We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkstone Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawkstone Park Hotel to your Saves list
Hawkstone Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hawkstone Park, Weston-under-Redcastle SY4 5UY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from a two day break at this hotel,disappointed in the decor, very tired looking, not like the website promoted. Room was clean, but trouser press did not work, kettle lid broken and most of all numerous dead flies in the ceiling lamp, enough said ! Reception staff could do with retraining on check out procedure and common courtesy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and i am sorry you found maintenance faults in your bedroom.

I am assured by my Housekeeper that these matters have been dealt with.

Sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    92
    61
    31
    28
See reviews for
40
73
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mahe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a lovely stay, only problems where you couldn't turn the radiator off in the room and it got a bit hot, Room was a bit quirky, as you went up a few stairs to the bathroom. Comfortable bed, flat screen tv on the wall, enough wardrobe and draw space. Breakfast was nice but wasn't replenished very quickly, service could have been better. Good value for money. Would definately […] stay again. Ideal location for the really fantastic follies

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, i'll make sure these points are looked into but i am glad to see you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Laurie & Mark booked their wedding ceremony and celebrations at Hawkstone. We all had a fabulous day and Jo (event organiser) was more than helpful right from the start and did a magnificent job by beautifully decorating the ceremony venue and dining room. Everyone who attended gave very positive feed back. we would also like to thank all the staff at the hotel - nothing went wrong! On behalf of Jim & Jayne Trenfield (grooms parents) and Andrew & Carol McAllister (brides parents) we would like to offer our sincere thanks and recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback, i am really pleased we looked after your party so well and will make sure the feedback is passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went there for the golf. Hotel was good, if basic, and food was excellent value for money. We had 2 rounds of golf and dinner, bed and breakfast for £69. Excellent value. Only fault was the golf course was very wet and made play difficult.
Will return again but check weather first.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and pleased to see you had a good time. 2012 was pretty awful weather and we are hoping for a better year in 2013 with some great golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just spent a long weekend at Hawkstone Park in a party of 8.

We are not mad keen golfers but enjoy a hack around a course every now and again and, I must say, we had a very enjoyable time. We played both courses. The Hawkstone Course was a real joy. A beautiful setting and refreshingly natural in its layout. The designer (presumably a very long time ago) has made the most of the natural contours and some of the vistas were quite breathtaking. The Championship Course was very wet. I suspect that I would have found it too difficult even in good conditions but these were not good conditions ! I'm not sure I would blame the management for this though. The course is relatively low-lying and flat and there was a great deal of rainfall during the week.

Whilst at the hotel we also found time to visit the Follies. This is a "must do" if you are staying there- a great walk with plenty to see (remember to take a torch for the caves) and, amazingly, it seems to have escaped the worst excesses of our health & safety obsession in that caves, spiral staircases, narrow bridges and precipitous paths are all open for exploration for those who like to do that sort of thing (as we do !). Unfortunately it was foggy during our visit but the views on a clear day would be fabulous.

And so to the hotel itself.

Well, it's certainly not a luxury boutique property. The decor has seen better days, the shower facilities in the en suites are basic, the restaurant layout is somewhat canteen-like (easily addressed with a bit of breaking up of the large space and a re-think of the lighting)....and yet the place has a friendly, homely feel to it which we all rather liked. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful and the bar was very comfortable and welcoming (with decent beer to boot). We ate in the restaurant one evening- not haute cuisine but not bad either (the wine list was quite interesting) and went to the splendid Bear at Hodnet on the other.

So, in conclusion, if you are looking for perfection, don't come here. If, however, you are considering a weekend in a beautiful (and quiet) part of the country, perhaps with a round of golf on a course where you wont be harassed by obnoxious members, and a bit of old-fashioned English hotel hospitality, you may (like us) be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the detailled review. I am pleased to see you all enjoyed your break and it would be nice to see you return. I'll take on the feedback and where we can make some changes.

Thanks again

David Sims
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

24 of us, 12 girls and 12 guys.
very enjoyable on Hawkstone Course, championship course totally unplayable. You might blame the recent weather for this but we played it after 4/5 days of dry and sunny weather. The course was deep in mud all the way round. the tees are very scruffy and the fairways appeared not to have received a mow for some considerable time. We were all slipping and sliding and were unable to find a dry spot to place the ball. We were extremely disappointed and I feel strongly that its condition should have been pointed out to us by the management before we ventured out.
It shouldn't be a surprise to us as we found that the service generally was slow and amateurish; clearly lacking in training and leadership.
There is a great opportunity for improvement in customer care providing services with a confident smile in the knowledge that they have the support of a committed and competent management team for the golf and hospitality alike.

Room Tip: We were in 307 no problems, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. I am cleary disappointed that your golf was spoiled by the conditions, managing the courses during 2012 did prove very challenging with rain from April. However it obviously spoiled your break and i am sorry that was the case. All of your comments have been passed on to the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just had a golfing weekend here at Hawkestone Park. the courses were to be expected very wet.

The hotel was in the main fine with nice welcome and clean comfortable rooms, however the evening dinner was quite innedible! waking up in the morning the only hot part of breakfast was the toast which was self made!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry we were not perfect and i have passed your feedback to the Head Chef .

Thanks again

David Sims
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawkstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkstone Park Hotel

Address: Hawkstone Park, Weston-under-Redcastle SY4 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston-under-Redcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston-under-Redcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkstone Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawkstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hawkstone Park
Hawkstone Park Hotel Weston-Under-Redcastle, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkstone Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.