We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hmmmm needs some TLC in all depts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel to your Saves list
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Atcham B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“hmmmm needs some TLC in all depts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had lunch here a year ago and thought 'fantastic'.. wouldn't it be great to stay.. eat fully.. what an idea. I even reviewed the lunch on TA, and gave it rave reviews.

BUT - a year is a long time and I'm afraid to say things have downhill.
1. The bar area was as good as I remember as was the staff welcome.. universal and genuine. They could do with 'plumping cushions' on the sofas between guests as they clear tables 8/10.
2. My pint of 'Shropshire Lad' was wonderful too (9/10),
and then things went downhill..
3. Lunch on our arrival was an over-thick prawn sandwich and tasteless rillettes of duck.. 6/10
4. Our room was tatty with a broken shower, cracked bathroom tiles, two holes where there should have been a loo-roll holder, a chipped radiator, scuffed paint, scratchy towels. 4/10
5. Dinner menu was limited and no lamb at all - its EASTER!! 6/10
6. Dinner was tasteless (esp the chicken liver parfait and forestier jus ) and stale (esp the Yorkshires), roasties were old and hard, veg was very mushy. 5/10.
7. Service was friendly, but not at all efficient.. people left us far too long and forgot things more than once..6/10.
8. Breakfast was good, 7/10... I don't like black pudding and it was marvelous!
9, Checkout was good too and at least I was listened to, but I was not offered any sort of reduction.. despite listing my complaints there and then (and in detail). Admittedly it was very good value.. but I'd have thought a gesture was appropriate, and I left my e-mail address and to date have heard nothing.

Oh dear.. we so value attention to detail and GREAT food - - I was planning to return with my parents as I passed near on the A5, but now I'll go elsewhere I think.. what a genuine shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    74
    43
    19
    21
See reviews for
55
100
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went to visit Wroxeter Vineyard and sought an inexpensive local hotel through the internet.

The The Mytton & Mermaid Hotel had availability at a reasonable price and the reviews were quite good overall.

What we discovered was a nice and friendly hotel/restaurant/pub sitting on the banks of the River Severn.

The staff were welcoming and the atmosphere was good although check in after 3:00pm is a bit on the late side.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was first class as was the service and it really had a nice Gastro feel to the whole evening.

The English breakfast was also excellent and overall, we had a really good and enjoyable break.

Thanks go to the staff who really make an effort to demonstrate hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Beautiful hotel. Gorgeous room. Very spacious. Food was very good. Service excellent. Staff were very very helpful. Our room was looking out onto the river on one side and overlooking the park on the other side. Absolutely stunning. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for just the one night at the end of March. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. Our room was comfortable and overlooked Attingham Park. We would certainly stay here again. Every thing was first class.

Room Tip: We had room 8 (Twin) which was lovely although it was up 2 flights of stairs but we were offered hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Keep coming back here, it's a lovely place with great food. The menu has just changed and there are some interesting new arrangements on the menu.
Rooms are comfortable but could really do with some updating, they are clean and fresh but cracks in tiles and decor is now a little jaded, don't let it put you off though it's excellent value and a great atmosphere. We will keep coming back and can highly recommend staying here. There's Attingham Park just across the road which is National Trust with great walks. The hotel setting is super with the river and the village church on the doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As my mother is coeliac I have to provide advance warning to the restaurant when we choose to book. Having eaten and stayed at the mytton and mermaid on several occasions it was my first choice for Mother's Day. What a shame it went so wrong. I think they clearly overbooked as the restaurant was full to capacity, therefore the staff seemed so rushed and the attention to detail lacking. Having rang twice to make them aware there were no suitable deserts on the Mother's Day menu I was reassured it would be fine. When it wasn't they suggested Icecream.. I don't pay £26 for a desert of Icecream. They brought the bar menu so my mother could choose from the deserts on that menu. She chose a rhubarb and custard creme brûlée. When it arrived there was no creme brûlée just a few slices of rhubarb swimming in custard. This time I spoke to the manager who apologised and the waitress then said they had no creme brûlée. Did they think my mum wouldn't notice it was missing? In all it ruined the day and was quite upsetting. The insult came when they discounted the bill by £3!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We arrived at a wonderful location, the Manor house is very imposing. On entering the Bar/ restaurant area is relaxed and just what we'd hoped for. Reception staff, as with all staff were most helpful.
However on entering our room, we were instantly disappointed at how tired and shabby it looked. The carpet was badly stained, the window was bare of paint in places and there were cobwebs at the ceiling corner. The towels were a little grey and though laundered had stains. We had to abandon a shower through no warm water.
It is such a shame as the view from our window was beautiful, the food was fabulous, as too the service.
Would I eat here again? ... Yes. Would I stay here again? Only if I was guaranteed a better room more likened to the website photos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Address: Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Atcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Atcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a grade II listed building, built in 1735 standing on the banks of the River Severn. A central location less than 10 minutes from Shrewsbury town centre and 5 minutes from J7 of the M54. The entrance to Attingham Park (National Trust)is directly opposite the hotel. Seasonal menus feature local produce (2 AA Rosette Awarded. Log burner for cooler days. Local ales and fine wines to compliment good food. Free parking on site. Picturesque black and white cottage also on site. Flexible accommodation, doubles including Superior, twin, single, family and ground floor options all available. A perfect location to discover Shropshire. Alternatively if business brings you to the area the Mytton is perfectly placed for Telford, Shrewsbury and further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mytton And Mermaid
Mytton & Mermaid Hotel Atcham
Mytton Mermaid Atcham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.