastry, topped with a sugar spiral, and paired (sorry about the pun) with shots of pear sorbet and dolce de leche. He wouldn't swap though!

Breakfast was also very good, with plenty of everything and a variety of fresh breads, jams, cereals, fruit and coffee/tea. We looked out the window at the local fisherman selling his catch on the street and wished we were staying another night somewhere where we could cook as he seemed to have an amazing variety of fish.

The road and roadside outside were also being worked on but although this made finding a park a bit of a challenge, it didn't impact our stay greatly.

As for the town of Villedieu-les-Poeles we were pleasantly surprised to find that a lot of the shops are open on Sunday and enjoyed a leisurely walk around town with all its gorgeous copper-ware and crafts. It's a lovely, busy, friendly town and we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and chatting with the locals, before hopping in the car and ambling our way up towards the Cherbourg ferry.

The hotel is worth staying with just for the restaurant, but there were plenty of locals at the restaurant, so not a problem to book if you're staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fruitier50, Directeur général at Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Miss/Madam,

Thanks for coming in Le Fruitier, and for your positive and constructive opinion about our hotel… Indeed, we began refurbishing our rooms two years ago, which actually means that, today, half of our accommodation has just been renovated, and we will of course keep working on this next winter…so as to provide all or our guests with a contemporary and sophisticated setting. Thanks again for your message, and be sure that we will be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel ! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier

Address: 3, Rue Jules Ferry | Place des Costils, 50800 Villedieu-les-Poeles, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Villedieu-les-Poeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Villedieu-les-Poeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fruitier !Located between the Mont Saint Michel and the D-Day beaches, the hotel-restaurant Le Fruitier welcomes in a contemporary and sophisticated setting. Each of the 48 bedrooms in our hotel was designed and decorated individually to offer guests personalised comfort... And be sure to enjoy our restaurant Le Fruitier and its contemporary take on traditional cuisine made with local ingredients, as well as the hotel’s “bistro”, La Poêle de Gargantua (Gargantua’s Frying Pan). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Fruitier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.