We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maypole Court Cafe Bistro

Maypole Court Cafe Bistro
8 Maypole Court, Wem SY4 5AA, England
01939 235802
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Wem
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Maypole Court Cafe Bistro (the Gem in Wem)is a new and exciting venue for good food and wine in Wem, near Shrewsbury, in the heart of the beautiful North Shropshire countryside.We use local suppliers and all food is prepared freshly by our experienced Chef. There are 24 covers available for lunch Tuesday through to Saturday and for the Bistro menu on a Friday night from 6pm until 9pm. We are fully licensed and have local beers and an excellent wine choice.Set in a small courtyard area in Wem, we have seating for Al Fresco dining in the Summer months with ample parking over the road. The atmosphere is relaxed and the colonial decor, together with the great food on offer, leads to a dining experience that will encourage you to come back again and again.
Wem, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just been to the Maypole Court Cafe Bistro and had a wonderful dinner. Everyone in the bistro left feeling they had a fabulous meal. Debbie the owner and her staff make sure you have an evening to remember. It is definitely the best place in North Shropshire.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Themed night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went to the Moroccan themed night and had an amazing meal , lots of different flavours all served by very attentive staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had an amazing Moroccan meal full of different flavours and served by very attentive staff. The monthly themed evenings are a definite 'must do'!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“yummy food,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Love this place food is excellent took my daughter for her birthday lunch as idid' nt want to go to a "chain" restaurant, and im so glad we went . Croque monsieur was a big hit with the birthday girl an she says vlad's carrot cake is to die for, i had shropshire blue an warm pear salad which i did not want to end, nannny also loved her eggs benedict which were cooked to perfection.Try it for yourselves i think you'd be hard pushed to find any where better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the home made sourdough bread and olives for nibbles to the excellent coffee, we couldn't fault our lovely meal. The mussels were the best I've ever had ( and I like mussels) in a cider,leek and cream sauce. They were scaldingly hot, in a hot bowl, and delicious. The slow roast pork belly was tender and melting, yet with a crispy skin. The sauce with it was rich,delicious,dark, and divine. The puy lentils were a nice contrast of texture and flavour. we didn't think we could manage a pudding, but were tempted by Creme brûlée with white chocolate. Lovely. Just the right amount of crispy caramel to crunch with the spoon, and then smooth, cool custard,not too sweet, a great ending. my husban's expresso came immediately it was ordered, very hot, rich and tasty. We have rebooked for Morocco night in April- apparently the chef is already doing something with lemons! Hope we meet him next time to tell him how much we enjoyed his cooking. Must mention the service too,which was warm,friendly, and genuinely pleased that we enjoyed our evening so much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maypole Court Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Maypole Court Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maypole Court Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.