We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable, good food, idyllic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soulton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soulton Hall
Save
You added Soulton Hall to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Soulton, Wem SY4 5RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wem B&B and Inns
Kent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, comfortable, good food, idyllic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This family run hotel has none of the pretentiousness of so many 'Country House Hotels'. The bedrooms in the main house are large, comfortable and traditionally furnished with great elegance. Mrs Ashton makes lovely home-cooked food. The setting is beautiful as is the house itself. Very good value and family friendly.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    21
    2
    10
    17
See reviews for
36
77
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herault, France
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Deakin room. We arrived late, having flown in from France but were warmly welcomed even though the last ordering time had passed.

We have recommended the hotel to friends and family and hope to return,

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

The hotel is in a quiet country lane and is a striking manor house with a walled garden. The main house only has 5 rooms although there are some additional converted brick farm buildings. We only stayed one night in the Hill room in the main house. The room was large and comfortable with decoration and furniture in keeping with the feel of the house. The bed linen was of good quality and the pillows were comfortable. My preference would have been for a firmer mattress and a more traditional bed stead though. Downstairs there was an open fire with sofas and armchairs and this room had a warm and cosy feel. The Christmas tree was also in situ. There was a separate room with a bar. The dining room was lit by candlelight wall sconces and a chandelier. The food was well cooked and presented attractively. Tim, the son of the house, said that due to the location of the village being on route to Shrewsbury and Wales there was a direct train from Manchester to Wem. He also took time to advise on places of interest to visit. Soulton Hall is a building with history, truly charming and gives a sense of past times and has a warm, friendly, cosy feel to it and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed two nights here while visiting relatives and were very pleased with our choice. To be honest, we wouldn't have been visiting the Wem area if we didn't have family nearby, but we're very glad we did. Wem itself appears to be a once prosperous market down now sadly in decline, but there are plenty of interesting places to visit within a short drive, including Ellesmere, Chirk and of course Shrewsbury.

The House itself, set in 500 acres of grounds (mostly arable farmland), is full of character. The Ashton family manage the trick of welcoming paying guests into their wonderful ancestral home without either resenting them or smothering them. The fact that there are only four guest rooms helps it to feel more like a home, less like a hotel. But the service and the cooking are as good as you could wish for in any hotel in this price bracket -- and would shame many a more expensive place.

Our room (the Hill room) was spacious and well furnished as well as being beautifully clean. It had real character, as I suspect do all the rooms in the house. We didn't look inside the accommodation in other buildings, which from the outside have less character -- with the possible exception of the gamekeeper's cottage, which has an excellent situation at a corner of the estate and looks really pretty.

We were surprised to be the only guests staying on our first night, and very pleasantly surprised that the Ashtons had put together a menu catering for our meat-free diet (Shropshire is a county of committed carnivores) with four choices for each course. The trouble they'd gone to to do this was quite touching. The dining room was lit by dozens of candles, just for us, the food was excellent and the service unintrusive. All very well judged. We breakfasted solo too and once again, everything was just right.

For what you get for your money, this is a reasonably priced hotel. We'll certainly be going again, which is something we very rarely do.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Delightful location, wonderful hosts and delicious food. Couldn't be better. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Lovely old building with rooms of character and some with very sloping floors!
Family run hotel but with staff who can not remember what drinks you order and one who had no idea why we would want some olives with our drinks!
The food was fair with very poor selelction of deserts - nothing like the pictures on the web site - crumble, fruit and meringue, or ice cream both nights. The staff found it very difficult to adapt to minor dietary requirements even with quite a lot of notice. The addition of the bill was a mamouth task!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stay at Soullton Hall as a birthday treat. Lovely countryside around the hall, the hall it self could do with a little updating in the lounge area, the room we stayed in the barnet room was a good size but again needs updating on the soft furnishing bathroom new ,spoilt by 20 year old curtains lots and lots of spiders in the bathroom but otherwise very clean. Service was very good had a lovely meal in the dinning room which was the highlight of the stay.
The broucher makes the hall appear to be much grander than it was and we were diaapointed on the positive side staff very friendly had a lovely if expensive meal. The walks around the hall grounds were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soulton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulton Hall

Address: Soulton, Wem SY4 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Soulton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient manor house of mellow Tudor brick and honeyed sandstone in the delightful, intriguing county of Shropshire. Candle-lit dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Soulton Hall Hotel Wem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soulton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.