We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newell Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
23 Coulthard Close, Newell Beach, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Newell Beach B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week in the very nice Balinese villa at Manta Ray. Anne and Fernando's welcome was superb - we felt really at home. The breakfasts were fantastic and very healthy with a lot of tropical fruits. Anne and Fernando gave us very good trip advices to discover the region, giving us the opportunity to visit so many beautiful places!
Good also to know that there is the restaurant Mojo in a few kilometres only from Newell where you can get very nice food.
Really a great B&B we recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a most excellent bed and breakfast located a short drive from the hubbub of Port Douglas. There is only one booking taken at a time for either one or both rooms which are decorated with Balinese furniture. Louvre windows provide a nice way to regulate airflow for a comfortable night's sleep. The beach is within short walking distance however the lush garden at the B&B is just as nice, with a cool pool right at your doorstep. Owners Ann and Fernando were superb hosts and their friendly charm enabled us to feel relaxed and at ease. The breakfast is generous in size and absolutely delicious. If you want a serene setting to unwind, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with my wife at fernando's and Anne's place.
The venue is great, the room is spacious and it's so nice to have a swim in the pool after a long and warm day in QLD!

I need to have a word about the breakfast: by far the best I ever had in a B&B!!

Finally the last but not the least, we are really glad to meet Anne and Fernando. They are nice, have a lot of tips and like to welcome people.

Thanks again for these 3 amazing days!

Marc

Room Tip: There're only 2 rooms and if you book one, the other won't be booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Österreich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ann and Fernando were the perfect hosts for our 3night stay in Newell Beach. The B&B is absolutely beautiful, the breakfast is incredible and Ann & Fernando always did their best to make us feel comfortable.

If you`re looking for a perfect location for your stay in and around the Port Douglas Area, we absolutely recommend to stay at Manta Ray. Actually, this is the first time ever that i'm writing an evaluation for an accomodation - but this one really earned it. :)

Philipp & Susi from Austria

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Exceptionally wonderful B&B. The decor and surrounds are beautiful giving a tranquil feel to the experience. Added to that, as you or your group are the only guests (only rented out to 1 person, couple or group at a time) you have the whole tropical paradise including; your own private swimming pool all to yourself day and late night. The breakfast is very generous consisting of the freshest tropical fruits, eggs/pancakes, cereal, yoghurt...
For anyone looking for amazing value (couldn't believe how inexpensive it was) and a luxury experience, you can't do better than this! Will definitely be visiting again asap.

Room Tip: no need to worry about choosing a room you will have the entire place to yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Ann and Fernando are the perfect hosts, they make you feel at home....only better! Their hospitality is awesome, they are always ready to give you the best tips for unmissable excursions and the breakfast they serve is the best ever! They also were so caring to prepare me a birthday cake! We might call them friends....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Manta Rays private garden and pool are the perfect Balinese escape and Anne and Fernando the perfect hosts, always attentive, warm and helpful. Their separate accommodation is clean, comfortable and has a great four poster bed. The tropical breakfast is delicious and sets you up for a day relaxing on Newell's empty beach a couple of minutes away. We love Anne and Fernando's company as accommodation hosts and as Celebrant and Photographer for our wedding. Needless to say we will be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Coulthard Close, Newell Beach, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Newell Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newell Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.