We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent location, bad sleep...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Restaurant Sonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Restaurant Sonne to your Saves list
Hotel & Restaurant Sonne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 28, 79199 Kirchzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirchzarten
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent location, bad sleep...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Mr Payne visited in Kirchzarten`s Sonne on a small holiday and stayed one night. Here`s what he found out:

What was good: +Location near Hochschwarzwald and the town of Freiburg, +Old charming building with cozy interior, although the restaurant was quite expensive, +the quality of the food was good and it was tasty.

What Mr.Payne didn't find good: -Check-Inn/Reception: When i checked in i was not told that the Spa&Sauna are free of charge for hotelguests, found it out later after i coincidally red a leaflet. - I had to ask about parking my car, the receptionist didn't inform me automatically where to park and how.
-Wireless internet was not free of charge, should be included in the price of the room.
-The Chuchbells in the nearby church starts to make a huge noise at 6 o'clock in the morning, if you want to sleep, better keep those windows closed!
-Breakfast was ok, but the coffee what they served was really mild, and there are only 3 minutes eggs available, Mr Payne likes his eggs hardboiled!

Mr.Payne's Mattress-Check:

Mr.Payne was waiting for a better bed-solution. Now it was 2 single bed-frames put together. Those beds had a basic slatted base, and a normal (hard) spring-mattress without a topper, but with a thin mattress-cover. Because the bed didn't have a topper, it was too hard. Mr Payne who likes his bed soft and cozy had shoulderpain in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

When booking the Sonne we had a terrible time trying to figure out exactly where it was. It is not, as some websites tell you, in Freiburg. It is in Kirchzarten which is just a short train ride from Freiburg.

We took the scenic train from Baden-Baden to Kirchzarten on a snowy, winter day. It was a great trip, but a long day and we were glad to reach the Sonne when we got there.

The place is family owned and they are smart enough to put the younger, cuter, better English speaking daughter at the front desk. She was very helpful and made us feel at home right away.

Kirchzarten is just a small town, so you might run out of things to do fairly quickly, but you definitely get a very "non-touristy" experience.

There is a cheap 24-hour internet cafe just a short walk away whcih came in handy.

The room itself was the kind of simple, classic and serviceable room that budget travelers like us look for. It's not the Ritz, but it got the job done for a couple nice nights. the view from our window was quite nice too.

Oh and the restaurant at the hotel was great too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, Ca
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was the final leg of Cap'n Vacation's European tour....Wanted a good staging area for the Black Forest and Colmar France.....Pictures make it look like this hotel is in the country however it is not - it is in a small town close to shops, a beer garden, restaurants and a bakery. Our room was a little small but was clean and the bed comfortable. Easy drive to Frieburg and Colmar, France....Didn't eat in the restaurant however it was full, with locals, most nights.....Beer Garden, 2 min walk from the hotel, was reasonable and nice people.....road noise in the morning so be prepared to be up and running by 0800.....we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed here two nights. The hotel is pleasant and slightly old fashioned. Our room was rather small and a bit dated. The dining room had an excellent menu of local fresh food matched with local wines. The owner and son were helpful and friendly. The internet service broke down while we were there (for more than 24 hours) which was a bit irritating as our children use the internet a lot. It was a nice small country family run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Sonne for 6 nights through to New Years Day 2010. Family Rombach who own and run the hotel extended a warm welcome and offered help and advice to make our stay in the Black Forest a pleasurable one. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was absolutely fantastic every single evening. Our New Years Eve Gala Dinner (complete with talented band "Whattwodo") was excellent in every way, and the service of the restaurant staff (all dressed in tasteful traditional costume) was friendly and attentive. We would have no hesitation in returning to this lovely hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The hotel is located in a gorgeous little village 10 minutes from Freiburg and is perfectly situated for a truly magical Black Forest experience. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The restaurant offers fabulous German food with all locally sourced products bursting with flavor. Breakfast is included in the room rate and offers a wonderful variety of fresh bakes breads, cereals, fruits, eggs, cold cuts and cheeses. A modern spa and fitness centre adjoins the hotel and is a fabulous addition. Service is friendly, warm and hospitable. I can highly recommend hiring bikes for a day trip of mountain-bike riding (and eating!). Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Kirchzarten is a very pleasant small town and the Sonne is easy to find. We were given complimentary cards for free local travel by the very helpful hotel manager and used the trains (station only 5 minutes away, and very efficient) which proved to be great way to get into Freiburg and explore the local area. The Sonne is a traditional style small hotel with a nice atmosphere, friendly staff and good breakfast buffet. Rooms are rather small and ours had the tiniest shower-room imaginable. The hotel is on the corner of a busy road so was quite noisy at night as it was hot and we needed to leave the windows open.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Sonne

Address: Hauptstrasse 28, 79199 Kirchzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kirchzarten
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirchzarten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Restaurant Sonne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel Kirchzarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Restaurant Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.