We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced in every aspect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Piarco International Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Piarco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piarco International Hotel
Save
You added Piarco International Hotel to your Saves list
8-10 Golden Grove Road, Piarco, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced in every aspect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ok so we thought it would be a good idea to stay near the airport to save money on cab fares to and from Port of Spain for early flights.
The free airport transfer is the highlight of this excuse for a hotel. We had a standard double room for over $100. The room smelt of moth balls and must. The air-conditioning was so cold but they only have a couple of controllers so if you want to change the temperature you have to ask reception. The bed was ok.
Breakfast is the most overpriced two eggs i have ever eaten. 110 TT (just under $US15) got me a glass of juice from a carton, even though they advertise 'fresh'. Two boiled eggs and toast and an unedible 'sausage'. A quarter of an apple and small amount of watermelon.
The free wifi is completely unreliable.
It seems the hotel survives off customers sent by the airlines for cancelled flights etc...
Try to find an alternative!!

Room Tip: We were given a room on the main road. If you can avoid the side above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    5
    4
    15
See reviews for
4
8
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I were put in this hotel by Caribbean air after missing a connection (seems to be a common theme).... Overall, the room wasn't terrible, however, DO NOT EAT HERE! Take the $7 shuttle to the mall and get something to eat there, the food in the "restaurant" here was completely inedible. Thanks, Caribbean for those meal vouchers for lunch and dinner. Bleck. Also, pool was closed, so other than the very limited cable offering, there wasn't much to do to entertain ourselves for the 14 hours we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My flight was cancelled and American Airlines put me up for the night at this hotel. The hotel shuttle picked us up and we were greeted by the reception staff at this hotel in the most friendly way. My room I must say was not as bad previous reviewers have written. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. What else do you want at 2am in the morning! The convenience of the hotel being so near to the airport meant that we didn't have a great distance to travel the next morning. The breakfast was filling and the waitress was attentive and friendly. It is not a 5* hotel but it was definitely acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I recently got stranded by United Airlines at the Piarco International Airport. United Airlines put us up for the night at the Piarco International Hotel. This place is a first class dump. The rooms are dark. I had one light. The bathroom has one towel. The rooms
have a musty smell . The carpet looks like its 20 years old. The peole running the hotels are unfriendly. When you check in they give you a TV remote. When you check out they expect you to bring it to the front desk. The hotel has 3 floors, with NO elevator.
There were a number of us that stayed the night, and comparing stories, all others found the rooms terrible. Its close to a busy road, and there is a bar next door. Don't expect a lot of sleep. The restuarant service is very slow, howver the food was average.
The air conditioner did work. They are also converting one US dollar at 5.5TT. The bank rate is about 6.4TT per US dollar. Average street conversion in Trinidad is $6TT to 1 US$.
United gave this hotel a $200.00 voucher for the room. An extreme ripoff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The previous review says it all. I was forced to stay here by Caribbean Airlines are they cancelled my flight last weekend. The staff are unhelpful but then again they are working in a dump and are bombarded with complaints!! It is dingy dirty and no amenities - have no right being called either a hotel or international. I must admit to being very scared at night and event the other Bars and restaurants close by are somewhat suspect!! Never again and I will be seeking compensation.
I was given US$30.00 by CAL for dinner. On arrival at the restaurant I was told that is the equivalent of US20.00 when the tax and service charge are removed: That got me a bacon cheesburger and not even a soft drink!! A coke if TT 18.00 ( US$3.00) and a beer is TT 20.00 (US $3.30)
My advice - pay the US$20.00 for the VIP lounge and sleep there!!!

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Someone must be getting rich off of the airlines that book their customers into this hotel. We were sent here after volunteering to give up our seats as the airline had over booked. We were given vouchers for US $$ which added up to more than enough to be able to stay and eat at the Hilton. The hotel is small, very near the highway, barb wired with dingy rooms, shabby bathrooms, tattered towels, dollar store soap and shampoo. There was no maid service. The front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. They charge $1 US per minute for local calls and $2 US per minute for overseas calls, the US to TT dollar ratio is 6 to 1. No 1-800 numbers or collect calls are allowed. We were charged a 3.5% service charge on our Visa transactions. The price quoted by the staff for the use of a taxi was twice what we had paid previously when staying elsewhere in Port of Spain during this trip. The food at the restaurant was terrible. The menu is very limited and some items listed they didn't have. What they did have was of poor quality and at times inedible. It was as if they spent as little as they could for groceries and even less on a cook so that they would only have to pay the minimum out in wages. The restaurant service was slow and scattered. We were constantly asked our room number as everything is measured against what money the airline has given for your stay. Seemingly the aim of this hotel is to take as much money out of the airlines and guests pockets while offering the least possible in return. The negative reviews of this hotel that I have read on this site are accurate. It was a very depressing experience staying at the Piarco International Hotel. An airline could not offer us enough to ever get us to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Had to stay at this place because flight was cancelled. American Airlines put us up there. Upon the driver pulling into the drivieway, my first comment was. "its a dump." The room smelled so I kept the door that was facing a wall opened. When I got the van driver to come and adjust the AC with a remote that is kept at the front desk, he commented on the smell. He got some air freshner and sprayed but that lasted about two hours. The towels were thin and discollered. There was a wag of used gum stuck on the wall. From the driveway one would see an aged home with debris and trash in the front and side of the house. All sorts of laundry were hanging from a line. It was an terrible experience to a nice vacation. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piarco International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piarco International Hotel

Address: 8-10 Golden Grove Road, Piarco, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Piarco
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piarco International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.