We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel to your Saves list
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Atcham B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food and great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites which was very nicely laid out and had character. The only gripe I would have is that the mattress had the habit of sending you to the centre of the bed!

The food in the restaurant was good, although the size of the pork belly was a little on the large size (especially as the waiter had asked if we wanted a side order as the dish was a la carte). I would recommend the salmon scotch egg which was delicious and the lemon and raisin pudding was as light as a feather. The service in the restaurant considering how busy they were was very good, we didn't have to wait long for anything. Helen (the waitress) was very friendly.

Breakfast was fine but would have expected pastries on the table rather than having to order these. Also the cooked to order part of breakfast took too long to come (we were the only ones in at this point). The poached eggs did not have a runny centre but were edible. My husband had a sausage sandwich, but this also came with sliced tomatoes (he hates them!) which was a surprise - please dont put any additional items that are not specified in the menu! The waitress serving was efficient but a little more reserved.


All in all we had a pleasant time but probably wouldn't stay there again as would expect a better breakfast for the cost. Would return to the restaurant though.
B

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myttonandmermaid, Owner at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant . I will look at your areas of concern including the mattress ! and look to add some pastries to our breakfast table .
We do hope you will come back and try us again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    65
    40
    19
    19
See reviews for
50
88
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Each month a friend and I lunch at the Mytton and Mermaid, but the last two visits were disappointing.
I gave them the benefit of the doubt for my December visit because there was a wedding going on at the same time so thought they must have been under some pressure.
However, on this occasion the meal was disappointing. Presentation average (below what I expected). Meat was fatty and the toasted bread just fell apart, too dry and over toasted.
Chips were good but not enough to excuse the rest of the meal.
Panacotta was sloppy - sorry but expected better.
One more chance then we will definitly be going elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myttonandmermaid, Owner at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I was sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us . Please let us know if something does not meet your standards and allow us to try and recify it.
We do try very hard to achieve customer satisfaction and it is always disappointing when we dont.
Please feel free to call me at the hotel to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is going to be a difficult one……

We decided to celebrate my wife’s birthday at The Mytton and Mermaid and booked a table for a Saturday night.

Although the restaurant and bar area were busy the welcome was warm and we were shown to a table in the corner (thankfully well away from a very noisy table of ten). A friend had left some flowers for my wife - they adorned the table and were commented on by the very friendly man who showed us to our places and by the very polite and attentive woman who took our order. I wasn’t sure about the choice of ‘muzak’ – I thought maybe The Everley Brothers and Marvin Gaye were a hangover from Valentine’s Night, a couple of days before.

We ordered tapenade and hummus as nibbles while we waited for our mains. I thought they were both a little bland – I wondered whether there was any anchovie in the olive paste. (I also thought that the garlic was missing until I bit into a sliver of it!). The bread was lovely.
For mains I’d ordered sea trout on a bed of samphire, potato and chervil cake and beetroot and my wife asked for the gratin from the vegetarian menu.

Mine was absolutely lovely (although there was no samphire – it had been replaced by spinach and I had apparently been given a rogue menu!). The beetroot gave the whole thing a beautiful earthy flavour which set off perfectly the potato and the ‘sea’ taste of the fish. The Hollandaise was just right and the little tomato concoction was seasoned to perfection. I loved it.

However, and here’s the confusion, my wife was given a bowl of cauliflower cheese. Plain and simple, cauliflower cheese with a few walnuts. It was served in an earthenware bowl with burnt sauce on the outside. It was cooked perfectly well, but that’s all it was and here’s the question: why, oh why, can’t a chef who is good enough to give me a perfect meal turn his obvious talent to providing good, tasty food without meat or fish? Why is it not possible to apply the same creativity, and palate, to a plate of vegetables? How difficult would it be to come up with some non-meat option that would go with the beetroot, potatos, spinach and Hollandaise that I enjoyed so much?

We recently ate at another restaurant not too far from Shrewsbury (our review is on Tripadvisor) where the chef is determined that all of his diners should have the same opportunity to sample his cooking. All of the dishes are served with meat or fish, or something else appropriate to the plate and flavours and suitable for vegetarians. My wife’s experience on Saturday left her feeling far from special, more as an afterthought in a busy chef’s mind.

Desserts were good. She had crème brulee, although she would have preferred it warm (how should it be? I love it anyhow!) and I had a marshmallow with three-way mango which was excellent.

Coffee was good and the truffles to die for (the best part of the meal according to my wife).
So, you see my quandary – mine was excellent, hers unacceptable. That’s why overall it was average, and it wasn’t good value for money. We filled in the feedback form and spoke to one of the staff – we were told our comments would be read. We left an email address and it will be interesting to see if anyone replies.

I have to say, the service was great (unlike some reviewers on here) so, come on Chef, get your act together and make my wife, and the rest of a sizeable chunk of the population, feel special!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from an unforgettable meal. The standard of the restaurant is dropping rapidly. It was bad at Christmas and unbelievably has got even worse. I don't know if the chef has changed but the quality of the ingredients and the cooking has hit rock bottam and the chef obviously does not taste his food. There is a reason you do not see many prawn cocktails containing mainly anchovies encased in a claggy mayonnaise on a bed of tired and brown lettuce - it tastes disgusting. The other starter was lacking 3 of the stated ingredients on the menu The meat was tough and the cheese totally tasteless..All these courses are served at a premium price. It is like an accountant has gone into the kitchen and told them to dramatically increase the profit margins - which they have done by buying sub standard ingredients or not adding them at all to the plate. The staff are pleasant enough but now all seem to come from outside the UK , whereas before they were knowledgeable about the food they were serving - now the I doubt they even want to taste the food. Avoid like the plague as there are bettter places out there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myttonandmermaid, Owner at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I was disapointed to hear about your visit to us and sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We have a large team in the kitchen who strive very hard to achieve our two rosette standard. If we had been given the opportunity at the time to put any problems right we have been delighted to please.

The Prawn Cocktail you are referring to , sounds like our prawn caesar salad which would have a classice caesar dressing which does contain anchovies but feel the need to say catagorically no brown lettuce would ever leave our kitchen .

We have at present two Eastern European university graduates ( out of a staff of 80) who have Graduated in Hospitality and Management and speak fluent English with a thorough knowledge of our menus ,ingredients and products. We have always hired the best possible people for the job and will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

just eaten at the Mytton and Mermaid.i have never written a review for trip advisor before but enjoyed the experience at the hotel so much that i felt I should. staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome, decor and atmosphere just perfect and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myttonandmermaid, Owner at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.... don't be a stranger and you may enjoy ...'Friday Night Live' where we feature live local musicians.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have visited the Mytton and Mermaid frequently either for a quick drink or a more leasurely meal. We usually enjoy the experience although the food has always been variable.
However, on this occasion we went for a Valentines night Supper and the experience was terrible. The meal was booked by a friend who was clearly embarrased by the whole thing. The foor was poor average at best, cooked OK and presented in a very perfunctory fashin. The serving staff were firendly but there did not seem to be aby communication between them and the kitchen. The waitress who took our order did not tell the servers who was eating what so we had to repeat our choices again when the food was served.
Worst of all, this was a very expensive meal - I suppose they charged more because of the event, and they had a folk singer who was ok but we were glad we had a table away from his amplifier.
Altogether not a good evening and we have now crossed the restaurant off our list!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myttonandmermaid, Owner at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I am really surprized at your review. We served over 90 guests valentines night who all raved about their food, service and the musician . I really wish you had spoken to us on the night so we may have understood what had gone wrong and been able to help .
I am sorry that you did not enjoy the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

a warm and well appointed cottage.
dining table for 12 plus a table in conservatory too.
heating so warm we had to turn it down! Biscuits and tea provided for arrival. The bonus of having the hotel with it's pub and restaurant next door makes for lazy self catering.

even though dogs are allowed we found no sign of dog hair or damage.

on the down side the bath floor is polished wood so very slippery when you get out of bath/shower onto a cotton bath mat.
the upstairs toiled seat and lid needs new fittings as it was askew and the seat had a habit of falling down whilst occupied!

the garden at front and back is enclosed which is great for pet owners and parents with children, however the gardener did let himself in through a side gate to the back gardento get access to the garden shed which meant we were not keen leaving the dog loose incase he returned.

the rooms are well appointed however I suggest the ladies take an extension lead to use with hair appliances

we would definitely return to this property and recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myttonandmermaid, Owner at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I was so pleased you had enjoyed your stay . I will look at the extension leads for the hairdryers and the positioning of the dressing tables. Thankyou and we look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Address: Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Atcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Atcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a grade II listed building, built in 1735 standing on the banks of the River Severn. A central location less than 10 minutes from Shrewsbury town centre and 5 minutes from J7 of the M54. The entrance to Attingham Park (National Trust)is directly opposite the hotel. Seasonal menus feature local produce (2 AA Rosette Awarded. Log burner for cooler days. Local ales and fine wines to compliment good food. Free parking on site. Picturesque black and white cottage also on site. Flexible accommodation, doubles including Superior, twin, single, family and ground floor options all available. A perfect location to discover Shropshire. Alternatively if business brings you to the area the Mytton is perfectly placed for Telford, Shrewsbury and further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mytton And Mermaid
Mytton & Mermaid Hotel Atcham
Mytton Mermaid Atcham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.