We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It a nice place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Airport Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Factory Road | Golden Grove, Piarco, Trinidad   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Canaan, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
“It a nice place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stay here for three night the stay was very ok when we checked it the girl at the front desk was very friendly n we felt safe leaving our car at the car park , we checked in room 12 n chilled out at the pool at night we even went out at night .and when we went out in the day room service came n clean up without us even requesting it , only thing i don't advise eating in the food was not good at all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    26
    12
    34
See reviews for
18
24
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Photos look MUCH better than actual place. Rooms are tiny and it's run down. Clean enough though. It's in the middle of a neighborhood - walked through it with no trouble and felt safe. But it's not convenient to anything - except the airport shuttle that is included. They're close to the mall but wanted to charge double the rate listed in the welcome package - and the listed rate was already high. So it's okay for one last night before an early flight, but still probably better to choose another nearby hotel or just spend the 30 minutes in a cab from town.
I felt lied to by photos and description, and the same time that I felt scrutinized like I might be cheating them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I booked this hotel for a night because we were flying out early the following day. We paid $95USD for the night, which is WAY overpriced. In the states, you would probably pay $35USD for this hotel room. There is a holiday inn express down the road, which would be a better option. The hotel is basically in a back alley. It is a 10 minute walk to a convenience store and we were harassed by locals the whole way there and back. We even found some of the locals (that harassed us on the street from their house) at the hotel when we returned, which was very creepy.

The pictures on the website make the hotel look better than it is. I would have taken pictures myself but I wanted to erase this experience from my memory.

The pool is nice but the area is too creepy for me to ever put my swimsuit on.

The rooms were cramped. All the furniture fit into the room like a jigsaw puzzle. Our room was next to the laundry room, which gave off a "war of the worlds" sound all day and night. The shower was annoying because the pressure was cyclical.

The airport shuttle was prompt to pick us up. When we were checking out, the woman was asleep at the desk. She was not helpful at all but we did get a shuttle back to the airport. We did not have any help with our luggage.

Lastly, we had BEDBUGS. Enough said. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

All in all my family and I were happy with our stay here. Initially we were going to stay only two nights, the night we arrived and the night before we left.We ended up returning sooner because it was much nicer than the other hotel we booked that was supposed to be closer to the beaches. As a stopover it is truly convenient as it is only a few minutes from Piarco airport (we did not use their shuttle service as we rented a car but I would suggest you let the hotel know ahead of time so it can be made available). There is a gas station up the road with a convenience store. We did not eat at the hotel but up the road there is a KFC if you like that, a fruit and vegetable shop and a couple of doubles vendors, it is a very short drive to Trincity Mall which has a lot of other food options available (many are pure local cuisine as opposed to fast food), and it is maybe a 40 minute drive to Port of Spain, depending on traffic. It is comfortable because there is adjustable air-conditioning in each room (we stayed in two since we left and then came back), the rooms were clean, had storage for clothing, etc, and you can request a refrigerator (and the staff were nice enough to let us put a few things in their freezer). The water pressure for the shower wasn't great at all times but it did the job. The pool is good for days when you don't feel like doing much or driving to the beach (depending on which one you go to it can take an hour or more to get there), and if you have kids who need to expel some energy. We had our laundry done there too, for a fee. Oh, and the wifi was invaluable, there is even a computer in the lobby area for guest use if you don't have your own device. The staff was really friendly and helpful to us as well, giving us suggestions on local restaurants and driving directions, etc. So, to sum it up, it worked out well for us and we will use it as our base in the future. It's not that it's fancy, but it's safe, efficient, comfortable, conveniently located and moderately priced. Thanks!

Room Tip: The second floor room was nicer than the first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The airport shuttle does not come. When you call, it is not available because they are so busy. Strangely, for the time we were there I did not see another soul in the hotel that was not staff. When the taxi brings you in, you realize the place is surrounded in barbed wire. Strange, but not problematic. Then, you see the rooms. The doors do not secure properly, so don't leave things inside. The room looks like a hostel, which would be OK, except they are charging 100+ US/night. Especially when you realize there is a Holliday Inn Express about 1 mile away, you'll regret the decision. There is no food in the area, save a gas station about a 10 minute walk. I have also heard through the grapevine that if you need a wake up call you'd best have a plan B. Honestly, I think the people giving this place 5 stars work here, because the impression it gives is immistakable. It got 1 star because I can't give it 0.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Airport Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
First of all, we wish to apologize for the negative experience you had with us. I understand that you have a problem with the shuttle. The shuttle service is a 24 hour shuttle service. However, the shuttle is not allowed to park or wait for guests. Therefore, the shuttle service must be booked in advance. Once a reservation is made, we inform the guests that when they have finished in Customs they can go to the Tourist Office where they will gladly call the shuttle service for you. You had concerns about barbed wires. Barbed wires around any fenced building of wired fence is a normal practice in Trinidad. The price that you paid 100 + USD was the price for a triple occupancy room. That includes all government tax, V.A.T., complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, among other amenities. We are located near various different kinds of restaurants. There is a large shopping mall 5 minutes away from us, where you can get various kinds of cuisine. Wake up calls are to be programmed from the room. There is also an alarm clock in each of the rooms.

I am not sure if you were informed of all of these information so as to make your stay a more memorable one. However, we do hope that the information provides will be useful to you if you ever have visit Trinidad again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is only suitable for a one night airport stopver.
For this purpose it is adequate .Rooms very basic and poor choice of TV channels.
Wi-fi works ok.Airport Shuttle is efficient.
Much cheaper than Holiday inn Express but if you have the money this would be a better
option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piarco, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel is close to the airport, the driver is very friendly. The internet is very good. The front desk staff is a very poor performance, the food is bad and expensive, they did not everything the menu offers.
Room is very small has no chairs, poor cable tv, bathroom is small the shower head did not work. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, scary neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Airport Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Suites Hotel

Address: 7 Factory Road | Golden Grove, Piarco, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Piarco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Piarco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Suites Hotel enjoys an unparalleled location being less than five minutes away from the Piarco International Airport, a perfect location for stop overs, flight transfer passengers or a relaxing vacation. Airport Suites Hotel provides superb accommodations with 39 affordable guestrooms, an on-site restaurant serving up some of the best local and authentic cuisine, an outdoor pool with a jacuzzi and swim up wet bar and many other convenient amenities.All of our room types offered includes complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport, WIFI and tea/coffee station. We invite you to stay and experience the traditional charm of our Airport Hotel and the attentive, personalized service of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Piarco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.